We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Was very impressed by this hotel. Stunning views of the pier and ocean. Comfy and luxurious beds. Even fluffy robes an towels. Nice pool and hot tub. Located on the beach. Free coffee from a keurig machine in the room. They let me have late check-out for free during graduation weekend. Nice staff, safe parking area.

Room Tip: Great ocean view even from our room on the lobby floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dentistmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 Star review! The views really are breathtaking, and getting to soak in the pool and hot tub while watching the waves I must admit, is too hard to beat. Thank you for mentioning our amazing staff, they really are stars out there! We strive to bring the Joie de Vivre spirit to each guest's stay, we look forward to next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    383
    140
    28
    31
See reviews for
453
470
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our third stay at Dream Inn, this time it was to attend a wedding on site. The hotel is within easy walking distance to downtown Santa Cruz, the Boardwalk and the Cliff Drive Walk. This central location is busy on a beautiful summer day in Santa Cruz, so if you are looking for a get away from people place, you should go somewhere else. However if you want to enjoy a great ocean view from your room, easily walk to dozens of great restaurants downtown, be able to listen to music from the Boardwalk while soaking in the hot tub and go for walks on the ocean, it is perfect.
What sets this hotel apart from others is the great attitude and friendliness of all the staff who work there. There had been some slight mix-up in the booking which was quickly straightened out on check in. All the staff at the restaurant and wedding reception were very pleasant, helpful and co-operative. And when my wife realized she had left her phone charger in the room and called the next day after we arrived home, they found it and mailed it to us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I am so glad you and your wife enjoyed your Santa Cruz adventure! Thank you for your 5 Star review. Its great that you were able to take in so much during your stay, there are so many fun things to do, and all so close. Its wonderful to hear as well that we took such good care of your lost item, the staff really do take the Joie de Vivre spirit seriously. Thank you for continuing to visit us and we look forward to many more adventures with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

then this hotel is fine. The whole area (including the hotel) has a 60's Coney Island feel.

We stopped for one night on the way from Monterey to Napa so that my husband could play golf at Pasatiempo. I should have done more research and picked a hotel in a different part of Santa Cruz.

This hotel is only a good value if you are going to ride rides on the boardwalk, eat at one of the restaurants on the pier, walk on the beach. The beach looked great from the room, but when I went for a walk, I found it to be overrun with kelp and not very pretty.

The lobby of the hotel was a little dated looking. The room was fine - clean with a big comfortable bed. The décor was a bit retro.

The hotel was completely booked - but that did not seem to fluster the staff. They were as nice and accommodating as could be.

Basically, the price is awfully steep for the quality of the hotel. However if you are going to make use of the amenities that are in walking distance to the hotel, then is may be worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0tlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha O, Public Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in Santa Cruz! We appreciate that you took notice of our staff's ability to stay calm and accomodating during our busiest moments. Happy Travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you want to be on the beach near the boardwalk in a hotel with a retro-yet-cool vibe, the Dream Inn is your place. The staff was very friendly. We had to move our room because the first one they gave us was practically in the elevator. They were very gracious and put us in another room away from the elevator. Our room was clean and comfortable with a private balcony overlooking the beach. Unfortunately, the weather was a little cold and rainy so we didn't get to fully experience the pool, but it's a great setup and no doubt very fun when the sun shines. We enjoyed the walk from the hotel up to the lighthouse along the path overlooking the ocean and surfers along the way. It's the total Santa Cruz experience!

Room Tip: One thing to note when you are booking your room is that there are rooms overlooking the pool and ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boulderkir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! The weather has definitely turned HOT! We hope to have you back to experience the same great service, and a sun tan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dream Inn May 4th and 5th 2013 and had a fabulous time! We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The people who work here certainly know the meaning of the term customer service, because we experienced it from check in to check out. This includes, front desk, valet, restaurant, bar, pool and housekeeping! Everyone was so very friendly and helpful. This place is lovely, very retro-60's, and immaculate! Our room had a spectacular view of the beach, wharf and boardwalk. We plan to return over the Thanksgiving holiday this year and we can't wait. Dream Inn is now on our list of favorite places to stay at the coast. We love it!

Jeff and Danice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwholt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and your 5 star review! We are happy to have you with us again come Thanksgiving! If we don't see you until then, Gobble Gobble!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quechee, Vermont
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Annual summer visit to this property. Located on main beach in Santa Cruz, it is special. Guests can swim in the pool or the walk on the beach --day or night. Or walk to the Boardwalk and play fun games. Or dine on the Wharf jutting out into the bay. Or dine at Aquarius, a fine dining restaurant at the hotel. Or dine in Santa Cruz or Monterey or Carmel. Point is: Everything a person wishes to do when visiting California.
And, the staff is friendly and competent. The rooms clean -- all with great views to the bay. One miscue -- our grandchild's pancakes were not "chocolate pancakes" from room service. Vincent -- a key player in our visit -- rescued us with skill and aplomb. We will return next summer.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the tower. Great views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! Vinny does a great job for us at Aquarius and the pool, and I appreciate you taking time to mention his stellar service. We look forward to having you back to experience the same great service from not only Vinny, but all of our other employees!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Dream Inn is located right on the water. The views from the room are beautiful and conveniently located to walking to the Boardwalk and parts of the town. The rooms are clean and ours came with a balcony with table and chairs to sit out on. Friday night there was a band playing at the boardwalk which was great to hear from our room. Sadly they do not care if people smoke in their hotel. No where are there signs that this is a non smoking hotel in the room or on the patio. We were on the 10th floor in the "cloud" room and twice the guest below us were smoking so their smoke went right up into our balcony into our room which ruins everything about the view and ocean breeze for me. Ended up calling front desk 4 times and finally checked out early. A sign in the room or out on the balcony stating their non smoking policy I felt would have prevented this from happening and ruining our stay. Very disappointing. Manager offered to move us but if they allow people to smoke on their balcony I didn't see what moving us was going to do. Upon checking out no notes on my account about speaking to manager. I mentioned her name wrong and was told there was no one by that name. I then asked the managers name which was very close to what I had said. I mentioned maybe a sign would help and was told there is a sign in every room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaknix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
This guest has been contacted by management to express our concern over the issues raised in this review. The Dream Inn is indeed a non-smoking facility with stiff penalites for those who violate our policy. We take issues that impinge upon other's experiences at the Dream Inn seriously, and we will redouble our efforts to ensure that this experience remains an isolated one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#1 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. We're getting ready to make a splash. Our beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation from December 1, 2014 through March 12, 2015. We look forward to reopening with upgraded amenities and design, plus a hot tub more luxurious than ever before-all steps from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing