We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pacific Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nothing special here except the price and location. The room was of average size, could really use some updating. The water was hot for the morning shower, the bed was hard, the hotel in general seemed a bit run down. Walking distance to pier and many restaurants, location was the reason we stayed here.

Room Tip: Second floor was relatively quiet given the noisy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodsman331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    139
    72
    37
    18
See reviews for
90
135
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent 3 days here and were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. I was a bit hesitant, based on some of the reviews I had read. Beds were good with decent bedding. Breakfast was good and the pool area was really nice, esp. For a 2 star hotel.
The best thing about it is the fact you are located within walking distance between the boardwalk and downtown. Parking can be expensive and difficult to find in SC, which makes waking a great choice.
Price was definitely right at $75 a night. SC in the fall is great... Fewer people, decent weather and great priced hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was pleasantly suprised by this hotel. The picture with the bright blue really looks pretty cheesey and cheap, and does not do it justice, it looks much better in person. It was very close to wharf/boardwalk and overall a very good choice. Room was clean and everything worked. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene_Strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a drive along the coast. The property is older but well maintained. Rooms are a good size and directv gives better programming that most motels. It's just a block from the beach so it's a great location for a stay in Santa Cruz. And surprisingly quiet considering it was completely full during our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at the Ocean Pacific Lodge for two nights. It was an ordinary motel but was adequate for a short stay. Were able to bring our dog with us and he was just fine in the room. Great location close to pier. Hotel was quiet and easy to find - pretty close to downtown. Breakfast was just adequate - ran out of coffee on our first morning and wasn't re-filled. Arrived at 2:00 but hotel does not let you check in a moment before three so we had to dawdle about and return -- a bit annoying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice location close to everything, plenty of parking and great value for money. Very clean and (surprisingly!!) great shower - really did punch above its weight as far as my expectations. Very close to pier and boardwalk which was good for our 1 night visit (though I wouldn't recommend spending anymore time in Santa Cruz but that ain't the hotels fault)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steelydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We got a couple of rooms for the Friday night of labor day weekend. The price was great, the rooms were clean and its within walking distance to the board walk and the wharf. The staff was very pleasant. It was very quiet. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europe2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#27 of 53 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Property: Ocean Pacific Lodge
Address: 301 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing