We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with the parking garage from hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A nice hotel with the parking garage from hell”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip to Santa Cruz. The hotel is right off the freeway, is relatively new, rooms are nice, bathrooms clean, etc. The breakfast seemed ok, though I never ate it because the coffee was horrible. The gym was small but functional. The pool was tiny, and in an open air courtyard (lest you expect an indoor pool, it is not in fact enclosed).
However, the parking at this hotel is an absolute nightmare, and I don't think it's ever going to improve. The parking deck is under the hotel, and the positioning of the cement support columns and walls make for extremely tight parking spaces. Every support column had marks from people scratching their cars on them. There were a few spaces that I couldn't even squeeze into in my rented Dodge Avenger. People literally had to fold their mirrors in to get their cars out of some of the parking spaces. Unless you were lucky enough to get one of the few spaces next to a marked off walkway, or could creatively angle in next to one of the support columns, you pretty much had to pull straight into every parking space to have any prayer of getting in, and the aisles weren't exactly roomy either so that was quite a chore. There were a couple times when, after spending 5-10 minutes circling the parking deck trying to figure out which space had the extra inch or two I needed to even attempt parking in it, then maneuvering my car so I could pull straight in, I could barely get out of my car there was so little room between me and the next car or a wall. My only other complaint about this place was that it was on the wrong side of the street, which means you have to cut across lanes and make an awkward u-turn every time you want to head into town or to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bourgeois_Yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    195
    52
    26
    23
See reviews for
221
135
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Nice Hotel and very close to everything. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japple1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The good: Room was clean, the cinnamon rolls at breakfast (if you get there in time!!!) are like crack.

The bad: We heard what sounded like thunder, but could only assume were running children above us both nights that we stayed. I asked for an extra blanket and pillow. I was told they were "all checked out". Really..?The breakfast time was mis-leading. We were told it was until 10am. What they did not explain was that it ended at 9:30 m-f. So even though Monday was a holiday (memorial day), and we were told breakfast was served until 10, they closed up shop at 9:30. Plus, good luck finding a place to sit...

The Ugly: The parking situation is atrocious. It's a poorly designed parking garage where there are posts in every spot so that most cars double parked the spots. We were driving a modest sized 4 door...most of the cars in the garage were pointlessly large SUVs. When my BF complained to the front desk she said they had been hearing about it all day - - - So why was it not fixed after the 1st complaint??? I mean..they know what you're driving and they have security cameras in the garage. Why weren't they asking guests to correctly park their cars? Even some folks in a tiny Prius were having trouble fitting in the spot

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quidrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2011

WE stayed at the Hoiday Inn Express in Santa Cruz for a Spring Break get-a-way with our kids. The location is good, but not walkable to the Boardwalk. We had a larger room with two beds and a pull-out sofa bed, which, was perfect for our kids. The breakfast was very good, much better than most of the Continental Breakfasts at some other places. The staff was very helpfull in recommending a lunch spot and getting us in our room earlier than the 3pm check-in time. All in all, I would recommend the Holiday Inn Express as a great value for any visit to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldad43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us during Spring Break and for allowing us to make the experience in Santa Cruz more enjoyable! We hope to see you again soon!
Have a great summer ahead!
Best Regards,
Angelica Rivera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed for business. A nice new hotel with a decent breakfast. Not sure why the didn't add more sound insulation in the wall. Two night I heard the man in the next room using the restroom. My room overlooked the pool. Noise kids playing in the pool which closed 10:00PM woke me up.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
185 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The building is new and nice and the rooms are new and nice. I initially entered the hotel quite pleased but...

The dictionary considers a suite "a series of connected rooms used as a living unit (as in a hotel)"; and in this case a separate sleeping area was desired. But Holiday Inn Express considers a suite any room not a standard room (or so I was told). In this case the room was a somewhat larger room with a couch, two queen beds, and a desk. The room was booked well in advance based on the text and pictures on the web site; but the room at the hotel did not match the room on the web site. So a second room was booked late at night with the assistance of the night clerk and with instructions the manager may be better able to clarify the misunderstanding. And what was waiting for me the next day but a hostile reception from the morning clerk with instructions from the General Manager Angelica Rivera that under no circumstances would I be compensated in any way for the misunderstanding and the issue was no longer under discussion. Needless to say the issue is now in the hands of corporate as even corporate could not initate a call from the general manager.

I was told repeatedly the room, the food, the parking, the building, the service -- all were "Holiday Inn Express" standards.

other issues...

Internet did not work at 2 AM, called tech support and was told to try again in 15 minutes, Internet did not work at 2:30 AM. Internet did not work at 9 AM

Comments from other guests describing the food: "stale bagels", "concerned about food poisoning from the gravy", & "what is in the eggs?"

No hot water in one room and non functional shower head in the other.

Refrigerator did not keep food cold.

Parking spaces were too small and entry to lower lot bottomed out vehicle.

And the prices are 50% higher than the average for the area

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We had a wonderful experience and this holiday inn express, as well as another, and would recommend this as a great place to stay! As soon as we walked in we were greeted by very friendly front desk staff, and that was our experience with everyone at the front desk. The hotel is very clean, from the lobby to the fitness center, to our room. There is a pool, but no hot tub, and since it was raining when we were there,we didn't swim, but the pool area looked very clean. There was ample parking in the parking garage. We used the fitness center which was small, but adequate; it had 2 treadmills, one elliptical, one stationary bike, and a weight machine that was very versatile. They also provided towels, a tv to watch, and there was a sauna connected to the fitness room. The view from our room wasn't the best, it overlooked the side yard of the hotel next door, which wasn't very well kept, but we just closed the curtains and it didn't bother us. The bed was very comfortable and we had everything we needed in our room. The location was good for us. It was about a half mile from downtown which is where we spent the majority of our time. It was on a main road, but very quiet so we slept well. In the morning, there was a complimentary continental breakfast that offered cereal, omlets (pre-made, not fresh), muffins, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, toast, cinnamon rolls, and bagels. There was also coffee, juice, and milk to drink. We stayed on a saturday night, so for $100, we felt like this was a great value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrtle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Address: 1410 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing