We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach Town Property”
Review of Sea & Sand Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea & Sand Inn
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice Beach Town Property”
Reviewed May 29, 2008

We spent a night at the Sea and Sand Inn recently on a trip up the California coast. This is a nice motel in the theme of the ‘beach towns’ of the past; very fitting for Santa Cruz. The room was small by today’s standards, but it was clean and convenient. All rooms have an ocean view and there are nice areas outside for sitting and watching the ocean. You are within easy walking distance of the wharf and the boardwalk. The staff is friendly and there is free wireless internet that worked well and a free continental breakfast that is about average for this type of property.

Getting to the Sea and Sand is easy from CA-1. Just take Bay Street southeast (toward the ocean) and when it ends at Cliff Drive the Sea and Sand is on your right on the ocean side of the street. There is parking along the side of the property as well as a few spaces at each end. We had no issues finding adequate parking, but it wasn’t the busiest season when we were there. There is construction (renovation) going on at the large hotel next door, but it didn’t seem to cause any noise or traffic problems.

We felt that we got a good value at this property and enjoyed ‘living in the past’ for one night.

  • Liked — Clean with friendly staff and convenient location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Goleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    119
    25
    13
    3
See reviews for
121
211
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We stayed at the Sea and Sand Inn for one night on a road trip. I researched hotels through Tripadvisor and it seemed this hotel was a favorite. The location is right on the beach and walking distance to everything. The customer service was great and the guy that helped us was very nice. The room was very small, clean, and dark with no AC. It had basic features, but is not luxurious by any means. If you like to hang out in your room at all, this would not be a good choice. No deck or outside space, unless you walk down to the beach or sit in their little public patio. There were a bunch of people partying at this little patio until about 3am, which unfortuntely was about 20-25 feet away from our window. We wanted to have to window open a little to enjoy the sounds of water, but had to close it about 1am so we could sleep. I wish we would've contaced the office about it, as we were told upon check out, that security could've been called to ask them to quiet down. Other than that, the Sea and Sand Inn is a great little motel to stay in Santa Cruz.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small size of room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelers1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Our King size room was large with a newly updated bathroom that was huge. We had a jaczuzzi tub and king size bed. The jacuzzi tub was actually in th room in the corner which was really odd but it was fun to turn on the jets and soak.

I am not sure it was worth spendning $250 a night only because in Santa Cruz you spend most of your time on the beach boardwalk or out wandering the downtown, not sitting in your room.

It did look to be one of the safer, nicer spots in the area. There are a lot of dumpy motels in Santa Cruz and the Coast Hotel next door was a dreary box.

Next time I would try the West Cliff Inn. It looked lovely and was right near the Sea and Sand.

  • Liked — Beautiful location on the cliff
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FloppyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We stayed in one of the two larger king suites with private patio, so I cannot speak for the smaller rooms (except to tell you that the ocean view from the enire complex appeared to be excellent). Our room was tastefully decorated and completely updated, with kitchenette, very modern bathroom, two flat screen t.v.s, and impeccably clean to point of sparkling, with a lovely private patio, high on a cliff, directly overlooking the ocean. There is only a four foot partition seperating the king bedroom from the living area with sofa beds, so if that is an issue, than this may not be the place for you. We were traveling with our child, so this arrangement worked out fine for us. My only complaint was that the king mattress was rump-sprung, and with everything else being surprisingly in excellent order, the inn really should spring for some updating on the beds. Other than that, our king suite was nicer than I expected in every regard. A footnote: several roller coasters dot the bay to the south of the hotel. You can hear the rider's delighted screams in the far distance throughout the day, which appears to set the sea lions off, who bark back (half the fun of being in a sea-side toursit town!). The amusment parks shut down at 10:00 p.m., and at that point, all you will hear as you sleep is the surf from this superbly located inn. Another suite is directly next to the one we stayed in. Fortunatley, our neighbors were not partiers, just door slammers, so we had a fairly restful night. I suppose that in this regard, you may be taking a chance if you crave peace and quiet, but then, this can happen anywhere.
We had a very pleasant stay, and plan to return. I would definitely highly recommend the suites at the Sea and Sand if you want a clean, updated, nicely furnished room with a private patio, right on the ocean.

  • Liked — View, location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Internet connection was virtually hopeless-- really bad
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MsEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We have stayed at many places in Santa Cruz over the years and this by far has to be the BEST ever so far! The Inn sits on top of a cliff overlooking the beach and ocean. The grounds are beautiful with some really nice sitting areas and patios. We loved the lower deck located at the bottom of the Inn right above the beach. What a place to get some R & R! The peace was indescribable. This does not have a pool which we really did not miss with the beach and ocean so close by. We noticed that because it had no pool there were not very many children running around. In fact, we only saw two older kids. We truly did like the quiet atmosphere of mostly adults being there. The staff could not be friendlier or kinder to us. The room was clean but a bit older in decor. If you like really modern fixtures, this won't be the place for you as the bathroom tile was a bit old and the water smelled like sulfur in the shower (which most of these older places seem to all suffer from). We were able to overlook all of this because we felt we truly got what we paid for which was sitting right on top of the beach and ocean. At night you could hear the waves crashing on the beach and the seals barking. What a way to go to sleep! They have a service which you can call that goes and picks up food for you from several area restaurants. We especially loved this feature because we were very tired one day and ordered food to be delievered. It was there in 30 minutes. The other fabulous things were the continental breakfast which was very good and (you will love this), they bake cookies from 3:00-5:00 pm which were scrumptious (you can have all you want) and they make lemonade and iced tea. Another great feature is that the front office is OPEN 24 hours a day with someone always on call. We absolutely loved this too because we came home late and my husband was able to go into the office and make some hot chocolate as the night was quite chilly with the fog rolling in (he was also able to grab more cookies)! This was 11:00 pm at night....there is popcorn available for $l.00 and you can also rent movies from the front desk. Lastly, there was GREAT SECURITY because NO ONE can come into the complex without their card key because the place is GATED SOLID. In today's world, this is a fabulous feature to rest one's mind. The only possible problem areas are that there is a pathway which is right in front of your room and if you are trying to relax by your window overlooking the ocean there is constant foot traffic which seemed to look in every time they passed. It was a bit uncomfortable because we like our privacy. We ended up going outside quite a bit for the views and enjoyed the patios they have set up. Parking is not real great but they do try to make sure that each guest has their own spot. We rated this Inn a 4. If you love the beach and ocean as we do, you will be more than happy here. Just remember its not the Ritz and an older Inn at that. This place shines overall for its location, location, location.....wonderful things are within walking distance, especially the great Santa Cruz wharf and boardwalk. Please do try at least one night and you will be so thankful you did. Like us, YOU WILL BE GOING BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN..... Thanks to all those at Sea and Sand Inn for making our stay so very wonderful!

  • Liked — Proximity to beach and ocean/incredible views
  • Disliked — Lack of privacy from foot traffic looking into room.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank peacekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

My fiance and I have been there twice, and we love it! It is a bit on the pricey side, but what can you expect from a beach town? We like that it's just a short trek to the boardwalk, the rooms are comfy and stocked with essentials. The shower has hot water. The only thing that stuck out to me was in the bathroom, there was only one bar of soap for washing hands, and washing in the shower. There should have been two bars.

After a long day at the boardwalk, it was nice to come back to the room and be able to rent a video from the front desk to wind down. We expected to pay for the rental, but when we checked out the next morning we were told it was complimentary!

We will most likely stay there again next summer. We will enjoy the ocean view, the lovely gardens and the service with a smile.

  • Liked — Ocean view and easy boardwalk access
  • Disliked — not enough soap in the room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tra_lalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

My grandparents have owned one of the white condos across the street from this sweet little motel since 1989 (a few months before the '89 quake which scared the pants off of them but everything for the most part was okay).
When my husband and I decided to get married in Santa Cruz because the location meant so much to us and my family I knew I wanted to stay that night at the Sea and Sand Inn. There are lots of other places to stay that are just as nice (the Darling House B&B, Casablanca, etc) along the main Santa Cruz bay right there but Sea & Sand Inn is reasonably priced, been around for a while with a good rep. and of course only across the street from where the rest of the wedding party was.
Our few short hours there were very nice. Our ceremony was held in the morning just below the cliff of the Motel on Cowells beach and the Reception just down the street at the Cocoanut Grove Sunroom (right above the Penny Arcade). We checked in around dusk in our full wedding attire, change of clothes in hand. I think all I had to do was sign one little paper before they gave us our room key. I discovered how they knew who we were so well when we got to our room. My parents had brought over the left over table flowers and decorations that would eventually die, but before throwing them out they got one more use. The staff had taken what my parents left and decorated our whole room with them including a heart on the bed made out of flower petals.
The room was a moderate size, very clean and fairly simple. The best thing about the motel is its location. The little green path that you can walk down to the edge of the cliff and look out over Cowells beach, the bay, the wharf and the boardwalk is beautiful. The proximity to the surrounding attractions couldn't be better. The beach is a short walk down a hill, the wharf has tons to see and do, the boardwalk is right there. You can walk the other direction along the road right in front of the motel along the picturesque cliff to the lighthouse/surfing museum and surfing statue/memorial. If you continue along that road (West Cliff Drive) best on a bicycle, the view continues until you hit Natural Bridges beach/park, in the winter you can see bunches of Monarch butterflies in the eucalyptus trees there. Downtown is a short bike or drive inland (up Front St. and one block east) where you can find the Pacific Garden Mall, plenty of nice shops and good inexpensive restaurants as well as nightlife.
On our way out in the morning I noticed the staff was making some suntea on the little picnic table outside. A place that makes their own suntea out in the open is just cute!

  • Liked — The extra efforts from the staff
  • Disliked — Our lack of time there
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,458 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea & Sand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea & Sand Inn

Property: Sea & Sand Inn
Address: 201 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ocean-front Sea & Sand Inn has always been popular with savvy out-of-towners, but a major renovation in 2009 has added a whole new “wow” factor. Three new luxury king spa rooms with ocean view balconies were added; two spacious family cottages with private hot tubs and three other spa rooms were also upgraded. All 22 rooms have a fantastic ocean front view of sparkling Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea & Sand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea And Sand Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Sea And Sand
Sea And Sand Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing