We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$210
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$259
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$281
$270
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mission Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$479
$465
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$379
$368
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$334
$319
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$321
$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveler rating
87
163
89
40
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
163
89
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleangreat locationwafflestv channelsfree parkingcold cerealadjoining roomswaffle makerbusy weekendfree breakfastmicrowave and refrigeratordowntown areacalled the front deskparking lotwharfboardwalktubs
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 400 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

my title says it all: its a good hotel if you want to spend some time with your friends or family. We came by car, had a good parking space and the rooms were ready. Only the water in the whirlpool was brownish, so not that recommendable. But since its close to the ocean (5min walk) its worth the money spent - i would go there again.

Stayed: November 2011
Thank Raphael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in early October 2012. Our room was upgraded to 2 King bed room which ended up being 2 seperate rooms which worked out very well. All for the same price. It is very close to the Boardwalk. Accomodations and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjorie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The room was clean and big enough with basic amenities. Walls were a bit thin, though we were prepared for that as this is a lodge. The breakfast got the day started. Nothing special, except the waffles that were a nice addition. A big minus for me was that the WLAN did not work. After 1-2 minutes it stopped functioning claiming that I had used P2P applications, which was not true. The reception was not able to assist me, but I did hear that many other visitors had had problems with the connection, too. Yet the issues remain unfixed. If I wouldn't have really needed a functioning WLAN, my rating would be 4 out of 5. Tip: Found the cheapest offer from their webpage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J00nas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed one night in Santa Cruz and I am very happy with our stay. We had a newly renovated room and for the price, we were very happy with the quality of the room. Excellent value for the accommodations. I would recommend that you ask for a room away from the breakfast room because it was a little loud in the early morning. The front desk staff was very nice and the breakfast was good for it being included. Overall, we were very happy with our room and would plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the breaskfast room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cincy45209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Ocean Pacific Lodge has a simple but attractive lobby with a beachy, Woody surf wagon themed mural & pictures . The office staff was friendly and efficient. There is a PC in the lobby but we didn't use it. Most of the parking spaces in the lot are quite narrow but there are a few wider spaces.

The breakfast room is next to the pool area. It's fairly large space with plenty of room to get food without running into other people. The food was fairly basic but the bread was better quality than at most basic continental breakfasts. There were 3 types of Orowheat bread instead of the usual generic white/brown bread. On Sunday morning, when there were a lot of kids eating breakfast, there was a lineup for the 2 make your own waffle machines.

The rooms are being renovated a few at a time. We walked by some rooms that still had blond wood furniture and old style TVs but all the rooms seemed to have updated bedding.

Our renovated room was on the 3rd floor and we didn't have any problem with noise. We were expecting a standard room with 2 beds but ended up in a unit with 2 rooms with a king bed in each room.. In addition to the bed, the front room had a chair, dresser, microwave and refrigerator. The dresser had 3 drawers but they were very shallow and wouldn't store much. The 2nd room, with cathedral ceilings, had a table with a desk chair and a closet. Both rooms had large Panasonic flat screen TVs mounted on the wall.

There was a full bathroom with a good amount of counter space and an additional vanity/sink area across from the bathroom between the two main rooms. The bathroom fan was very loud but there was a switch to turn it off when it wasn't needed.

The refrigerator, with a small separate freezer, was larger than the ones in most hotels . It was turned off when we checked in. It was hard to see the temperature control markings so we accidentally turned it up all the way. It froze everything in the fridge. After we turned it down, the fridge cycled on & off a lot & we realized how loud it was.

Wi-Fi in our room was ok in the afternoon and kind of slow in the evening. The air conditioner was fairly loud but it did a good job of cooling down the room. We didn't need it at night. The rooms had white shutters on the windows instead of curtains or blinds. The drinking glasses were actually glass (rather than plastic cups) and there were also 2 glass wine glasses, which was a pleasant surprise. The beds were ok.

Direct TV was the cable provider for the TVs. There were no instructions for using the TV. We are unfamiliar with Direct TV and had some initial problems finding the programs we wanted but we figured out how to use the onscreen guide. There were a lot of TV channels available & the hotel did provide a list of channels in each room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews