We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, quality hotel”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well located hotel on the beach and within easy walking distance of the pier and boardwalk. Styled in a 60s/70s retro style, rooms are big with modern bathrooms. Nice heated pool and hot-tub open from 7am for an early dip. Quality hotel which charges for the location.

Main shops/restaurants about half a mile up Pacific Avenue from the pier – be aware the lower end is somewhat run down and attracts its fare share of homeless people. Perhaps wise to avoid in the evening if on your own.

Car parking in an open lot across the road ($22 a day self park).

Room Tip: For a quieter room seek a higher floor and away from te elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sotongirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for the 4 star review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the retro-chic decor, and look forward to having you with us again soon. Next time feel free to use the valet parking which is the same cost as self parking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the Dream Inn a few days ago and was really amazed at the beautiful views of the beach and ocean from every balcony. You can sit on your private balcony and hear the relaxing sound of the surf, or go down a few steps from the pool to walk on the beach. The rooms are nice and very clean. We enjoyed the nice shower head in the bathroom. Upon arrival we were checked in by Pamela, who was especially nice and friendly. We were upgraded to a double queen room on the second floor, which was better than the Expedia reservation of a king bed on the first floor. This hotel is one of the only on the beach so it is convient to not only the beach, but to the Wharf and Boardwalk. We found many wonderful shops and restaurants within a few blocks. Pamela made sure we had a map of the area so we could venture downtown. Loved this place and would recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach. The first floor is handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We always recommend booking directly through the hotel so that your interaction with the staff is as exceptional as the one you recieved from Pamela. We look forward to providing the same level of exceptional service on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The view of the ocean was stupendous and the sound of surf was wonderful. we enjoyed our balcony view of the beach and listening to the waves crash ashore as we fell asleep or woke in the morning. The location was great too - close to beach, Boardwalk, Pleasure Point, the wharf, and to downtown. The room is neat - very retro - a few things might need some fixing which might be because we came in on the 'off season' after a busy high season. The bed, the lines and the towels were all top notch. Overall, we liked our stay and our meal at the downstairs restaurant. Only negative was the partying crowd on the floor upstairs....we should have called the front desk sooner,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dascoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

So Glad to hear you loved the retro-chic decor, and we agree you can't beat the location! Next time you are with us, let the front desk know about any issue and they are happy to resolve it in a timely manner. Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

On a recent road trip I ended up with a friend in Santa Cruz with no reservation on a Friday night. We shared a room and were told we were "upgraded" this is really a basic motel that has been a little bit jazzed up. It was pleasant enough but we paid $420 for a twin room. That is nuts! The staff were very helpful and the dinner in Aquarius restaurant was very nice BUt value for money is awful. I would recommend if you could get same room for $200 p night as its not worth more but we had no choice.....

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Oldskooltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

We are so glad to hear you had a nice meal at Aquarius! Visit us during our shoulder season to get the best rates and the same great service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

location is great, however room was average. bedding was worn and bathrobes had holes in them. room was nothing special and parking is $22 a day. compared to other jdv hotels, this one has been the worst.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice staff, awesome views and ideal location made this a most enjoyable stay. SUPER staff are helpful and this hotel overlooks the boardwalk, so it is within walking distance of so many things to see and do. Beautiful views of Monterey Bay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zendeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

So glad that you had such a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

All rooms are on the water. Incredible Service, unbelivable views, great locations. Great room and amenities, I have been staying her for over 5 years. Always current and looks brand new. Elegant with laid back feel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet_M45992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We look forward to many more of your stays over the next 5 years! Thank you for your great recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $223 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing