We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Truckee, California
1 review
“Above and Beyond”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I recently went through trying times with two of our children being hospitalized within the same week and we really needed a break. We contacted Dream Inn for an overnight stay...the front desk person, Christopher, was so nice. He went above and beyond to make our one night visit feel like a real vacation. We really needed it! The room was amazing, and they let check out at 3! Thank you sooo much Dream Inn! We will be back and recommend Dream Inn to all our friends:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your positive feeback regading Christopher! We are lucky to have someone so thoughtful on our staff. Hopefully you will be able to join us again soon under better circumstances and enjoy the same amazing view and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    458
    170
    29
    34
See reviews for
581
560
51
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We hardly slept as the doors on our floor we slamming all night, i don't think people were intentionally slamming the doors you just couldn't shut them quietly. The view from the 10th was the only highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomsquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

And, what a make over! Folks who remember the Dream Inn of yesteryear will be amazed - the only thing the same is the great location. We were attending a friends 80th (!) birthday party in Santa Cruz so decided to splurge on a hotel for the night. It was pricey, but the room was beautiful and the view of the Wharf, BoardWalk, Monterey Bay was spectacular. Nice bed, big balcony with chairs and a table, and plenty of room to spread out. Nice!

Room Tip: I'm sure that all of the balconies have a good view - our view from the 9th floor was spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer100SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

we stayed on the 9th floor. every room has an ocean view, We went to bed hearing the ocean crash on the beach & we were woken up with the sun in our eyes. We were on the North tip of Monteray & we were actually facing East. Surprised me. Stayed 2 nights, great beds but the pillows could be better, They did not have foam pillows which we had requsted on reservation.
Beautiful pool area w/ large beach towels in room. Showerhead was large rain type with good pressure. nice balconey with 2 chairs & table. Pleasant to sit & have glass of wine

Room Tip: upper floors in tower section have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward02494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
It is a rare exception to be on the west coast and see a sunrise to be sure! As we face almost due south as we slip into the winter months a treat is to watch the sunrise over the pacific ocean. We look forward to having you come experience the view with that glass of wine soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at 8 different hotels/inns on our PCH trip and the Dream Inn was one of my favorites.

I have to mention Christopher....I actually spoke to him before our vacation because we decided to change our plans so we could be in Santa Cruz when the amusements were open. He phoned me immediately upon receiving my e-mail and switched our reservation and best of all gave us the same great rate even though we were staying on the Sunday night of Columbus day weekend.

Upon checking in I was thrilled to see that it was again Christopher that was helping me. He is very polite and helpful and truly seemed interested in our "roadtrip". He was definitely the most helpful "check-in" person of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip. So give him a raise or something! lol

We had a 2nd floor room in the tower building. I LOVE the decor! The room had a king sized bed and very modern furniture and accessories. It was very clean and comfortable. I wish we had been able to stay 2 nights but they were sold out on Saturday night.

We walked down to the amusements, sadly they close at 7pm which is really too bad because at 7 it was still bustling with people. Of course we rode the Giant Dipper!

We are New Englander's so we were thrilled that the bar on the corner (same side as the Dream Inn) was showing every NFL game. We were able to enjoy the Pat's game along with our "new" friends from Santa Cruz....it was a fun time!

The next morning we walked onto the wharf and had breakfast at Glenda's (I believe that was the name, sorry I forgot) It was very good.

I highly recommend the Dream Inn if you're planning a visit to Santa Cruz, it's a great hotel with a fantastic location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkelly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Christopher is certainly one of our superstars at the front desk-- and thank you for positively recognizing his hard work. I can understand that being located on the east coast, you may not have an opportunity to visit us frequently, but we will look forward to having you with us on your next westward trip! Feel free to give us a call before hand and we can get you the most up to date information concerning the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk hours of operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I normally dont write reviews but since I have been basing my stay at hotels off of them I am taking the time to do it. This is a great place! They said it was recently renovated, and this was our first time staying here. We are from Monterey area so not far but felt like a little vacation!. Nice clean and fun. We had a second floor room w/balcony overlooking beach. Close walk to pier with restaruant & shops and boardwalk. Friendly staff and valet. Planning another trip!! Didnt get a chance to eat at the hotel restaruant Aquarius...next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2005lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are honored that you would take the time to give us such a positive review. Your experience is what we strive to achieve for all of our guests. We look forward to your next trip when hopefully you can try and enjoy Aquarius as much as the Dream Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well located hotel on the beach and within easy walking distance of the pier and boardwalk. Styled in a 60s/70s retro style, rooms are big with modern bathrooms. Nice heated pool and hot-tub open from 7am for an early dip. Quality hotel which charges for the location.

Main shops/restaurants about half a mile up Pacific Avenue from the pier – be aware the lower end is somewhat run down and attracts its fare share of homeless people. Perhaps wise to avoid in the evening if on your own.

Car parking in an open lot across the road ($22 a day self park).

Room Tip: For a quieter room seek a higher floor and away from te elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sotongirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for the 4 star review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the retro-chic decor, and look forward to having you with us again soon. Next time feel free to use the valet parking which is the same cost as self parking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing