We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just got back from a 3-day trip to Santa Cruz (from our home in the CA High Sierras) where we stayed at the Dream Inn. This was a Travel Zoo deal - $139./night with $50. DAILY restaurant credit and free valet parking. Our room was on the 6th floor in the Tower - a GREAT view, as all other reviews have stated. Located right ON the beach. This time of year is very quiet and not crowded. We walked to the wharf, down the street to the Arcade where we played 18 holes of miniature golf and across the street to bowl a couple games. We drove over to UC Santa Cruz and what a beautiful school/setting!! We enjoyed the Grateful Dead museum-quality display in a room at their library. Also, we loved downtown Santa Cruz - some great shops and great eateries (with outside dining) - and movie theaters!
The staff at the Dream Inn is very friendly and hospitable. The restaurant was great and a great staff! We had lunch the first day, breakfast the second, and dinner the third and final night. Every meal was outstanding. Great clam chowder.
Can't wait to return and we'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Tower 6th floor or higher and away from pool (noise in summer) and elevators (c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodip630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for the detailed and fantastic 5 star review! Our TravelZoo promotion was certainly a great deal, and we look forward to having you back throughout the year and providing the same level of exceptional service you enjoyed on your last stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We decided on a quick getaway to Santa Cruz. Dream Inn was the perfect choice for a hotel. The location is perfect! It is right on the beach with beautiful views of the boardwalk. The hotel itself is clean, beautifully decorated, and well maintained. The staff was friendly, courteous, and responsive. They took very good care of us as they made sure we were comfortable and satisfied. We asked the valet for directions to a restaurant we were interested in trying and he offered to take us there in the hotel car since things were rather quiet in the hotel at that time. The room was clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed the time we spent at the hotel bar/restaurant.

Definitely a place I would recommend to anyone and most definitely a place I would love to go back to.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised on the decor of the hotel a retro 60's feel and very well decorated. We booked the Junior Suite and this is a beautiful room with a large table and couch with pull out bed. The only thing that would make it better is if the vanity was outside the bathroom. The view overlooking the beach was breathtaking and it also overlooks the salt water pool and spa. The pool was heated up to 85 which was nice after going into the cold ocean. The room had a single serve coffee maker but you may want to buy a large water from the liquor store across the road to make your coffee. Walking distance to the pier and the boardwalk. Wish we had known that the Beach Boardwalk was only open on the weekends during the spring. We still found plenty to do. Will come back again and stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cudiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Picked hotel because it was recently renovated and right on the beach. Had a beautiful balcony that overlooked the Santa Cruz pier. On the 4 th floor, so had no trouble with the noise from the beach, but did deal with noise from fellow travelers. The thin walls and very small bathrooms reminded us that it was built in a different era. The decor was retro late 60- early 70's, but very sharp and clean lines. Our only disappointment was the staff. The valets were friendly and helpful. But the front desk buried their heads in their computers every time we waked by. If you stared at them long enough, they would say "hi." When we asked for directions, the front desk person was very confused- instead of looking it up, he blundered on. We would stay here again, but the staff needs a bit extra training in hospitality.

Room Tip: Pick a suite for the balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is right in the heart of the Santa Cruz action! We stayed one night in February, and it turned out to be a wonderful trip-we wished we had longer. From the very friendly and speedy valet staff to the helpful check-in staff, everything was perfect. We got a 3rd floor room, which was perfect! The room is full of bright colors, cute furniture, and a nice mini-bar. The view from our room was amazing. The wharf right outside our door and the pool right below. It was a gorgeous, sunny day and the pool is heated. We spent most the day lounging on the pool deck, enjoying the pool and hot tub. You can even have food and drinks delivered to the pool if you don't want to got back to the room. It was great! I would highly recommend this beautiful property!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We also hope that next time your stay is a longer one! As we head into our peak season, come check out our newly rennovated pool bar-- great food, heated pool and ocean views-- what could be better?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed overnight on a Saturday and the staff, hotel and view were awesome! The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, including giving us an early check-in. They offered directions and suggestions on things to do in the area. We were on the 8th floor and the view was fantastic. We didn't get a chance to check out the pool but it looked great. The rooms are very modern and clean. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

We can't wait to have you back! Thank you for your 5 star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I love the Dream Inn. Have stayed now 3 times and always have a good experience at this hotel. Nice clean rooms, suites have views of the ocean, heated (salt water) pool. Close to everything. Didn't have to drive for 3 days that we were there.

Room Tip: I always get a suite. I prefer the rooms on the west side of the bldg, ending in 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finallyavacation29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for the 5 star review! I concur that a suite (usually only a $50 differential) is well worth it for the extra space! We look forward to your return sooner rather than later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
491 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $257 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing