We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable rate 1 block from beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pacific Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Reasonable rate 1 block from beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Although there was nothing outstanding about this property, we did find that it was very convenient to the beach and the pier restaurants. It is 1 block from the pier and an easy walk. The complimentary breakfast was o.k., although the coffee ran out and no one in attendance to refill it.
This is a good place to stay if you have kids, as they have a pool as well as close to the beach.
Not a strong 3 star hotel, but better than a 2 and some rooms were being renovated.

Room Tip: When the pool is in full use, it can be noisy if your room overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    135
    69
    37
    18
See reviews for
87
132
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay last minute and chose this hotel based off previous reviews we read. The only room left was the King Suite with Jacuzzi tub. The room was clean but very old and needs maintenance. The jacuzzi was falling apart and the wallpaper was pealing everywhere. The pillows were so hard I couldn't sleep because I got such a bad headache from them. Literally rocks. Thr air condiotioner blew down and was old a rickedy. Took forever to cool off. The location is good and it clean. But def needs a touch up. Especially for being the King Suite.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vespagal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

$159 got us a modern 2 king suite which was really well set up with a separate bedroom for the second couple and a second basin/dressing area for the girls to get ready in while someone else is in the bathroom PLUS a pool and spa PLUS great personal service and dinner recommendations from reception PLUS a free breakfast! Oh and it was only a five minute walk down to the pier & boardwalk. We are two couples who have been travelling around the USA for a month and I think this is the best value place we've struck so far!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived in Santa Cruz April 25th and drove through, looking at online comments and such and landed at this place. The price was right, and were not expecting much from the room..but were totally surprised that it was bright, modern, clean, comfy beds, looked like recently remodeled..dual shower heads, keurig coffee in the room, better than usual bath products. Had to be the best place we stayed all week. We only had one night, but were really really pleased with it. The jacuzzis were working and hot..the pool was refreshing as well.

Nothing bad to say at all about this place! Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mak136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When checking in the hotel staff were extremely friendly, quick, and accommodating. The room was remodeled, very nice and fit what we were looking for - they even accommodate pets! After enjoying night one (great location) I checked availability for night two and the gentleman on the phone told me "no problem" and they were going to charge the credit card on file and we could stay in the same room. Great! We headed to the beach for the day and on return our key did not work. Hands full, my boyfriend ran to the front desk to get a new key. After waiting about 20 minutes he returned with all of our luggage and belongings on a cart. Apparently they were not aware we had extended our stay with the front desk agent that morning. Luckily they were able to accommodate, however it was frustrating trying to find all of our belongings that had been mixed, repacked, and all our toiletries thrown out. Not a deal breaker, but seems communication on their end could use some work.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 932Lou932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were delighted with our one night in this hotel. It's within easy walking distance of the wharf and beach. Considering the price we paid we were surprised by the amenities in the room like dual shower heads, Keurig coffee machine and large wall-mounted flat screen TV. The staff was accomodating and the room immaculate. We weren't able to stay for breakfast, so unable to comment on that.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the bottom floor and there was some noise from the room above (weight lifting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ocean Pacific for a quick getaway weekend. Loved the proximity to the boardwalk, very friendly & helpful staff. The room was large and clean. The grounds as a whole were well kept and easy to move around. I like the neighborhood better than many of the other hotels. Obviously the Dream Inn is an amazing hotel but it was out of our budget. This hotel was very affordable and a great choice whether passing through while traveling or vacationing with the family. Clean pool that looked super fun for kids...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMBmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#30 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Property: Ocean Pacific Lodge
Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing