We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Relaxing”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location overlooking the Santa Cruz pier right on the wide sandy beach. The rooms all have an ocean view, are comfortable and nicely appointed. Loved the old 70's album covers on the wall...fun remembrances! We came back here to stay for a local wedding, my two teenage daughters loved it last year and again this fall. Staff is great, very helpful. Easy walking out on the wharf, downtown Santa Cruz, or a great walkway (run!) along the ocean. Tons of stuff to do!! In house "Aquarius" restaurant has very good food and service, nice bar. Easy walking to lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: Suites have a door between ocean facing bedroom and "rear" sitting room which makes it gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikeMore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

I am glad to hear you loved the retro-chic decor! We look forward to providing the same level of exceptional service on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love the place, even though it's too expensive in my opinion. I stay here several times each Summer/Fall. Falling asleep with the sound of the ocean is wonderful. Pool service is a pleasure and the beach access is terrific.

Room Tip: Most people like the highest floors, 10 being the highest, but I like the first floor near the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your positive 5 star review! It is certainly hard to beat the ocean view, and being 15 feet off the sand as you mentioned completes the experience. We'll look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dream inn is a great place..
Every room is ocean view... A great place to relax..There is so much to do. Nice heated pool.. Beautiful sandy beach. So many restaurants to choose from. Lots of shops in walking distance..
You will love it!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We are all about making sure we provide a relaxing environment so that your stay is an enjoyable one. From the heated to pool to the sandy beaches, I am glad to see that we hit the mark on your recent stay. Stop back in again soon, and we'll look forward to providing the same level of exceptional service-- don't be afraid to pamper yourself with room service on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel was very nice with balconies overlooking the ocean. The beds were comfortable. Our room was on the top floor and we didn't hear too much noise from the hallways so it was quiet which was good. The location is nice. It's a quick walk to the wharf and boardwalk. The beach is right outside the hotel. The pool and spa are all nice amenities as well.

My friend was able to get another room when she asked and both of us were able to get late check outs with out a problem. The valet was also very quick.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lzzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your outstanding review! I am happy to hear that the valet services met with your satisfaction and we look forward to providing the same great view and exceptional service on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

So, my boyfriend and i just returned from spending a single night there in one of their suites. The location is really convenient, the rooms are just beautiful and the staff is very friendly. There were a few suuuuper minor things (they didn't call us when the room was ready, the fireplace didn't work and they never sent anyone to come fix it when we called) that took place, but honestly, they were so inconsequential that the experience was still perfect.

Well, they sent out an online survey and my boyfriend noted the very few things that could have been improved but made sure it was clear we still really had a grand time there. Since the online survey, he's been called twice with apologies, sent an email, and had the entire cost of the room comped. He protested since comping was completely unnecessary, but they insisted. This place is AWESOME!!

Seriously, if you are staying at any hotel in Santa Cruz, stay here. They are totally committed to your happiness and making sure you enjoy your stay. Hands down, the next time we're in Santa Cruz, we'll be back to the Dream Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your 5 out of 5 star review! We look forward to having you with us again the next time you are in Santa Cruz. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a business meeting at the Dream Inn and were able to get rooms right at the hotel for a very reasonable rate. It was an excellent value for the money spent. It had everything we needed and rooms right on the beach. Unfortunately we did not get to stay long enough to experience everything the property had to offer, but the staff and amenities were excellent. Even when we had some confusion about our valet parking, it was quickly resolved. Nothing is perfect, but the customer service we received after was excellent. We hope to go back for a longer stay to enjoy all of the amenities. The live jazz in the lounge was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwrfshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Glad to hear you loved the Jazz, and we'll look forward to having you back for a more leisure based stay on your next trip to Santa Cruz!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stay at the Dream Inn every year during August/September. We love this hotel because every room has an ocean view with a balcony or patio. If you want to stay near the Boardwalk and wharf, there is no better hotel. However, you will pay for it. These rooms are not cheap during peak season. However, if you watch their website, there is usually a small window of time where they offer reduced rates. We were able to book our room at $246 per night. The rates at the time we went average $309 on up. The rooms are very clean and the service is great. We were upgraded to a cloud room. The only additional ammenities are upgraded salon formula toiletries, complimentary binoculars (souvenir to keep), chocolates, and nightly turndown. We welcome these small additional amenities. We always ask for an additional refrigerator to keep our snacks and drinks and they bring us one at no charge. I am disappointed that they now charge $20 per day for parking. This hotel has had free parking for years. Even so, I highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind the rates. I think the rates are worth the location and experience.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are the best location. Pool area can get loud. Pool is always nice and warm. Bar alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocohead32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

While we may not be the cheapest hotel in Santa Cruz we strive to provide an unmatched value through our location and amenities, but more importantly through service. We believe in providing excellent service, and am happy to see that we hit the mark on your recent stay. As you mentioned, the good news is that we are entering our shoudler season, so call, click or stop on in and we'll look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
543 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
98 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $196 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing