We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Fun hotel on the beach. Rooms are nicely decorated. Fantastic views from room. Will return. However, restaurant experience was horrible. Very slow service. Having waited tables to put myself through college, I rarely complain about restaurant service. But this was too much. Slow, rude, unhelpful. They wrote off most of our bill and my wife and kids said "no" to free desert. We all wanted out as quickly as possible. But we did go back to a room with a nice view and discovered other fun places to eat in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psychtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,723)
There are newer reviews for Dream Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,593 - 1,599 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2009

my husband and i stayed here for 2 nights. it was really nice. we love the fact that it had a beautiful view of the beach and that you can walk the beach late at night. it was really close to the boardwalk as well as the warf. we also like the fact that it was pretty private. one thing i can agree on some people is that it does smell like smoke if you leave your balcony open when someone else is smoking next door. also the restaurant was very pretty and romantic but the food was not that great and it was pretty expensive. we will not be going back to the restaurant but for sure the hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conleys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

This was a wonderful hotel right on the reach. Within walking distance to the boardwalk, the warf and plenty of shopping. We took surf lessons through Club Ed's Surf School and LOVED it. Had a blast. I was more worried about the water temperature, but the wet suits were a life saver. The hotel's restaurant just opened. While the food was good, it was way over priced, especially at the pool. I thought it was ridiculous was they charged for the quantity you received. We loved the little restaurant around the corner "Ideal" and ate here several times. It is fairly priced and you get plenty to eat. One other place we ate at was "Gildas" on the warf. I loved the seafood omelet which was my first of its kind. It was huge and came with tons of stuff on the side. Don't pass this place up if you are looking for a great breakfast spot.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

This place was great! The decor of the hotel was really fun and funky, and complimented the area. The room was really nice, with a great balcony overlooking the daily Santa Cruz Surf School, Pier, and the Boardwalk. On one of the nights we were there a concert was at the Boardwalk, and we could hear it from our balcony. That was really nice because we didn't have to be mashed into the crowd to enjoy it.

We're walkers, and this hotel is easy-walkin' to the Boardwalk, downtown Santa Cruz, Natural Bridges, and other points of interest. The beach just outside your door is Cowell Beach. The hotel was really clean (yay! even the lobby smelled good when you walked in), had a nice pool and hot tub with lots of activity, direct beach access, and the restaurant (Aquarius) had opened the week before we arrived. You WILL hear sea lions barking if you're on the balcony or if your door is open.

We didn't eat at Aquarius because we didn't know anything about the quality, or the price (they could stand to make this more public). However we did order room service, and it was very good. We liked staying in this hotel and using it as a jumping-off point for the rest of Monterey Bay and Big Sur. Parking is free (across the street from the hotel), and the valet is also free. Definitely let the valet park your car when you get checked in, or if the self-park lot is full. Free wireless, too.

If you're looking for an upscale place to stay in Santa Cruz that is on the beach and close to all of the action, but not in the middle of all the noise (think roller coasters, screaming, cars, etc.) then this is a great place. Romantic, clean, light, and bright. We will definitely stay here again when traveling to Santa Cruz!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javadelcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This was my fist time in Santa Cruz and the Dream Inn did not disappoint. When we walked in our room it was clean and had a modern look. The view of the ocean was just spectacular. The pool is a nice size and has easy access to the beautiful beach. Just walk down the stairs and you are literally on the beach. The dream Inn is located a few blocks from the Boardwalk separated by the pier. The portion of the beach at the Dream Inn was far less crowded than the main beach and you had the luxury of running back up to the heated pool when you are done playing in the cold Pacific. The door in the hotel could be better insulated. If you are bothered by noise when people walk by your room then this will probably bother you. We had a double queen bed room for our family of 4. I have teenagers so it was very nice being able to sit out on the balcony and keep an eye on the kids at the pool or beach (you have a great view of either). All rooms have this view. We did not try the new restaurant at the hotel maybe next time. We had no problems with staff. Also Dream Inn is pricy but I got a great 30% off deal from Expedia that allowed me to stay 2 nights for a reasonable price. Free parking and wireless topped it all off.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flymedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We had stayed at this hotel in a previous incarnation and were extremely pleased at the time, especially compared to Chaminade, a so-called four-star hotel which we disliked, to say the least. There was a whole lot of hoopla about this place being redecorated and reopened. Well, the decor is strictly average, the rooms are small, and ours was occupied by plenty of flies and bugs, presumably because the sliding glass door to the balcony has no screen. It took some work to rid ourselves of the flies circling the room like little vultures and the little gnats covering the glass door. The decor is supposed to look fun and hip but it looks cheap, elements don't function very well (like the closet), and they were executed poorly. We got a significant amount off the room rate because of a web deal, but it was still way, way overpriced. The front desk is extremely well staffed with very professional, nice people, however. And the location is outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24karat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Succesfully renovated: stylish, groovy looking. Location: on the beach and near the boardwalk. Beautiful poolarea. Beautiful rooms all with ocean view and terras. Best of all: the staff - so polite, helpful and professional. They really go out of their way to help you. The restaurant was not open yet when we visited but was opening the day after we left.
Downsides: the pool area should be managed a bit more making sure all trash is being picked up (in the morning we often saw thrash under the loungers from the previous day). The choice of food at the pool area was very limited and should be expanded. But overall if you want a nice family hotel at a reasonable price on the beach in Santa Cruz, this is it !

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bZita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
472 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $267 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing