We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and views!”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location and views!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had one night in this hotel, and was very happy with the level of comfort and location. The rooms were very modern and it was great to have a balcony overlooking the sea. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant at night, which was good. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkfa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! Even though your stay was only for one night, I am happy to see that you were able to utilize all of the benefits of staying at the Dream Inn. Next time hopefully we can have you for a leisurely and extended stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    429
    156
    29
    33
See reviews for
516
527
48
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful view of the ocean from our room on the 10th floor. The room was perfectly sized for two people and the balcony was a decent size with a table & two chairs. Great hotel!

The only thing that the we didn't realize about Santa Cruz is that the beach is very kid-focused. Not much for nightlife. Next time, we would stay closer to downtown Santa Cruz so we could walk to more bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great view, friendly staff and perfect location. This was my first time in Santa Cruz and loved the city. At night all we heard was waves crashing, which is fantastic. During the day you hear a lot of screaming kids due to the boardwalk and pool area but it didn't bother me and I tend to get annoyed easily around kids. I think the laid back spirit of Santa Cruz was working for me. You can walk everywhere with a lot of activities just outside your door, I would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: For quieter rooms we chose top floor on the north end of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWlivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am happy to hear that the staff and location were to your satisfaction. We are certainly a family friendly destination due to our proximity to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and our ocean view pool is great for relaxing after a day out with the kids! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A medium sized room, basic but comfortable and fantastic balcony overlooking the beach ! You could hear the seals under the peer from our room such fun ! Close to all of the Santa Cruz sights and lovely cliff walk closeby. The restaurant was excellent worth a visit. The pool was great and had waiter service and volleyball available beside the hotel on the beach. The staff were wonderful and even gave us a treat for our honeymoon - the only one that did out of four 4 star hotel on our trip ! Try the sea kayaking its fantastic !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
After reading your review, I am so happy to hear that your honeymoon was such a joyous occasion! I will pass on your feedback to the Aquarius staff, and we look forward to being your destination of choice for anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

During my entire stay at the Dream Inn, I kept repeating, "It doesn't get better than this". Right on the beach, overlooking the entire bay~each room is ocean front and we were on the 10th floor. The beach was at our doorstep, but my husband and I wanted to enjoy a late lunch poolside, so grabbed some chaise lounges and ordered up. The glassed wind break kept the ocean at your feet, without the wind and sand. Location is great, walk to boardwalk, pier, even the Rollar Derby. At the end of the day, we settled in at the Acquarius, the restaurant at the hotel. Again, we were looking out at the waves crash while listening to soft music in their lounge. The Acquarius has a sophisticated, upscale feeling, while being casual and comfortable at the same time. Very inviting and easy!!!! Easy to park and get around. Great for a couple, weekend with friends or perfect place for familes with kids of any age, as lots of different close by activities. I can't wait to go back!!!! IT DOESN'T GET BETTER THAN THIS!!!

Room Tip: I think they have different things if you are a family vs a couple. All rooms are ocean front. May b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha O, Public Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Well Susan, we think that you should start writing our marketing material!!

We are very grateful for your amazing review and glad to hear that you were able to get the FULL Santa Cruz experience! We love this town and are over the moon when others can appreciate it like we do. We hope to see you again soon! Until then, Happy Travels!

Warmest regards,

Aisha (on behalf of the Dream Team) :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We did have the premier king, which has a nice set up of a separate bedroom and living room. All the rooms seem to have balconies, which is very nice. The decor is fun but not luxurious. Everything functioned well. The bathroom is very small and the air is window, no central controls but this is a revamped older hotel. Mostly clean for a beach hotel and the staff was very accommodating and helpful except some of the valet staff, that couldn't be bothered. We decided to self park after that, with very easy access across the street. The location is great and convenient. It was reasonably quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose a tower room at the end of the hall if you like quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I do want to apologize that your experience with the valet was less than satisfactory. If we are lucky enough to have you with us again, please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. I will take this feedback to the team to improve our service, and we look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The dream inn really takes care of all your needs. The service is exceptional and the rooms are clean with lots of light with incredible views. The restaurant is amazing for breakfast, lunch and dinner and room service is just as good. We enjoy relaxing by the pool or a walk down to the beach where you can have surf lesson, stand up paddle board, or boogie board. I highly recommend this destination for families.

Room Tip: Having a room by the pool is great when you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adigiesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We appreciate your recommendation! We of course welcome all walks of life, but Santa Cruz is certainly one of the best family destinations in California! From the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk to a bike ride along West Cliff Dr. to see the historic lighthouse there is always something fun and exciting to do! We hope to provide the same level of exceptional service on your next visit to Santa Cruz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing