We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place on the Ocean”
Review of Sea & Sand Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea & Sand Inn
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place on the Ocean”
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed at the Sea and Sand last weekend and could not have been happier. My sister and brother in law stayed next door at the Dream Inn. They paid $200 a night for a hotel room. We had a King bed with a fireplace, jacuzzi tub in the room, refridgerator, large flat screen TV and a big patio right on the ocean. The reception staff, Jose and Rachel were wonderful and met all of our needs. They include a continental breakfast, which is not great, but does have fresh fruit and good coffee, but the bagels are plain little boring white ones and the scones taste crunchy, more like a cookie. Oh well, we ate it all anyway! Also, wine and cheese is every afternoon and that was fun. My sister and brother-in-law ended up over at our place more so we could sit on the patio, look at the ocean and drink our lemon drops while playing Mexican train. If you go Sun.-Thursday, the rates are lower too! Our bill for two days, including taxes was $307. This place is literally on the ocean front. The surfers were like ants and the waves were huge. Santa Cruz is great in the winter, No crowds, plenty of parking, but if you have kids, the boardwalk has limited hours and rides that are open in the winter. They can always play on the beach though!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    121
    25
    13
    3
See reviews for
128
217
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
München
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Polite hosts; good breakfasts; nice, clean, new rooms. Take a king size rather then a double. This way the bathroom is between you and the street.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summitsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi and it was well worth it. It had a king sized bed and a balcony overlooking the sea. In the corner of the room was a braeburn fire which was needed for the chilly evenings. There was a huge plasma tv and small kitchen area. There was a large jacuzzi area and an ample separate toilet and shower room. It was a great room. Santa Cruz was very quiet as it was out of season but the room was so relaxing we didn't need nightlife.
We had driven up from LA and were going onto San Francisco so Santa Cruz was out last night out before meeting up with family. We rested and then continued on our journey.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homelovingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

You cant beat the location as far as the view or for walking on West Cliff. The room I had this time was nice and updated. The fireplace was wonderful for the chilly weather we had.

Breakfast is carb central. Not very interesting.

Nice place and I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bonsai35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Right on the ocean. Very nice and clean rooms, extremely pleasant and helpful staff.... wine and cheese served in the afternoons. Overall, a very pleasant experience. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khingdheano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest ,UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We have just returned from a month long road trip in califronia and would rate the sea ans sand amongst our most successfull finds. We shared a newly refurbished twin queen room with large dressiing room/ bathroom and patio with 'to die for 'views. Home made goodies and fresh fruit in the morning and iced tea/lemonade and cookies in the afternoon were excellent particularly when enjoyed outside. Maids were excellent and very friendly. All the staff couldn't have been more helpful . The location was excellent, close enough to get to the beach, boardwalk and downtown easily on foot but without the associated noise... we loved it and hope to go back sometime!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LentonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Spent two nights in their recently and nicely remodeled double queen rooms (# 107). The room was comfortable, very clean and had nice amenities, including flat screen TV and DVD player. All their rooms face the ocean and you can hear the surf and the sealions barking. I loved it. It was a short walk to the beach and boardwalk.

Housekeeping did a great job of not just keeping the rooms clean but the common areas and the outside patio furniture also. The front desk staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WSISonoma_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea & Sand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea & Sand Inn

Property: Sea & Sand Inn
Address: 201 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ocean-front Sea & Sand Inn has always been popular with savvy out-of-towners, but a major renovation in 2009 has added a whole new “wow” factor. Three new luxury king spa rooms with ocean view balconies were added; two spacious family cottages with private hot tubs and three other spa rooms were also upgraded. All 22 rooms have a fantastic ocean front view of sparkling Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea & Sand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea And Sand Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Sea And Sand
Sea And Sand Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing