We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“parents of a college student hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is very clean and the staff is very helpful. The rooms have plenty of space for a weekend stay and the gym is just enough to get your work out done. It is centrally located to everything, the college, restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: For a family of 4 the suite was the best way to go. A huge amount of space and a very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, Michael Meredith, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear HelenC,

Thank you for taking the time to mention the kind words about our staff. It excites me to hear that you had such an amazing time while in town and that you enjoyed our central location to all the sights and adventures Santa Cruz has to offer. With part of your family being at UCSC I hope that you choose to stay with us again as we will endeavor to continue to create a Great Hotel Guests Love. Your continued loyalty is something very important to us and we want to wow you with you next visit. We look forward to many successful visits to your Santa Cruz home.

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 524 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Clean, quiet hotel. The woman who checked us in was kind and helpful, with restaurant suggestions and directions preprinted to a grocery store when we asked. We stayed in several, more expensive hotels in CA but this one had the best shower. My husband is 6ft tall and shower heads are always too low. He didn't have to squat under this one! The complimentary breakfast was more than we expected. Had hot food and the cinnamon buns were great! A nice walk down the main shopping/dining street and then to the boardwalk (nonstop walk takes about 30 min). Had 2 parking areas. We parked in the main garage and the spots were fairly small.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, Michael Meredith, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear CathyHawk,

Wow! Thank you so much for the huge compliment of being one of the best hotels in California. This really makes our team feel great to know we are making our guests visits so wonderful and allowing everybody to be able to feel at home. The next time in town come stay with us again and we can give you a vast array of any information about the Santa Cruz area. Our front desk staff are all local attraction visionaries!

Always when visiting Stay Excited, Stay Inspired, and Stay You!

Warm regards,
Michael Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Can you say love, love, love?!

Traveled with 5 people (2 adults and 3 kids). We loved this place. The location is great (couple of miles to the boardwalk and you need those miles...don't stay close to the boardwalk--very scary).

Staff was great, room was clean (halleluiah) and the beds were comfy. Breakfast was good.

Overall a great beginning to our family road trip!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennnickrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, Michael Meredith, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Jennnickrob,

We love, love, love you as our guest! We are so glad that we could be an amazing start to your family road trip. We hope that when in this area you decide to stay with us again. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about how you enjoyed our safe and central location to all of the Santa Cruz area. Come visit us again soon and let us share some new ideas to visit and experience as one of our favorite and loyal guests.

Wishing many more happy travels,
Michael Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Property still looks and smells new. Extra clean throughout. Pool clean and heated. Sauna & exercise equipment clean and functioning. Breakfast staff friendly and thorough. Parking areas well kept (spaces are extra small, but this is California). The most-affordable decent hotel in the city. Well done, Santa Cruz HIE.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWearier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, Michael Meredith, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear RoadWearier,

Thank you for your amazing comments. We do take great pride in keeping our hotel the cleanest and most inviting in the city of Santa Cruz. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and hope that when you decide to return to Santa Cruz again you will visit us then as well. We appreciate our guests and always make their stay our top priority when running a Great Hotel Guests Love. Your feedback helps us to continue to provide superior service for all guests. Next time here try our dry sauna as well. Many enjoy the feeling over sweating out the toxins of a stressful day and then walking across the hall to hit the cool but hospitable courtyard pool for a full body decompression. We look forward to your next visit with much anticipation!

Warm regards,
Michael Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

On a two-day stay in Santa Cruz, we stayed at this very reasonably priced motel on the recommendation of a local. It's a couple of miles from the beach, but still seems to serve mostly families of beach-goers (the hotel is practically deserted during the day). Big motel-style breakfast (precooked eggs, pancake maker, fruits, cereals, coffee, etc.) and pretty good service (although we requested, and could not get, a mini-fridge). It is right next to the freeway, but Santa Cruz is not a big town; I don't think it took us more than 10 minutes via car to get anywhere, and there's plenty of parking downtown (in parking garages) and along the cliffs (free parking). Some decent coffee places nearby, but a middling neighborhood. For the price it's a great deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drewjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, Michael Meredith, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Drewjake,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel while visiting Santa Cruz. Our hotel takes great pride in being able to serve a wide array of different guest needs and our amazing beaches and coastal attractions are fun for the whole family. We hope that you pass along your experience to your friends and family much like your friend did to you. If in the Santa Cruz area again please do consider us for your hotel needs as we would be excited to meet all of your expectations when back in Santa Cruz..

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

So it had clean beds, clean showers and a good breakfast. Do not stay there if you want more. Next to the highway. Nothing to see out the window. Our one night overlay was fine on our way north to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Not a lot to choose from. The interior rooms overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaF58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, Michael Meredith, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear LisaF58,

I am disappointed to hear that your stay was simply average as our team strive to create better experiences than just acceptable. We are glad you liked the hotel overall but that in some features we may have not met your expectations in regards to location and room views. If in the Santa Cruz area again please contact me directly so that we can create a VIP stay while in town. You may reach me directly at mmeredith@hiesantacruz.com. I look forward to you visiting us in Santa Cruz once again.

Yours,
Michael Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We booked this motel for one night to see some of Santa Cruz.
Upon driving up to it we discovered that it is right off busy route 1.
The area does not look very safe as there were street people pushing their belongings in shopping carts. It was 3 pm so I walked in and tried to cancel the reservation. Desk clerk was adament that we had to cancel by 5 pm on the day before and said they were going to charge me whether I stayed there or not.
I wanted to stay somewhere near the beach. We reserved with a "flexible rate" for just this reason. To add insult to injury the lowest price guaranty is garbage because the web site shows a rate of $165 for the same room we paid $175. So for our trouble of reserving early we got to pay $10 more and did not get to cancel. Any other chain lets you cancel up to 6 pm on the day of arrival. The inflexibility of management and the terrible location make this a motel to a avoid.We did not get to really experience Santa Cruz as much as we wanted due to being so far away from the beach attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear HFT,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and providing feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important. I am apologizing we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations on this day. I am truly sorry to read that you did not find our hotel in a convenient location for your needs and that we could not honor your request to cancel your reservation without any charges due to our cancellation policy. We will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate all our patrons in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for continuous patronage and support to the hotel, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Address: 1410 Ocean St., Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $131 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing