We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool retro hotel in great location..”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I spent a few days in this hotel on a recent trip to California.
The location is wonderful - right on the beach; Staff are very helpful and efficient; rooms large and clean....all in all a lovely place to stay.
Food and drinks a bit on the pricey side but plenty of other places to eat and drink nearby so not a problem.
All in all no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonHendersonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
There are newer reviews for Dream Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is certainly the nicest hotel on the Santa Cruz beach however I am appalled that the average room price is $300/night! The rooms are nothing special. Only 2 bath towels are given which is a joke when usually at least 3 towels are needed. Toilet paper kept running out. Even the balcony furniture is quite basic. No 24 hour room service and I had to painfully deal with only getting wifi 10% of the time. Not what I'd expect from such an expensive place. So buyer beware. I hear that nearby hotels aren't even comparable so don't expect the best and fork over some $$$ and you'll be happy.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Frocohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Staying here 5 days on family vaca. Pros...housekeeping is great, brought extra towels, room cleaned by 8:30am daily, gave us tons of extra towels. Great view, quick valet, close to everything. Con's...tell the kids to stay out of hot tub!!? Nothing makes me madder than wanting to sit and relax in a hot tub and 10 kids are using it as a kiddy pool. Why doesn't staff tell them to get out??? Ordered a cesear salad with no anchovies. Smallest salad ever for $17and had anchovies!! Argh. Would stay again but next time I will complain to front desk about hot tub. Bought soda at front desk and clerk acted like I was putting her out by having her ring it up and not charge to room that I wasn't paying for...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Orrip72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We came down for a quick 24 hour get away from the SF Bay Area. Booked through the hotel website, got AAA discount. The check-in was easy, and every room has a gorgeous view. You are directly on the beach, next to the Boardwalk and pier. All staff were friendly and efficient. Rooms are hip and modern. This is my fourth trip to this hotel, and I love it every time. Take highway 1, if you can! Also, there are great walks right out the door to see sea otter, sea lions, and check out the local flavor of Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, away from the elevators is quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmacSfBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Right on the beach with a great view of the bay! Staff is friendly, comfortable rooms with balcony to watch the sea life. Easy walk to the pier and boardwalk. Conference center views made it hard to focus on work. Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank traveler789007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Dream Inn is the place to stay in Santa Cruz! Walking distance from everything! The pool temperature water is just right! Food and beveridge service makes it relaxing. Dining on site with a spectacular view can be romantic. Park your car and enjoy your stay! Excellent staff from check in to check out!

Room Tip: Love the ocean view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We weren't really sure what to expect of the Dream Inn since we had never heard of or stayed with the Joie de Vivre hotel Chaim before - but ended up being pleasantly surprised! The location is great - literally situated on the beach and right beside the fun Santa Cruz boardwalk. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool was nice and great for lounging around to soak up the sun. We also enjoyed breakfast one morning at the beautiful Aquarius restaurant and it was wonderful! Overall a great stay and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jaclyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
474 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $266 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing