We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Place to Stay”
Review of Sea & Sand Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea & Sand Inn
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We enjoyed this small intimate inn facing the Santa Cruz beach and pier. We had one of the larger rooms. As noted in other reviews, each room faces the water, are very private, comfortable, and quiet, and include outdoor seating and table. We found our stay exceptional and the staff very helpful. Its location was also a plus as you could walk to area restaurants, the Santa Cruz Pier and beaches, or along the pleasant and active West Cliff Drive with its overlooking water views as far as you want to go. In the early evening a complimentary glass of wine and hors d'oeuvres are served and in the morning a continental breakfast. We will return to this place the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: If you are able, choose one of the larger rooms away from the registration area and breakfast room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Sea & Sand Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 471 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed here many times and reviewed it once before. Not sure I will stay here the next time I visit Santa Cruz. The location is perfect. Divine to wake up on the cliffs! Lovely gardens. There is a very good breakfast included in the price. There are bagels with cream cheese, home baked scones (delish!) and muffins, boiled eggs ( protein) and fruit salad!! Plus unlimited coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice. The staff is all amazing. In the winter months there is a complimentary wine and cheese which is a lovely thing to do- sit in the gardens and watch the sun go down with a glass of wine ( sparkling juice for the kiddies). The rooms are small, the bathrooms are small but it is fine. The beds are so comfortable! We stayed on the ground floor in the first group of rooms. I do not recommend these rooms. In these rooms there is noise all through the night. From the road which is right outside the hotel there is a lot of traffic. The ground floor rooms suffer from hearing EVERYTHING from the room upstairs. In addition, there are swinging metal gates which make enough noise to wake you every time they close. There is nothing to be done about the road noise. If you are sensitive to noise at night probably dont stay here. The rooms further from the reception and on the second floor are probably way better.

Room Tip: Second floor or cottage!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gladystacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night midweek while in Santa Cruz. All rooms are behind a locked gate, so the only people possibly walking by your room would be fellow guests. The room was clean and fairly roomy. We kept the window open on the beach side and heard the waves all night. Very relaxing! Even though the inn is on a busy street, we could not hear the traffic with the sea-side window open. There were also two windows on the street side, but we kept them closed and we were fine. The staff was very friendly, and the continental breakfast was a nice touch. My only complaint would be the parking. You are pretty much on your own, there is no assigned parking spot for your room. The parking across the street is metered until early evening. I could see this being a problem if all their rooms were full and you were coming back to your room late. Otherwise, everything was wonderful and I would recommend this place to others. It was so nice looking out at the ocean and the boardwalk while sipping a cup of delicious coffee!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Newlywed_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a great find in scruz. Very clean beautiful view. Above all the beach crazies overlooking the beach, pier and boardwalk. Our room had a fireplace. Continental breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening. Enjoy watching the surfers and visit wine tastings. Lots of great bakeries here. Get the salt water taffy on the pier. The sea and sand is on a busy street so ther is some traffic noise at night. Highly recommend for stay in Santa Cruz. Staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Choose the king room with fireplace and jacuzzi tub.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottsdaleSchnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here on a surf trip. Great location, excellent staff and very clean room.
Room had a spa tub and best yet a great ocean view. Listen to the surf. Free breakfast 7 to 10
It's walkable to Steamer (less than 15 min) -- I drove.
P. point is a short 15 drive away.
It's walkable to downtown and shops.
I also stayed at another property next door--- I like this one much better and the price is also less.
Book in advance as it's generally full most weekends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at the Sea and Sand Inn in Santa Cruz for a couple of nights and had a wonderful time. This inn is located on the cliff overlooking the bay. You are in walking distance to the wharf, boardwalk, restaurants and anything else you might need. They have a good continental breakfast and in the winter months serve wine and cheese in the evening. The weather was great. We had a peaceful and quiet stay. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We did love the fact that you can sleep to the ocean waves but didn't like that we were on the 2nd floor and had to climb a flight of stairs to get up to our room. Parking was minimal, and very hard to parallel park onto. The window facing the oceans were an alright size, but everyone who stayed there on the same floor would pass by our window and be able to look in. We heard our neighbors talking a couple time, and the remote was broken, it wouldn't channel down, only up. It wasn't very upgraded, you would think for $140/night you would at least get a flat screen tv but we got a very old tv with a VHS player, no dvd player. They did offer you wine and cheese from 5-7, but we had dinner at that time. They offer breakfast from 7-11, which is more convenient then most places, but you had to toast your own bagels or toast, an d the food was minimal. The coffee is very watered down, we didnt have a microwave, fridge and the beds were ok. Great if you want to sleep to the ocean waves though, and Kevin is a pretty awesome kid, he even helped us open our wine bottle since our wine key broke.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a 1st level room, carrying suitcases up flights of stairs kinda sucks,
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea & Sand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea & Sand Inn

Address: 201 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $167 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea & Sand Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ocean-front Sea & Sand Inn has always been popular with savvy out-of-towners, but a major renovation in 2009 has added a whole new “wow” factor. Three new luxury king spa rooms with ocean view balconies were added; two spacious family cottages with private hot tubs and three other spa rooms were also upgraded. All 22 rooms have a fantastic ocean front view of sparkling Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sea & Sand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea And Sand Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Sea And Sand
Sea And Sand Inn Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing