We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in a Great Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location in a Great Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I went here in August and loved the place. It was a nice hotel, and conveniently located. The area is very laid back / hippie style. The hotel is very nice and is directly on the ocean. We would go back and loved everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsimon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Joanna P. Guest Services at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Great news - we are so happy to have exceeded your expectations and that you loved everything about us! We look forward to welcoming you back VERY soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    384
    140
    28
    31
See reviews for
453
470
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The good:
1) on the beach. Literally. No other hotel in Santa Cruz is on the actual beach. They may be on a cliff over the beach but not on it.
2) the view is great as long as you are floor 2 or higher. You can see the boardwalk, pier etc... Pier is a two mon walk and worth it to see all the sea lions and we saw dolphins. The boardwalk is a 5 min walk.
3) the staff is very friendly and professional
4) the rooms are updated with a retro vibe and they are clean
5) nice pool

The bad:
1) the rooms carry a lot of noise. Luckily we did not have rowdy neighbors but you can hear doors close etc...

Overall if I go back to Santa Cruz I will 100% stay here. It was 85 degrees for most of our visit in September which was amazing. Rare but amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.....right on the beach in Santa Cruz! September and October are always great months to visit with lovely warm sunny days. How great that you got to see dolphins - earlier this year we were actually whale watching from the guestroom balconies! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great location, helpful staff and a comfortable room with a view. All that at a great location! We stayed here with our family and the proximity to the wharf and the board walk was a real plus, not to mention the place is right on the beach! I will stay here again if I am ever back in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Great to hear about the wonderful family stay you enjoyed with us. The Santa Cruz Wharf and the Boardwalk amusement park are both within walking distance and it's just great to be able to park, stay and play all in one spot. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the moment of arrival, the excellent bell staff and front desk were welcoming, helpful, and friendly...even at the late hour. The rooms are a fun mix of California casual and beach house; light and bright, which really compliments the views and open air feel of the room. Nicely appointed with a mini fridge, coffee maker (with nice coffee options as well as teas), and a safe. The bath is well appointed and has a great shower, good water pressure, and an interesting choice in towels; many have complained about their roughness...but that also fits with the whole beach theme...think of them as offering an invigorating rub down and you'll be perfectly happy!
The best thing about the room? The balcony! With table and chairs, lots of room to move around, and an excellent panoramic view of the harbor, it's one of the best options in the area. The adjoining restaurant had wonderful lunch options, but as I only ate in the comfortable lounge area, I can't speak to the main restaurant. Will definitely return again and highly recommend it to others for a great vacation, even for families. Some noise came in from the open hallway, but not excessive during my visit.

Room Tip: Choose the tower rooms to the right of the front desk, up and away from the main pool area, as it ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Rooms Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive and complimentary review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and intend to return. I highly recommend ordering a sunrise breakfast to enjoy on your balcony on your next visit. Watching the sun's rays as they cast over the ocean in the mornings is pretty amazing! Thank you for recommending us to others - we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had an amazing dinner at Dream Inn, I had some beautiful scallops with a mushroom pasta dish…

But my Husband totally out menu’d me with his choice of fried chicken with mac and cheese,
then at the end as a nod to the seaside fairground location they gave us some candy floss for dessert.

We were only there for 1 short night and morning but I couldn’t fault it, I loved our room and would really love to visit during the summer. I think it would be a really fun place to have a break. The staff upgraded us and send Processco and choclate strawberries to our room too!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SupaSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed a special getaway with us at the Dream Inn. Our onsite Restaurant Aquarius has just rolled out some brand new menu items for lunch & dinner, from our Chef Brian Drosneros. There are some absolutely wonderful offerings, and of course, the house made mac n' cheese is still a good ole’ favorite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Ideally located right on the beach. Clean and safe. Great service. Delicious breakfast. Will go back when it's warmer out to enjoy the water. Right near the boardwalk. Not too darfrom down town. And located on west cliff drive. Perfect for walks or running with a view.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterwomanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Rooms Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

September and October are perfect months to enjoy Santa Cruz. The weather is great this time of year - although the ocean water itself doesn't get too much warmer!
We do look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

One of the better hotels to stay at in Santa Cruz with an excellent location to the beach, pier and amusement park. A stylish and modern hotel with a balcony and stunning sea views towards the sea. Drinks consumed preferably next to the pool and the jacuzzi, absolutely wonderful way to relax. The staff seemed a bit too friendly and was very relaxed with the typical surfer's look. Works in Santa Cruz perhaps.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rld9, Rooms Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed our wonderful ocean view pool & jacuzzi during your stay. Our pool bar serves wonderful cocktails and offers a great menu selection during the summer season. I am glad that you found our staff too friendly :) Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#2 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. We're getting ready to make a splash. Our beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation from December 1, 2014 through March 12, 2015. We look forward to reopening with upgraded amenities and design, plus a hot tub more luxurious than ever before-all steps from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing