We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome beachfront hotel in Santa Cruz, CA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome beachfront hotel in Santa Cruz, CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the Dream Inn a few days ago and was really amazed at the beautiful views of the beach and ocean from every balcony. You can sit on your private balcony and hear the relaxing sound of the surf, or go down a few steps from the pool to walk on the beach. The rooms are nice and very clean. We enjoyed the nice shower head in the bathroom. Upon arrival we were checked in by Pamela, who was especially nice and friendly. We were upgraded to a double queen room on the second floor, which was better than the Expedia reservation of a king bed on the first floor. This hotel is one of the only on the beach so it is convient to not only the beach, but to the Wharf and Boardwalk. We found many wonderful shops and restaurants within a few blocks. Pamela made sure we had a map of the area so we could venture downtown. Loved this place and would recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach. The first floor is handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We always recommend booking directly through the hotel so that your interaction with the staff is as exceptional as the one you recieved from Pamela. We look forward to providing the same level of exceptional service on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    401
    149
    29
    31
See reviews for
470
485
46
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The view of the ocean was stupendous and the sound of surf was wonderful. we enjoyed our balcony view of the beach and listening to the waves crash ashore as we fell asleep or woke in the morning. The location was great too - close to beach, Boardwalk, Pleasure Point, the wharf, and to downtown. The room is neat - very retro - a few things might need some fixing which might be because we came in on the 'off season' after a busy high season. The bed, the lines and the towels were all top notch. Overall, we liked our stay and our meal at the downstairs restaurant. Only negative was the partying crowd on the floor upstairs....we should have called the front desk sooner,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dascoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
So Glad to hear you loved the retro-chic decor, and we agree you can't beat the location! Next time you are with us, let the front desk know about any issue and they are happy to resolve it in a timely manner. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

On a recent road trip I ended up with a friend in Santa Cruz with no reservation on a Friday night. We shared a room and were told we were "upgraded" this is really a basic motel that has been a little bit jazzed up. It was pleasant enough but we paid $420 for a twin room. That is nuts! The staff were very helpful and the dinner in Aquarius restaurant was very nice BUt value for money is awful. I would recommend if you could get same room for $200 p night as its not worth more but we had no choice.....

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldskooltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are so glad to hear you had a nice meal at Aquarius! Visit us during our shoulder season to get the best rates and the same great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

location is great, however room was average. bedding was worn and bathrobes had holes in them. room was nothing special and parking is $22 a day. compared to other jdv hotels, this one has been the worst.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank subookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, VA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice staff, awesome views and ideal location made this a most enjoyable stay. SUPER staff are helpful and this hotel overlooks the boardwalk, so it is within walking distance of so many things to see and do. Beautiful views of Monterey Bay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zendeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
So glad that you had such a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

All rooms are on the water. Incredible Service, unbelivable views, great locations. Great room and amenities, I have been staying her for over 5 years. Always current and looks brand new. Elegant with laid back feel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_M45992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We look forward to many more of your stays over the next 5 years! Thank you for your great recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Every summer we have a group that try to get away for a few days to the Dream Inn. The stay is always refreshing and relaxing. The staff is attentive, acccomodating and kind. The food is delicious in the restaurant. Rooms are retro; all the usual amentities; comfy beds and every room has a balcony and view of the ocean. Pool is outside facing beach and poolside service is great too! Location is on the beach next door to boardwalk. Of course, you pay a little extra for the location. Ideal setting! Love to getaway to Dream Inn, Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: Every room faces the ocean. Some rooms have pool access. If you don't like heights don't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktbeezmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Dream Inn - we look forward to seeing all of you again next summer for another "dreamy" stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.1 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing