We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and thought the room was good- clean, spacious and quiet. The hotel is located on a main road just off the freeway so it's far from being a nice area! We didn't want to go out at night time, it didn't seem safe. The town centre was probably 15 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milica0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear milica0207,

I am very happy that you had such a great stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Santa Cruz, CA! Our entire team takes great pride in what they do. Thank you for noticing and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 533 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I travel alot and stay at a lot of hotels, mostly in California. I love staying at this hotel. They always recognize me, call me by name and make sure that my stay is very pleasant. But, more than that, the hotel is very clean, smells good(many dont smell clean), and is always well maintained, and is very quiet. They have a no party policy that you have to sign that I really like. I have stayed there more than 20 nights in the past year and would recommend it 100%. The staff is very friendly. I usually deal with Andrew Pederson and he is incredible. He always remembers what room I like to stay in does his best to accommodate my requests. I also like that and even when it busy he always responds to all customers with friendliness and respect. I rarely write reviews but they deserve it. Best is town and you wont be disappointed. Jim

Room Tip: Choose inside rooms upper floors. All are clean and fairly new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear JamesM,

Wow thank you so much for such an amazing review. We were extremly glad to have you as a guest and we are so happy to see you enjoyed your time in Santa Cruz so much. Thank you for the kind words about our Guest Service Agent Andrew. He is a great part of our team and I know that he enjoys like the rest of in making our guest experience one to remember. We hope that you visit us again soon as we would love to give you another truly red carpet experience when in our coastal town. Please let us know the next time your in town so we can welcome you in style.

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had a great experience at this hotel, the employees were fabulous and very friendly. Andrew P. and Joe R were very helpful and directed us to several great sights and we ate great food at the restaurants that they reccommended to us.

I spilled gravy all over the foyer taking breakfast up to my room (please don't spill gravy in the foyer) and Joe was as sweet as he could be and assured me that it was OK . Incidentally I saw trays the very next day that I should have employed in that endeavor.

The room was really lovely and when we returned from our outing each day housekeeping did a fantastic job cleaning up after our mayhem. I loved staying here and I want to go back very soon! Thanks guys for your contribution to our fabulous vacation.

Muah!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunday S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Sunny S,

Thank you for your candid review about your time at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Santa Cruz CA and for staying with us! We are delighted that you loved staying with us! Thank you for mentioning the great work Andrew, Joe and the Room Care Team did! We all look forward to having you as our guest again real soon!

Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while participating in the mermaid triathlon. It was a very clean and new hotel. I am not sure when it was built but it looks very very new. The decor is wonderful. The rooms are spacious. I had 3 adults in my room and we all fit fine. They were a little annoyed that we asked for late checkout for 1 pm. We wanted to come back after the triathlon and shower before heading home. They have free breakfast ( cereals, yogurt,etc).

I would recommend staying here if you are in the area for an event.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YRamos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear YRamos82,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Santa Cruz! We appreciate your review and recommendation! Our team continuously strives to maintain the property as the day we open April 28, 2009 and we are very happy you have noticed!

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to having you as our guest again real soon!

Regards,

Angélica Rivera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We checked in to this hotel and from the moment we connected to the desk clerk, Andrew until we departed we felt like a part of the energy of the hotel. The staff was friendly and always greeted us with conversation. The connection was more than hi, it was actually getting to know us feeling. We will definitely stay many more times when we are in Santa Cruz. The atmosphere was exactly what we needed.
BJK

Room Tip: I love the higher rooms because they tend to be quieter so I joined Priority Club so I can know that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uniquebj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear uniquebj,

Greetings from Santa Cruz!

Thank you for your gracious review about our “amazing” hotel and team. I have shared the review with Andrew and the team and we are all very proud!

We look forward to having you as our guest real soon!

Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel exceeded all my expectations for it's price range - excellent, quiet & large rooms, helpful staff and a breakfast buffet that would satisfy most people.
I was expecting to have to go out for breakfast as many American hotels do not cater for an Australian's habits. This buffet had something of a reasonable quality for everyone.

If I can get back to play golf there again I will certainly stay here

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywanderer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, Michael Meredith, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Happywander63,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We love how many of our guests leave truly inspired with their time at our hotel and in our beautiful city of Santa Cruz. We take great pride in being able to make any guest feel comfortable being themselves when here even if all the way from Australia. We hope that you do return soon to visit us and please do let me know when you plan to next I we would be excited to share some truly locally known tips on some of the best golf in the Santa Cruz/Monterey Bay area. Again thank you for feedback and we cannot wait to see you again soon.

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Here's the hotel situation in Santa Cruz - most / all of the chain hotels are clustered near the highway exit about a mile or so from downtown and the boardwalk. The hotels closer to the boardwalk look shabbier, more run-down and were probably the only accomodations in town at one time.

So take your pick - modern, pricier, and further from the beach, or older, closer, but probably a bargain. Remember - Santa Cruz is a bit of a party town, with UC Santa Cruz right there, so choose what works for you.

Anyways, we are here to review the Holiday Inn Express. I had a nice stay at this modern hotel. The staff was very friendly upon check-in, and bottled water if you're part of the guest rewards program. Beds were comfortable, rooms / hallways looked like they had been recently updated. You got a distinct smell of carpet glue in the hallways, which I'm assuming means the updates were recent.

Breakfast is above average for a free hotel breakfast. Free parking located below the hotel in a garage that looks like it could get a little tight at full occupancy. Short drive to the boardwalk, and it looks like there's also a public transit option from the main road running past the hotel, if you'd prefer to leave the car there.

By the way - they do make you sign a "no partying" document upon check-in, which should help you avoid loud neighbors.

Happy with the price paid and quality of the property. Santa Cruz is a beautiful town, perfect for a weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LakeShoreLimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, Michael Meredith, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Lakeshorelimited,

I appreciate you reviewing our hotel and am excited to hear you were so pleased with our modern, open, and comfortable hotel. The hotel is only 3 years old and we make it a priority to keep the appearance like NEW at all times. I do apologize for any new carpet smells you might have encountered which was likely from our room care staff. I will certainly share this with our team to help improve guest experience with our common areas. Thank you for additionally mentioning our newest program the "No Party Policy" that we have recently implemented and found to be a huge success for all of our guests to be able to enjoy their visit. We encourage fun for all of our guests with respect and consideration for everybody to enjoy and be themselves. Let us know when you are back in town so we can again setup one of our very best rooms for your stay.

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
519 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Address: 1410 Ocean St., Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $110 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing