We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”
Review of Santa Cruz Diner

Santa Cruz Diner
Ranked #18 of 372 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great little diner! As you drive into Santa Cruz off of Hwy 17 you will see it on the right hand side! You can't miss it! We stopped to have lunch and we were not disappointed! We were promptly seated and ordered. I had coffee with the Mexican omelet I want to say but it was cooked in a pan. It was excellent! It was ground beef topped off with three eggs, cheese and then salsa topping it off and it was tasty! My friend had 3 egg breakfast which he enjoyed but not as much as this Mexican pan dish! I have no complaints, the service was excellent, food was great! The décor was eclectic and quirky but hey! it's Santa Cruz it was expected!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TOPSPIN_2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    142
    87
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stopped by this diner after 8 pm as we were hungry after a long day of sight seeing all over the region. The wait staff were very friendly and fast. The food was great quality for the price. Both my partner and I were happy with our meals. I would definitely go back if I return to Santa Cruz again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
458 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Above Average Diner, Good Food, Decent Prices”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Santa Cruz diner is a nice little place to get good food at a decent price, the service is usually very good, the portions are fair sized, and the prices are decent. Nice little place that the locals visit as well, a bit of a cross between a Denny's and Marie Calenders ... Good place to grab breakfast or to take the kids for casual dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
388 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I tried this place for the first time today. It was just ok, kind of a greasy spoon. It's not my kinda place, but I think there people out there that love this kind of food, I'm not one of them. I had the spinach salad with salmon on top, it was ok. The service was good, I have to give them that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Diner”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Santa Cruz Diner is a place to go for great relaxation while you eat. The building has not been updated for awhile which gives it a unique flavor--the men's bathroom is quite grungy. The food is very good, service is right on (they warn you it could take some time on busy days), and prices are inexpensive. While waiting for food there is a lot of stuff on the walls that needs looking at. Nice place to kick back and eat well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Cruz Diner also viewed

 

Been to Santa Cruz Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing