We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Recently stayed with my partner in a king sweet while on vacation and it was spectacular, we had a living room a great bed in ower bedroom, and the jacuzzi was enormous for what I've seen at other luxury hotels, I absolutely adored the fact that we where right between the boardwalk and downtown. And the added comfort of having the police station a block away was comforting to know. I will definitely be returning very soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuniga53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 380 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite and loved it. Quiet and clean. Mucho towels, I think more than I have ever seen in a motel. Room had a fridge and microwave. Would definitely stay here again. Not much happening at the boardwalk unless you are a kid. Big disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

First, the rate was $200/night which in most other markets would not fly for this type of motel. That said, it is peak summer travel, it is Santa Cruz and it was a weekend stay. All other motels were $180-$300. Taking that into consideration, this was a good value.

Pros:
Free and reliable WiFi
Free parking
Pool and hot tubs
Breakfast buffet with a decent variety to choose from
Friendly front desk staff (ie: agent said if we could not find parking to let him know - presumably to find us an alternative place to park)
Comfortable beds
Just a few blocks from Boardwalk; across street from Santa Cruz Wharf
In-room microwave and refrig.
Overall it doesn't look like one of those hotels you are embarrased to walk into.

Cons:
Room felt a bit stuffy and heavy upon entering, but opening the windows took care of that
Closet door was broken/off it's roller (minor issue!)
11am checkout (12 would have been nice, but they allowed us to park a couple extra hours for free while we walked the beach).
A/C does not work (only fan) which initially we thought was OK for Santa Cruz, but it did get warm in the room overnight. A/C would have improved conditions.

No regrets staying here at all. The few minor issues were easily compensated by the many positive aspects of the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X1432GLmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

this place was newly renovated, clean rooms, clean pool, nice breakfast area. Great location a block to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacey0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I hated this hotel! I walked in to a very dimly lit room and smelled of disinfectant mixed with insecticide. The wallpaper was peeling in several places, and the furniture and picture frames were broken and or chipped. The bedding seemed clean, but I immediately checked the mattress for bedbugs and saw no evidence of them; however I woke up with two small bites and found a desiccated insect exoskeleton on the floor in the morning! I hardly got any sleep since the toilet ran profusely all night long. I left early in the morning because I couldn't stand it anymore! To top it all off it was way overpriced in spite of a "low price guarantee."

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daisychain711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was a good average hotel, with a great location.

The hotel features free parking, WiFi and breakfast. The breakfast was pretty good, a wide selection of food and drinks.
The pool was very nice, and the staff were very friendly.
The room was big and clean.
The Hotel is located just a short walk (5 min) from The Pier and the Boardwalk in Santa Cruz., there are a lot of good restaurants on the Pier.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family and I just returned from Santa Cruz,and our stay at Ocean Pacific Lodge yesterday Tuesday,July 26th,2011.We have family in Santa Cruz and have been traveling there for more than 22 yrs.We have stayed in many of the hotels there and finally have found the very best !!If your traveling to Santa Cruz don,t waste your money at any other hotel stay here.We had a room on the 2nd floor over looking the pool and it was great ! Rooms are very comfortable,clean,great breakfast,beautiful pool,2 hot tubs,and very friendly staff.The location is perfect walking distance to the board walk,beach.pier,and down town.We changed our stay several times adding extra days,we ended up adding 4 extra days and the hotel manager Peter was very accommodating,and very nice.If your going to Santa Cruz don,t stay any where else,you won,t be disapointed with Ocean Pacific.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room facing the pool,they are the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GALLEGOS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.8 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0 mi away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#41 of 54 in Santa Cruz
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $89 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing