We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable with an incredivle staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Cali
2 reviews
“Very clean and comfortable with an incredivle staff”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We came here after a horrible night stay at a horrible hotel down the street. Shannon at the front desk was helpful, kind, and in all the kind of girl you want working at your hotel! She got us a room and even allowed us to check in early since we had no where to go...how convienent. The room was one of the cleanest and freshest ive ever seen and they offer a great breakfast in the am saving us money. Shannon was professional and made us wanna only stay with holiday inn hotels for every trip in our future! Thank you to shannon and the rest of the holiday inn for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComicalSoupNazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
ComicalSoupNazi,

What a great start of the week you have made for our team with such a wonderful review. I was impressed with all the great things you had to say about our service team and I will be sharing it with them today. We take great pride in our hotel and exceeding our guests needs and I know from your review that we are doing the right thing. Thank you for your time and consideration in letting us know about your stay. Keep us in mind when you return to our little beach town because we would love to reconnect with you again.

Looking forward to your soon return,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    195
    52
    26
    23
See reviews for
221
135
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very clean, comfortable rooms, close to everything. Breakfast good cereals, sausage, biscuits gravy, pancakes hard boiled eggs, bananas, apples, juice and coffee but the best cinnamon rolls ever.Great value.

Room Tip: We chose a king size pool view. No traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottsdaleSchnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear ScottsdaleSchnoodle,

Thank you for the great review and your time in giving your feedback. Your experience to us is very important and I am glad to see that we are on task for creating inspirational stays for all of our guests. We pride ourselves in being very business traveler friendly and acknolwedging those particular set of needs along with all of our leisure travelers. The great thing is no matter why you are in Santa Cruz we will make your time with us relaxing and tailor made. I hope that we have earned your loyalty, and look to us as your new Santa Cruz home.

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean and Newer Hotel. Rooms are clean. Most rooms don't have a view.( You will be at the beach anyway) Housekeeping is great. Pool and Gym are nice. Breakfast is also good. Juice,Coffee,Tea and Waffles. (I would like to have sausage and bacon on the same day)
Parking is very tight.

Room Tip: A/C is Loud and best room views face pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodiwinecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Lodiwinecountry,

I am so glad you loved your stay. We all appreciate so much taking the time to share your review with us and allowing us to use it to help our hotel grow and learn from our guests desires. Next time your in town let me know and I will make sure we have all the breakfast meats available during your breakfast special just for you since you enjoyed yourself so much during your last stay. Please do visit us again soon to Stay Impressed every time you are in the Santa Cruz area. We are always excited to help our very special VIP guests!

See you again soon,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family and I are in the lobby of the hotel as we speak. The Holiday Inn Express is one of the best places we have stayed for the money. You cannot beat the continental breakfast. Where else can you stay for the price? The rooms are spotless and the desk help is more than friendly. We have never stayed here before but will make it our Santa Cruz stop for sure! From the friendly service to the comfy rooms, you cannot go wrong. The hotel is very quiet and a nice break from the downtown wharf feeling. Close to all and within walking distance of the boardwalk but nice enough away to feel like you have privacy from the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk and all the tourists. You won't go wrong here. Great place for kids and the mini office in the lobby is great for teachers who might need to finish up some lesson plans. LOL Great job guys. We are having a great time and sad to go home tomorrow.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which is very close to pool. If that bothers you, ask to stay on secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGarcia_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear KGarcia_13,

Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I appreciate you sharing how clean, travel friendly, and accommodating everything and everybody is. We strive for perfect scores in everything we do and making our guests stay inspirational and I was so thrilled to see that we did that for you and even more. I hope you visit us again soon in Santa Cruz as we truly are the place to be even if just for a weekend of fun!

Thank you so much,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The General Manager went out of his way to make our stay incrediable! Checked in tired, discouraged from bad luck with our travels. He was so wonderful to us. Never have we been treated so well in a hotel!!!! That Man needs a raise and promotion! Same for desk clerk Shannon! When I think of Santa Cruz, I will think of these wonderful people!!!! Definitely stay here!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriciayount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Patricia Yount,

Our guests hold a very special place in our hearts and our daily activities at the hotel. We were so happy to make a day that was so full of personal obstacles and challenges seem so much better. My team and myself know that life can get you down, but we always want to be the friend that picks you up and helps you enjoy life past the difficulties it brings sometimes. Thank you so much for all the kind things you had to say and the special stay time you spent with us. When we think of great guests, amazing people, and champions of happiness we will always think of you!

Don't be strangers and come visit all of us again very soon as we would truly love to share some more time with you!

Your newest friend,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, California
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Andrew and Shannon were rock stars!!!! They were very welcoming and they know there business. I was impressed by the calm and mindful way they connect and also the friendliness of how they talked to the staff. I will continue to use Holiday In because I felt at home and very relaxed during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uniquebj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Uniquebj48,

Rock On!!!! Thank you so much for this amazing review. Your loyalty and kind words mean so much to our staff and let them know that they are consistently and constantly on track to create Great Hotels Guests Love. You have made our week with your feedback and the time you took to share your thoughts. My team and myself personally can not wait for you to come back again because I have no doubt you will stay impressed every time you visit.

Come back soon to your Santa Cruz home!

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was a standard holiday inn express experience. At least for us teh staff were a little brusque in checking us in but very efficient. We had to find the breakfast room on our own , no description as we checked in. Perhaps we were spoiled by how amazing the Solana Beach HIE staff were. The energy saving no electricity in the room without a room key is just annoying when you want to leave items charging.
The room was large and clean, the hotel was near enough to drive anywhere in Sc within minutes. The hotel had plenty parking which made driving within the city to get to places stress free.
The breakfast area was clean, well looked after and had all the wonderful features which make a great start to the day.
A decent hotel that was very handy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneinMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear JaneinMa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share yout stay. I am sorry to hear that we scored high on efficency but might have missed a little on your check in. We will use that as a tool to improve our team each day so that our guests can always be impressed. Additionally I apologize for any confusion about the great new energy efficent feature for each room as it is only for the overhead lighting and a/c-heating unit. Charging for phones and other traveling devices is available at all times. When you visit us again in Santa Cruz we will be more than happy to share in depth each great feature our travel and eco friendly amenties our room has.

Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed staying with us and remember you are like family now so come back and visit us again real soon!

Happy travels,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Address: 1410 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing