We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a quiet part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place in a quiet part of town”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The location is a few minutes from the center of town by car. It is very quiet, and just a block up from a very nice public beach. Breakfast was very good (fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon, potatoes, coffee) and the owner was very nice. Bathroom floor and heated floors, which was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmaass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Gmaass, thank you for staying at Bella Notte and writing a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. A lot of guests love our breakfast ~ catered by our friends at the Britannia Arms in Capitola and Gayles Bakery. We also get a lot of positive feedback on the heated floors in all our bathrooms - something we have never seen in any other hotel. We've even had one guest go as far as to say they wanted to sleep on the heated bathroom floor it was so nice! We hope you'll come visit us again if your travels brings you back to Santa Cruz. Best wishes, Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    59
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
140
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Bella Notte is a refreshing (and big) step up from chain motels and the slew of overpriced budget motels in this very popular beach town. First off, the staff of the Bella Notte is attentive, friendly, and informative. Although we were very familiar with the area, having lived not far away for several years, the desk staff and owners were always ready with a suggestion for outings.

Our room on the second floor of this compact lodging, was large and inviting. Linens were clean and comfortable, the bed was perfect, and there were plenty of pillows, blankets and towels. Even though the inn is smack on East Cliff Drive, we found the nights quiet and peaceful, despite the fact that we sleep with the windows open.

Breakfast was fantastic. One morning we were provided with egg and bacon sandwiches, in addition to the normal offerings of yogurt, fruit, and pastries from Gayle's Bakery. On other mornings we found ample servings of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and potatoes. One of the most delicious breakfast offerings around, IMHO.

On site parking was available and there seems to be a fair amount of street parking nearby.

While some might find the location a little out of the way (not sure how anything could really be out of the way in a town this small), the inn is surprisingly central to anywhere you want to go. You can walk two blocks to Black's beach and a little farther to other beaches stretching from Black's to Pleasure Point.. It's a quick drive to the beach boardwalk, Pacific Ave., or to the more suburban shopping along 41st Ave. Capitola by the Sea is minutes away by car, if that suits your fancy. If you're looking for an extremely pleasant stay in pristine lodgings in a relatively quiet setting, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marksmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for noticing all the things we've done to try and make Bella Notte our guests first choice when visiting Santa Cruz. Before the start of this years busy season we added triple pane windows to all street facing windows and extra heavy (sound blocking) doors to block as much street noise as possible to ensure our guests get a good night sleep. We have many other updates in the works and are sure you'll notice those next time you are in town and hopefully come visit us again. Regards, Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We loved this hotel. Not only was it super cute but was in a very good area which was not as congested as staying closer to the pier.

Only drawback is there is not many restaurants close by open for lunch but other than that we loved its location.

We will stay here again if we ever go to Santa Cruz again.

Room Tip: ask for upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Annette, thank you for choosing Bella Notte and taking the time to write a review. We too think two blocks from the beach and half way between downtown Santa Cruz and Capitola by The Sea is a great location. While we do not have a huge number of restaurants close by we do have two Italian restaurants, one Mexican and one Hawaiian grill all within easy walking distance. A 15 minute walk (or 3 minute drive away) is one of Santa Cruz's most popular restaurant's the Crow's Nest ~ located on the beach at the mouth of the Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Santa Cruz. Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay in room 3. This room had more counter space for snacks, luggage, etc than any other hotel we have ever stayed in! The bed was comfortable, and everything was very clean and quiet. The heated floor in the bathroom was wonderful! Probably the best part of our stay was the breakfast! There was a great assortment of food. The fresh fruit, scones, scrambled eggs, and fried potatoes were especially good. What struck me was the attention to detail at this hotel. The owners obviously care about having a quality eatablishment that caters to their guests. The only negative is that it was not close to many activities (restaurants, Boardwalk/wharf, downtown). However, you can access a beach in about a 7 minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear IU92, thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to share your experience with a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast courtesy of our friends at the Britannia Arms and Gayles Bakery in Capitola. We hope you'll keep us in mind if your travels bring you back to California. Sincerely Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Bella Notte Inn for four nights while exploring the area. The hotel is on a main road but our room was extremely comfortable and quiet. It was very spacious and well appointed with a wet bar, refrigerator and a coffee maker. There were also good quality toiletries and plush robes. Our room (number 8) also had a walk in robe.
The owners were very helpful and were a mine of information.
An ample hot breakfast was included and there were a couple of good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear MGA. Thank you for choosing Bella Notte and taking the time to share your experience with a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your trip to the US was good. Room 8 is one of our favorites and we've even had guests tell us the walk in closet is big enough to put an extra bed/person - not that we'd recommend that. All the best, Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A first class hotel in walking distance of the Santa Cruz beach and with an excellent Italian restaurant just across the road. Owned by an Englishman from Hertfordshire, this new hotel represents good value for money and proves you usually get what you pay for. We stayed just the one night but enjoyed it immensely. Staff are very helpful and rooms are well equipped with modern appliances including a vigorous spa bath. Breakfast is served in the lobby and has hot food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jerry, it was a pleasure meeting you and your wife. Thank you for choosing Bella Notte. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to the United States and have some good memories of Santa Cruz. We too enjoy Lago di Como (the Italian restaurant just down the street), Star Bene (the Italian/Argentinian almost next door), Taqueria Michocan and Aloha Grill just down the street on 17th Ave. And for the hot breakfast each day we have the Britannia Arms in Capitola to thank - no fried mushrooms or tomatoes, but close to a good traditional English breakfast. After looking up Hayling Island I think we'll have to make a trip there on our next trip back to England. Best Wishes, Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spacious room, soft linens, heated bathroom floor, high quality toiletries, good in-room coffee, and convenient location. Parking is very easy and free wifi hot spots were plentiful. We simply needed a room for the night and this far surpassed our expectations. It's not cheap, but the price reflected the value and we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #3 on the first floor and occasionally heard people walking upstairs. It wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Justine, Thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come see us again if your travels bring you back to Santa Cruz. Regarding noise from upstairs we plan to work with a sound engineer and contractor to address those issues in the upcoming slow season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,463 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Property: Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Address: 21305 E Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-4839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary hot breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing