We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Immaculate, modern hotel, amazing beachfront location and five mins walk from the boardwalk park. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We had to change plans and leave a night early and they not only permitted us to do so without paying for the final night, but helped us get it resolved via the booking agent. Extremely impressive place and personnel. Heated pool actually was heated, and the in-room dining we had was high quality. Only tiny drawback of the hotel - sometimes noisy because walls are thin. But overall, definitely somewhere to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjamesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and great review! We strive to provide a level of service second to none and it appears as though we succeeded on your recent stay. Until next time we hope you enjoy a festive and fun Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    394
    145
    29
    31
See reviews for
461
479
45
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location overlooking the Santa Cruz pier right on the wide sandy beach. The rooms all have an ocean view, are comfortable and nicely appointed. Loved the old 70's album covers on the wall...fun remembrances! We came back here to stay for a local wedding, my two teenage daughters loved it last year and again this fall. Staff is great, very helpful. Easy walking out on the wharf, downtown Santa Cruz, or a great walkway (run!) along the ocean. Tons of stuff to do!! In house "Aquarius" restaurant has very good food and service, nice bar. Easy walking to lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: Suites have a door between ocean facing bedroom and "rear" sitting room which makes it gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikeMore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am glad to hear you loved the retro-chic decor! We look forward to providing the same level of exceptional service on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love the place, even though it's too expensive in my opinion. I stay here several times each Summer/Fall. Falling asleep with the sound of the ocean is wonderful. Pool service is a pleasure and the beach access is terrific.

Room Tip: Most people like the highest floors, 10 being the highest, but I like the first floor near the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your positive 5 star review! It is certainly hard to beat the ocean view, and being 15 feet off the sand as you mentioned completes the experience. We'll look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dream inn is a great place..
Every room is ocean view... A great place to relax..There is so much to do. Nice heated pool.. Beautiful sandy beach. So many restaurants to choose from. Lots of shops in walking distance..
You will love it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are all about making sure we provide a relaxing environment so that your stay is an enjoyable one. From the heated to pool to the sandy beaches, I am glad to see that we hit the mark on your recent stay. Stop back in again soon, and we'll look forward to providing the same level of exceptional service-- don't be afraid to pamper yourself with room service on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel was very nice with balconies overlooking the ocean. The beds were comfortable. Our room was on the top floor and we didn't hear too much noise from the hallways so it was quiet which was good. The location is nice. It's a quick walk to the wharf and boardwalk. The beach is right outside the hotel. The pool and spa are all nice amenities as well.

My friend was able to get another room when she asked and both of us were able to get late check outs with out a problem. The valet was also very quick.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lzzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your outstanding review! I am happy to hear that the valet services met with your satisfaction and we look forward to providing the same great view and exceptional service on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

So, my boyfriend and i just returned from spending a single night there in one of their suites. The location is really convenient, the rooms are just beautiful and the staff is very friendly. There were a few suuuuper minor things (they didn't call us when the room was ready, the fireplace didn't work and they never sent anyone to come fix it when we called) that took place, but honestly, they were so inconsequential that the experience was still perfect.

Well, they sent out an online survey and my boyfriend noted the very few things that could have been improved but made sure it was clear we still really had a grand time there. Since the online survey, he's been called twice with apologies, sent an email, and had the entire cost of the room comped. He protested since comping was completely unnecessary, but they insisted. This place is AWESOME!!

Seriously, if you are staying at any hotel in Santa Cruz, stay here. They are totally committed to your happiness and making sure you enjoy your stay. Hands down, the next time we're in Santa Cruz, we'll be back to the Dream Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your 5 out of 5 star review! We look forward to having you with us again the next time you are in Santa Cruz. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a business meeting at the Dream Inn and were able to get rooms right at the hotel for a very reasonable rate. It was an excellent value for the money spent. It had everything we needed and rooms right on the beach. Unfortunately we did not get to stay long enough to experience everything the property had to offer, but the staff and amenities were excellent. Even when we had some confusion about our valet parking, it was quickly resolved. Nothing is perfect, but the customer service we received after was excellent. We hope to go back for a longer stay to enjoy all of the amenities. The live jazz in the lounge was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwrfshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Glad to hear you loved the Jazz, and we'll look forward to having you back for a more leisure based stay on your next trip to Santa Cruz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing