We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, pretty rooms, introverted staff”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great views, pretty rooms, introverted staff”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Picked hotel because it was recently renovated and right on the beach. Had a beautiful balcony that overlooked the Santa Cruz pier. On the 4 th floor, so had no trouble with the noise from the beach, but did deal with noise from fellow travelers. The thin walls and very small bathrooms reminded us that it was built in a different era. The decor was retro late 60- early 70's, but very sharp and clean lines. Our only disappointment was the staff. The valets were friendly and helpful. But the front desk buried their heads in their computers every time we waked by. If you stared at them long enough, they would say "hi." When we asked for directions, the front desk person was very confused- instead of looking it up, he blundered on. We would stay here again, but the staff needs a bit extra training in hospitality.

Room Tip: Pick a suite for the balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    487
    183
    33
    35
See reviews for
668
577
53
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is right in the heart of the Santa Cruz action! We stayed one night in February, and it turned out to be a wonderful trip-we wished we had longer. From the very friendly and speedy valet staff to the helpful check-in staff, everything was perfect. We got a 3rd floor room, which was perfect! The room is full of bright colors, cute furniture, and a nice mini-bar. The view from our room was amazing. The wharf right outside our door and the pool right below. It was a gorgeous, sunny day and the pool is heated. We spent most the day lounging on the pool deck, enjoying the pool and hot tub. You can even have food and drinks delivered to the pool if you don't want to got back to the room. It was great! I would highly recommend this beautiful property!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We also hope that next time your stay is a longer one! As we head into our peak season, come check out our newly rennovated pool bar-- great food, heated pool and ocean views-- what could be better?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed overnight on a Saturday and the staff, hotel and view were awesome! The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, including giving us an early check-in. They offered directions and suggestions on things to do in the area. We were on the 8th floor and the view was fantastic. We didn't get a chance to check out the pool but it looked great. The rooms are very modern and clean. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We can't wait to have you back! Thank you for your 5 star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada city, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I love the Dream Inn. Have stayed now 3 times and always have a good experience at this hotel. Nice clean rooms, suites have views of the ocean, heated (salt water) pool. Close to everything. Didn't have to drive for 3 days that we were there.

Room Tip: I always get a suite. I prefer the rooms on the west side of the bldg, ending in 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finallyavacation29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! I concur that a suite (usually only a $50 differential) is well worth it for the extra space! We look forward to your return sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great location, especially for families. Surf lessons, boardwalk rides, white sand beach and ice cream cones on the wharf are all within walking distance. Excellent staff in all areas of the hotel. Room was clean with nice amenities. The decor has a fun retro vibe. Felt more like a place for young couples or families.

We were on the second floor (street level), right above the pool. The exterior hallway was somewhat open to the public and quite noisy. We could hear suitcases and housecleaning carts rolling across the tile floors at all hours. I would recommend trying to stay in rooms not directly over the pool, where the hall is enclosed. The pool was in use in March from 7:30 AM until 11 PM and a bit noisy in our room. The bed was quite comfy. The cushions on the sofa, which had a pull out sofa in it, were always sliding all over the place and not very comfortable to sit in. Just enough room for the two of us to sit on the patio and enjoy our wine with the sunset.

Santa Cruz is a fantastic place to play with your kids, but there is a seedy side to it too. Twice our neighbors were smoking pot on their patio, which was quite annoying. Two security guards were strolling the pool area periodically, which made me a bit concerned about the area. I ran down to the liquor store across the street at 8 PM on a Saturday and there were quite a few drunks getting loud out front. Not sure I would want my teenage kids hanging out here alone at night. Two very attractive and quite made up young ladies were knocking on our door at midnight. I didn't open the door, but they ended up going in next door. Thought that was a bit strange too. I should have probably reported all of this to the management, but having spent numerous summers here as a kid, I just took it as part of the Santa Cruz experience.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms above the pool. We were in room 211 and would not recommend this room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilarystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Superb staff. Goes out of their way to make you comfortable. A truly wonderful location ... right on the beach, fall asleep and wake up to ocean waves. Just can't beat it. Walk along the beach sunrise or sunset. Sales staff worked extra hard to be sure our group of 13 were accommodated and comfortable. Went the extra distance to be sure maps for the campus where the meeting was to be held was available for each traveler. Staff is kind, courteous, and efficient. This staff is a perfect example of how customer service should be ... you care about the customer's decision to stay with you.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean .... don't like the ocean, don't stay here :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We certainly hope to provide the same level of exceptional service on your next stay. Until then, enjoy the memories of the ocean views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

A wonderful location for a hotel in Santa Cruz. Close to downtown and right by the wharf with a great view. Can't beat the view. The sound of the waves provides a great white noise for a comfortable sleep. Rooms are nice and efficient. They seem to have what you need in a hotel room. Service is great and hotel restaurant is a very nice plus.

Room Tip: Have a cup of coffee in the morning in the room balcony and enjoy the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mungo777Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
I wanted to thank you for your recent 5 star review! I myself can't seem to start the day without a cup of coffee, and there is no better way than watching the sunrise over the Monterey Bay, cup in hand! We hope to have you back again soon to provide the same level of exceptional service. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing