We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$143
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$137
$130
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Street Inn and Suites(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mission Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$209
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$271
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$227
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$196
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$173
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveler rating
87
163
88
40
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
163
88
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleangreat locationwafflestv channelsfree parkingcold cerealadjoining roomswaffle makerbusy weekendfree breakfastmicrowave and refrigeratordowntown areacalled the front deskparking lotwharfboardwalktubs
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 399 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2016

I wanted to see what Santa Cruz was like and stayed here for two nights to check out the Santa Cruz Warf and the downtown area and the University of Cal. Santa Cruz. The location is only a block away from the SC Warf and light traffic around the Lodge so it was relatively quiet here. The room was fine but there was a distinct scent that wasn't offensive but I would describe as a disinfectant smell when I first entered the room but did not notice it after spending more time in the room. The Lodge is not far from the downtown area so it is possible to walk there but I drove there due to overcast skies and rainy weather. They do provide a free breakfast which is limited to waffles, yogurt, pastries, oatmeal, coffee and juices but that is all I usually need when traveling.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank tora3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner really liked this hotel. We are travelling the coast and used this hotel as i stop over. We had a king room, it was large and comfortable. Very quiet. Easy to walk in to town but we drove closer to boardwalk in the morning. Probably could've walked but it was freezing. Breakfast was lovely- especially the waffles. Receptionist was friendly and helpful. Would stay again!!

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Ktrott88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016

There must not be any type of sound insulation between rooms. You can hear an adjoining room as though they are in your own room. Our room had lights that were unplugged, syrup on the arms of the desk chair, M&M,s on the floor next to the bed, the coffee station was not attended to by staff, the toilet paper holder was broken. There was no hotel staff in the breakfast room. Items offered were full of carbs, very, very little protein.
The location is great, 4-5 minute walk to the beach. The afternoon and evening staff were very helpful.
With so many places to stay in Santa Cruz, I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: stay off the ground floor and ask to see the room before you pay for it
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2016

The rooms have a mini-fridge and look like they have been remodeled recently. The hotel outside, though, is in need of a refresh. The staff were friendly and the hotel is a 10 minute walk to the beach. Not bad for the price. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2016

We stayed here for Valentine's day weekend. The room we had was a handicap room on the first floor with hardwood floors. The room was clean, colorful, and simple. It had a large mini fridge which was excellent for us, a microwave, and kuerig single serve coffee machine. The bed was comfortable enough, a little starchy, but very clean. And be sure to request new sheets for your next night if you want them, otherwise they seem to typically just remake the bed, probably to save water. The room service was very nice though as they restocked everything else and organized our bathroom products left on the sink counter.

The staff was very helpful. After checking in for the one night we booked, we purchased another room for the next night that was available. They said at that time that the room we checked into for the night wouldn't be available so we would have to move to the other room the next day. However, the next morning I called the front desk to ask how we should check into the next room and the lady at the front desk said we were able to stay in the same room. She also mentioned that she was about to call us to let us know, but she was waiting another 30 minutes so that she wouldn't wake us up. In addition, since it was a busy weekend the parking lot was full and thanks to three other guests who couldn't park between the lines to save their lives, there were fewer spaces than guests. I was lucky to find a spot but it was in a corner and blocking a large SUV so I left a note with my number. I also mentioned the predicament to the front desk who said they were trying to contact the owners of the misparked vehicles. A few minutes later a staff member knocked on our door and presented me with a pass to move my car into the handicap spot for the night to help avoid parking issues. Well done on their part.

The breakfast was simple: juice, coffee, cereal, oatmeal, bread, waffles, yogurt, bananas, apples. It was convenient and fresh. The pool and hot tubs were nice, the whole pool deck was clean and the lounge chairs were new and very nice. Also, if you have a pet, they have a nice area near the back for your dog(s). It has a baggie/trash stand and is a long grassy/rocky area between two fences.

To finish it off, the location couldn't be better. It is 5 minutes walking from both downtown and the beach/wharf, and it is centered in a quiet area of the town so at the end of the day it is easy to return and relax without feeling like you have to travel out of town and leave behind all of the fun places.

Room Tip: Request a higher room number >108. This will put you close to the pool, vending machines, and pet area.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews