We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Beach for Everybody”

Santa Cruz Main Beach
Ranked #13 of 83 things to do in Santa Cruz
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular beach, with killer waves, is known as one of the top surfing spots in the world.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Great Beach for Everybody”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Santa Cruz is the ideal California surfer's paradise, located on the northern tip of Monterey Bay. And the main beach located in front of the city's historic boardwalk is the perfect place to soak in the sun, play in the sand and splash in the sea.

You'll hear the screams of riders on the old wooden roller coaster as well as barking sea lions from the commercial wharf lined with restaurants and shops.

The beach is filled with volleyball nets, and some pretty serious action. And yet, wander just a few yards away and all you see are waves and a lighthouse in the distance. It's really pretty cool.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    81
    36
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The boardwalk and beach are very nice”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had not visited the boardwalk and beach at Santa Cruz for about 10 years and since then they have really cleaned-up the boardwalk. I remember looking at the Gaint Dipper Roller Coaster thinking I would never ride it due to its condition. Now it looks safer as they spent some money repairing it. The beach was clean and well groomed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianandKristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“FUN FUN FUN AT THE MAIN BEACH IN SANTA CRUZ”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our main Beach in Santa Cruz if filled with Volleyball nets, You can always find a game going on, and you can always join, The Beach is Clean, nestle between the Wharf and the Boardwalk play area ,Its a nice stretch to walk to the San Lorenzo River, Good enough to swim, Sand is white and pretty clean for a main Beach, Palm trees and tables near the Casino , come and enjoy people Watching ,Sun and Surf, I love going to the Main B each grab a bench and watch the local and tourist enjoying a day at the Beach, I recommend this safe and pictures stop in Santa Cruz..our little gem on the west coast..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Ok beach close to the boardwalk”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The boardwalk is easily the highlight of Santa Cruz, so it is difficult for the beach to match it. However this is an ok beach to hang out on a sunny day. There is a lifeguard on duty during summer which is comforting and there is a separate, quieter section of the beach with hardly any waves which is good for younger children to play and wade in.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and fun”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have to say this is the cleanest I have seen this beach in a while. Enjoyed all we did on our trip and met some great people locals and out of towners. Thanks Santa Cruz for the great trip. See you next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hockeygirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Cruz Main Beach also viewed

 

Been to Santa Cruz Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing