We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our family loved the dream inn”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“our family loved the dream inn”
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Lovely room with an ocean view and private balcony, right on the beach, kiddie pool, what more could a family with a two year old ask for?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFrancisco_CAChet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    487
    183
    33
    35
See reviews for
669
577
53
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My family has been going to the hotel for over 10 years because of it's location (right on the beach, next to the boardwalk, and great pool). And now they added "style and cool" in to the mix. The rooms are very cool with great calming colors and modern... well everything. Perfect view from every room. Great room service (eat outside on the patio). The poolside renovations are very cool with couches, tables, new lounge chairs, big umbrellas, and amazing poolside service. "I'd like another beer on tap please". One tip is to request a upper floor so that you are away from the pool noise. And try and get a room away from the ice maker. Free parking and free internet is also nice. Eat out by the pool and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toddSFBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

This hotel is ideally situated. I had the Dream Suite, as another reviewer did. I will agree with his evaluation of how loud this room is. You really hear anything with wheels (bell hop, suit cases, etc.) coming or going. It wasn't bad at night, but in the morning you aren't going to sleep past 8 am because It's located in a high traffic area.

I stayed two nights, but I would not return if given other options. I will say the beds are great, the room is super clean, and the mini bar was great. The only problem is I like to sleep later than 8 am when I'm on vacation. This is a big issue for me since I get really annoyed with noise prior to 9:30 am on the weekends.

The Dream Suite doesn't lived up to the hype and it's overpriced. Assuming the same bed is in other King rooms, I would have gone with a less expensive room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laidbackvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2009

This place is great! Its obviously new and recently upgraded and they take their customer service very seriously. The whole place is spotlessly clean and very well taken care of. They have FREE valet parking AND a free and very accessible self-parking lot. We only had $1 in cash so werent able to tip the valet guy more than that and he was so nice and gratful for even the dollar! The front desk people were really helpful and nice. They have computers to use for free to print stuff out and browse the internet. They have FREE internet access in the room, which is rare for this type of hotel. Not to mention the location and the view are unbeatable. The showers are really nice as well!

My only complaint is that it is really loud. I dont think i could hear people walking around, like some other reviews state, but i definitly could hear people slamming what i can only imagine was the sliding bathroom doors. It was extremely loud and woke me up a couple times (would have been more if the bests hadnt been so darn comfy!!)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovepinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

The location is unbeatable in California. Walk from large pool deck directly on to the sand of a large, gorgeous beach. The Santa Cruz Wharf and Boardwalk Amusement Park are an easy walk. The rooms are so new and stylish, all with ocean view, you don't know whether to stay in, be at the large pool deck or hit the beach. Something for everyone. Easy free parking too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dklessard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Dream Inn for one night during a road trip of California, and we absolutely loved this place. Everything is all very new and gorgeously retro.

Checking in was very easy and the concierge was very helpful. He explained how everything worked, where we could find the pool, towels etc.
We requested a room high up and this was definitely worth it as the views were unbelievable. They're the kind of views that have to be seen to be believed - no photo will do them justice. It's worth waking up for the sun rise as the colours are just incredible.
Bathroom was lovely, especially the huge rain shower.
As it was September, the board walk was closed which was a shame. But we had a great time walking along the pier. We ordered dinner via room service which was delicious. Don't even bother ordering one of the subscription films - they're dreadfully overpriced.
The pool was fab and we loved having cocktails to sip whilst laying in the sun. There are 3 pools including a jacuzzi. It was quite quiet as it was out of season, but we preferred it that way.
We ordered breakfast the next morning and had it sitting out on the balcony. Delicious granola and a nice selection of fruits.
You can park your own car or else they have valet parking.
They have internet access downstairs in the lobby which they charge for.
Checking out was easy and the guys on reception were really helpful with giving us directions to Hearst Castle which was a few hours away.
All in all, a great place to stay and we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodieb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

The hotel has a great view of the ocean but that is where it ends. Upon arrival we realized that our room was directly over a homeless camp under the pool deck of the hotel. We could not even sit out on the balcony because there were over 10 homeless people camped out all day and night, getting very roudy and aggressive. We saw several fights from the room, the hotel could very easily install a fence or hire a security guard but chooses not to. You cannot get to the beach from the hotel without passing through the homeless camp and we felt very nervous doing so. I also broke up a homeless fight going on beneath us from the pool deck. It looked very violent and I just started yelling at them to knock it off.
Additionally there is NO room service after 1pm. A bit dissapointing for such a "luxury" and pricey hotel. Also there is no newspaper service, but you can run down to the lobby and pick one up yourself if you get up early enough to score one.
Very dissapointing for such a high price. Its a motel with a nice view and a scary element living underneath it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelguru66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2009
It is unfortunate that Santa Cruz's beaches are public and we can not have our security evict anyone from the public beach as it is not our property. We do however call the police if anyone fights, drinks, does drugs or becomes aggressive. We called the police on this occasion and they did come by and break up the party and had them move on. We are working with the city to see if they can step up the patrols for the summer as this is the only season it becomes an issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing