We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Met Our Needs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Met Our Needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our quick trip to Santa Cruz during our son's tournament in the area. It was clean, upgraded and the hotel staff was very friendly. It was nice that they provide breakfast. It wasn't spectacular, but it was enough to get us going in the morning. The breakfast area wasn't huge, especially if you go at the time most people are going. As always the prices in Santa Cruz are a bit inflated for my liking, but this was a nice hotel considering all hotels are pricey there.

Room Tip: Our window looked out at the pool, so if you don't want people to see in your room you had to ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Dear Tracy C.

Thank you for your review of out hotel, I was glad to hear we were the perfect spot for your sons tournament and that we were able to meet most of your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back next year if the tournament is located in our area!

Thank you,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    189
    50
    25
    23
See reviews for
216
130
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Staff was always very friendly. The only downside to our room was that there was no refrigerator or microwave, and the AC was a bit on the louder side. There was never any ice in the ice machine, that was a bit annoying. Breakfast had a nice selection, but had a small seating area, get there early to find a place to sit. Parking garage was tight for mid to large size SUV's. Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Request poolside rooms on first floor, less hassle with luggage and noise was to a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 28, 2015
Dear Jymart,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday inn Express in Santa Cruz, I am glad to hear you were pleased with the friendliness of our associates. We are indeed looking at purchasing microwaves, and refrigerators for our rooms. I do apologize about the ice machines being out of ice in the hallway however in the future please ask up at the desk and we would be happy to get some for you from the other areas the we have ice machines. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed in the Holiday in Express in Santa Cruz for 6 weeks and felt at home every day of that time. The friendly staff went out of their way to accommodate my every need and recommend great local activities. Hansen Steiger was especially helpful and outstanding in every way. All in all, A+ for service. I was sad to say goodbye and would gladly return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 24Kelly42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 28, 2015
Dear 24Kelly42,

Thank you for staying with us, I appreciate the time you took to do a review on the hotel. I will pass on the kind words you wrote regarding Hansen, he is a true asset to our establishment, and I am sure he will be thankful for the mention. We hope to see you back should your travels ever bring you back to the Santa Cruz area.

Thanks again,

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Front desk staff were great. I found them to be helpful and knowledgeable
I agree with another reviewer, the breakfast area was very crowded. With that said, the hotel was sold out so it should be expected.
Parking was tight but there was plenty of it. Cleaning staff was great.
Fairly easy to get to the Boardwalk.
We were told the pool was heated, but when we visited it was Cold..... Maybe the heater was broken??

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lallabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear lallabear,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I appreciate hearing your comments about our team, I will pass those along. I am sorry to hear about you pool experience with the water being so cold, this is something that we don't expect to hear about in July and I will have the Engineering team look into it to make sure that this issue is corrected.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here 6 nights over 4th July, and given the season the price was fine. When you arrive be careful not to over-shoot the entrance as you could end up on the freeway instead! The parking under the hotel was hardly ever more that half full - contrast this with the Hampton Inn - and our reception was warm and efficient - an attitude that continued through our stay. It was our room (3rd floor king) and services that were 'tired'. The towels were often straggly and with shredded ends; there was a finger-plate missing around the light-switch in the bathroom (with exposed metal and therefore a potential hazard for any young fingers), gashed tiles in the shower where a shelf used to be, and no fridge, so trips to the ice machine were essential if you wanted cold water during the night. The building is also poorly soundproofed. We could hear most of what went on in the corridors and sometimes what went on next door. We had asked for a quite room and were helpfully put on the top floor - we asked why? - 'because no one will be on the floor above you' - so our guess is that it's even noisier on the lower floors. So although the sound issues are structural and cannot be dealt with by local management, in our opinion better cyclical management, more frequent walk-throughs, and attention to detail would lift the place a notch or two higher...

Room Tip: Top floor probably best for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Tony R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with our 11 year old granddaughter. Had a queen suite with a small second room with a sofa bed. The 11 year old loved having her own room and TV. Room was large, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was a bit better than most chains and we appreciated that they made it easy to take food up to the room. The one big disappointment was the pool. It was simply too cool to stay in. We love swimming and playing in the pool, but in this case we never went back after the first time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonny747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear Sonny747,

Thank you for your review of out hotel, I appreciate the time you took to tell us about your stay! I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and that it was clean and well appointed. I do however apologize the temperature of the poll was a bit to cold for you, that is something that we don't really expect to hear in July. I have instructed the Engineer to monitor the temperature of the pool and we will stay on top of that to ensure you that on your next trip back it will be warmer for you to enjoy.

Until then, all the best to you,

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

While the manager tried hard to fix things it just kept getting worse. WAY OVERPRICED! Over 300 bucks a night for a very basic Motel 6 style room. Front desk staff at check in had NO knowledge of the area or even what resources they had to give travelers.

Walls and ceiling was paper thin, we could hear everything word for word from the neighbors. Noise level in this hotel was very loud.

Lights and fan in bathroom had mind of its own, kept coming on all night long. They tried to fix it to no avail. The other room in our party had to have the lights on in doorway to make the air conditioner work (Manager says this is unconfirmed.)

Buffet was ok but soooooo crowded it was hard to get anything. Not set up well for when there is a full house. I had to request discount due to light troubles despite manager acknowledging the problem and confirming (at least in my room). It was not offered.

Then I get home and find they did not transfer the charges to the right credit card. Pool area ok, water was a tad murky. In all I will not stay here again.

I have never felt so compelled to write a review before but this one was hard to not inform others.

Room Tip: Get room at the end of hall if noise matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RealBeachGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear RealBeachGirl76,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing a review about your experience. I am sorry to hear about the issues you may have experienced with your room accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information about your experience.

We hope to hear from you very soon and be of further assistance.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
#13 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Address: 1410 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing