We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, just a few minor complaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great hotel, just a few minor complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Got a great deal on Priceline for this hotel. We often stay at HIE properties due to good breakfast and free parking. One thing that was missing from my usual HIE experience, the room did not have a mini-fridge, hence only 4 stars. But the staff was beyond friendly and one of them was going table-to-table every morning greeting everyone. Location is good, 10-15 minute drive to boardwalk. Gas station across the street was convenient. Reading some of the complaints about the parking, yes the spaces are a bit narrow and many pillars occupy the space but we got our SUV in there without much issue. You just have to be careful. Housekeeping was a bit spotty; we were missing the tissue box and did not have spare tp at first; but a call to the front desk solved that. Also, breakfast tended to be a bit busy and when we showed up late there was no longer any rolls nor breakfast meat. Get there early. Also our room ran out of hot water on one morning. But overall I would stay there again if the price is right.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Thank you for your review of our hotel, I was happy to hear that we met your needs! Please come back the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    192
    52
    25
    23
See reviews for
219
134
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Nice staff, the manager Raul was very helpful as was the charming Katarina! Rooms were good, clean and spacious and breakfast was very good;not in the most salubrious location but still safe enough to walk downtown even at night

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Dear Woolcol,

Thank you for your review! I was glad to hear that our team met your needs! Please stop in the next time you are in the area as we would love to have you back!

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The room was spacious and clean. It was very quiet and the breakfast supplied was enormous.The buffet was the best we had on our trip. I would recommend this hotel for staying at. The only complaint is that I thought the hotel was closer to the beach. It is if you have a car. We did walk to the main street of the town and it took us approx 45min walking slowly. A further 30min walk to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christineworden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Dear kookaburras,

Thank you for your review of out hotel. I m glad to hear you found our facility to be clean and spacious. I am sorry that we were not as close to the beach as you thought, I wish we were closer to that everyday!!!

Enjoy!

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel close to the boardwalk, pier, and downtown. Safe, adequate parking, and they even have cork screws in your room. Talk about meeting travelers needs. Nicely decorated, comfortable, quiet and free breakfast. Everything a business traveler needs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Dear Carol Sue G,

Thank you for the review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Cruz!

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Enjoy!

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I find it VERY important for a hotel to make a great first impression, and for me, that occurs by how I am greeted by the front desk staff. On this short "getaway" trip, my Husband and I were greeted with warmth and a big smile-hello from a charming young man, Hansen Steiger. For someone of "younger" years to act so professionally and friendly was a welcome start to a great trip. The room was surprisingly cozy, and the continental breakfast was much more substantial than the usual spread you find in hotels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Dear HillaryP,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Cruz, and especially THANK YOU for the kind works regarding Hansen he is a true gem of our hotel and we are happy to have him here. Rest assured that I will pass on your thoughts to him.

Please stop in and see us again on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for part of Memorial Day weekend. The traffic was horrible but the staff told me ways to get around the main traffic. The room was clean, even though the hallway was loud with the sounds of kids the rooms were quite. The breakfast had lots of options with a very nice area to sit outside.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may have a better view, don't know since I didn't get on the elevator, but our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0BM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Dear R0BM1969,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Sorry to hear about the traffic, but unfortunately that is Santa Cruz especially on a Holiday Weekend. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in the area as we would love to see you again!

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean, shower was huge and the linens were very nice. The location is not on the water, so don't be fooled by the address. It is only about 2 miles away from the pier. The breakfast was excellent. They had a variety from eggs, meat, potatoes, biscuits and gravy and more. The coffe was good. A good deal for the price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Reedmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Dear ReedMolly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences of our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that out breakfast met your needs! We look forward to having you back when your travels bring you to Santa Cruz!

Sincerely,
Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Address: 1410 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing