We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view of the peer and location”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A medium sized room, basic but comfortable and fantastic balcony overlooking the beach ! You could hear the seals under the peer from our room such fun ! Close to all of the Santa Cruz sights and lovely cliff walk closeby. The restaurant was excellent worth a visit. The pool was great and had waiter service and volleyball available beside the hotel on the beach. The staff were wonderful and even gave us a treat for our honeymoon - the only one that did out of four 4 star hotel on our trip ! Try the sea kayaking its fantastic !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

After reading your review, I am so happy to hear that your honeymoon was such a joyous occasion! I will pass on your feedback to the Aquarius staff, and we look forward to being your destination of choice for anniversaries to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,723)
There are newer reviews for Dream Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

During my entire stay at the Dream Inn, I kept repeating, "It doesn't get better than this". Right on the beach, overlooking the entire bay~each room is ocean front and we were on the 10th floor. The beach was at our doorstep, but my husband and I wanted to enjoy a late lunch poolside, so grabbed some chaise lounges and ordered up. The glassed wind break kept the ocean at your feet, without the wind and sand. Location is great, walk to boardwalk, pier, even the Rollar Derby. At the end of the day, we settled in at the Acquarius, the restaurant at the hotel. Again, we were looking out at the waves crash while listening to soft music in their lounge. The Acquarius has a sophisticated, upscale feeling, while being casual and comfortable at the same time. Very inviting and easy!!!! Easy to park and get around. Great for a couple, weekend with friends or perfect place for familes with kids of any age, as lots of different close by activities. I can't wait to go back!!!! IT DOESN'T GET BETTER THAN THIS!!!

Room Tip: I think they have different things if you are a family vs a couple. All rooms are ocean front. May b...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha O, Public Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Well Susan, we think that you should start writing our marketing material!!

We are very grateful for your amazing review and glad to hear that you were able to get the FULL Santa Cruz experience! We love this town and are over the moon when others can appreciate it like we do. We hope to see you again soon! Until then, Happy Travels!

Warmest regards,

Aisha (on behalf of the Dream Team) :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We did have the premier king, which has a nice set up of a separate bedroom and living room. All the rooms seem to have balconies, which is very nice. The decor is fun but not luxurious. Everything functioned well. The bathroom is very small and the air is window, no central controls but this is a revamped older hotel. Mostly clean for a beach hotel and the staff was very accommodating and helpful except some of the valet staff, that couldn't be bothered. We decided to self park after that, with very easy access across the street. The location is great and convenient. It was reasonably quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose a tower room at the end of the hall if you like quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I do want to apologize that your experience with the valet was less than satisfactory. If we are lucky enough to have you with us again, please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. I will take this feedback to the team to improve our service, and we look forward to having you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The dream inn really takes care of all your needs. The service is exceptional and the rooms are clean with lots of light with incredible views. The restaurant is amazing for breakfast, lunch and dinner and room service is just as good. We enjoy relaxing by the pool or a walk down to the beach where you can have surf lesson, stand up paddle board, or boogie board. I highly recommend this destination for families.

Room Tip: Having a room by the pool is great when you have kids.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adigiesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

We appreciate your recommendation! We of course welcome all walks of life, but Santa Cruz is certainly one of the best family destinations in California! From the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk to a bike ride along West Cliff Dr. to see the historic lighthouse there is always something fun and exciting to do! We hope to provide the same level of exceptional service on your next visit to Santa Cruz!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was our first trip to the Dream Inn - with my 11 and 12 year old. We LOVED the location (walk to pier, boardwalk, beach, anywhere) and the room was spacious enough to fit a rollaway in addition to two comfy double (or queen?) beds. We loved going to sleep and waking up to the surf (loved the 3rd floor!). I don't usually care about a beach view, but it really made a difference here because you felt like you were on the beach. We had dinner at Aquarius, which had great kid and adult food, my kids spent 3 hours in the pool because so many kids were in town for the weekend for sports, etc. The hot tub was always hot enough despite the traffic, and the heated pool made a difference. The front desk staff and cleaners were excellent and, yes, I too was irritated by the 'surprise' $24 valet charge - they implied when I checked in it was free - maybe they just mean that whether I parked it myself or not it was $24. Nonetheless, we will be back. Beach view $455 which seemed steep but was worth it.

Room Tip: Go for the beach view - high floor not necessarily better because you are ON the beach!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! Our intent is to be very transparent regarding our $24 nightly parking charge. Please accept my apologizes for our miscommunication regarding this charge as the valet is no additonal cost over the self parking which is also $24. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After a very very long drive from Mammoth Lakes we were so pleased to walk into such a lovely room with amazing sea views. The rooms are the best thing about this hotel but be warned the rooms are not well insulated and this was the only hotel we stayed in during our 2 week touring holiday where you constantly had noise from other rooms. Another annoyance was the unadvertised $24 a day car parking charge! Very sneaky - just tell people in advance. Seeing dolphins playing in the sea right next to the beach at dusk helped remove the anger.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! Please forgive us for anhy miscommunication regarding our parking fee. While it is $24, we do occasionally offer packages which include parking in the rate. I am happy to hear that overall your experience was an enjoyable one, and we look forward to having you with us to watch the dolphins again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We flew into San Francisco on Wednesday May 8th and drove straight to the Dream Inn (well, actually via Safeway where we picked up some delicious chicken salad sandwiches - it was getting late and we didn't want to waste time sitting in a restaurant). Easy to find and very friendly staff helped us with our 4 suitcases.
Given that we were going to eat in our room, we were very pleased to find a perfect table with 2 chairs in the room. We could have eaten on the balcony but it was overcast and a bit cold.
The room was fine, the beds very comfortable, and it was great being able to leave the door to the balcony open and hear the waves crash on the beach.
The location was perfect - on the beach with walking distance to the Boardwalk (which we didn't do) and a lovely wharf with sealions and great ice-cream, which we did do.
Did I mention how friendly the staff are? In the morning after we left and were just driving around Santa Cruz I remembered I'd left a soft drink in the fridge. As we were near the hotel we went back to get it, and a lovely woman at reception insisted that I also take 2 bottles of water with me (complimentary of course).
Doug

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougWeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am happy to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one, despite the cold weather. The temperatures are heating up now that we have officially made it into summer, and we hope to have you back with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
472 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $267 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing