We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Neath South wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“what a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fantastic welcome the owner had been to south wales it really is a small world.A gem of an hotel and a great breakfast .well worth a visit.This is only a short drive from the boardwalk.Santa cruz is really so old fashioned well away from any commercial reality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexNeathSouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Alex, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte. It was a pleasure meeting you. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bella Notte and Santa Cruz in general and wish you safe travels! Best wishes, Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    58
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
141
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Although our selection of the Bella Notte Inn was a last minute event and covered only a single night, we were very pleased with our choice. The room was of good size, very finely appointed, cozy and very clean. The bathroom came with a tub and shower and was well appointed. The location was excellent; very close to several restaurants and a local food market as well as to the beach and nearby harbor.
The hostess/receptionist was very helpful with advice regarding eating choices and, as the room was up one flight, even kindly offered to help me with our luggage. It was unnecessary, but the offer, sincerely made, was greatly appreciated.
Although a prior commitment kept us from enjoying the breakfast, the other guests seemed very pleased with it.
I feel very comfortable in highly recommending this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embucado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Adrienne, thank you for your review of Bella Notte. We are happy you found us but sad to hear you could only stay one night. We were also happy to hear our front desk staff where of some help and hope you'll keep us in mind if you travels bring you back to Santa Cruz. Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

In July, we reserved some rooms at Bella Notte for a beach wedding on East Cliff Drive. They were so helpful during the wedding planning, offering ideas to make the wedding day go well. It was great to park at the hotel and just walk to the beach. Clean, spacious rooms ... plus a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEGS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear WEGS13, thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bella Notte Inn. Due to our proximity to the beach we host many wedding groups each year and are thrilled we could play a small part in your families wedding. Sincerely Bella Notte Inn Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and nine-year-old daughter and I just travelled to Santa Cruz and happened upon this gem of a hotel. First, the location is great — Bella Notte is tucked away in a lovely little quiet beach neighborhood, just a five minute walk from the breath-taking Twin Lakes Beach. There are a couple of inexpensive but very good restaurants nearby and a friendly corner market. If you hanker for the busy boardwalk or main tourist attractions of Santa Cruz, they are quick drive. Second, the hotel itself is not only spotless with beautifully appointed, luxurious rooms but the staff is absolutely the best — so kind, so helpful and so knowledgeable about the area. I cannot give them higher marks. They couldn't have been sweeter to our daughter. Plus, the hot breakfast was delicious. I've stayed at other hotels in the area, but this one is a special find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Ivy, it was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with a review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you enjoyed many of our local attractions. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Santa Cruz. Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My hubby and I have family in Santa Cruz and visit a few times a year, we did not have a regular place we stay though -- until now! We were charmed by this place and will stay here from now on when we come to town.

The staff was AMAZING! So friendly, thoughtful and professional. All were very kind to my tiny children. I was made to feel at ease immediately and offered a cold drink from their lobby fridge upon check-in.

The room was super clean, elegantly-casual with its decor and very spacious. The jetted tub in room #4 was a thrill for my two toddlers who had never been in one before. I love the tile floors, no creepy hotel carpeting underfoot, and the use of mirrors to really give an open feel to the room. The bed was comfy and extra pillows were in the closet if you needed them. Dish Network is offered on the TV.

The free breakfast was great: simple, freshly-made and a thoughtful variety. Greek yogurt, fruit, granola, eggs, bacon, potatoes, coffee, great strawberry scones, oatmeal packets, cookies, cereal, english muffins. It was a perfect way to start the day. My In-Laws are staying here now too because it is a nice hotel and we can all eat breakfast together outside on their lovely patio area without the hassel/cost/time of the restaurant crowds. Their coffee is good and real half-n-half is stored in the lobby mini fridge at the breakfast station.

There are other food places close by for easy fueling later in the day, the Aloha Grill down the street had an amazing beef teriyaki plate that hit the spot. The Windmill Cafe was next door as was an Italian Food place and both looked good. A mini market is about a block away and can help fill your mini fridge in the room. Also, the Inn offers complimentary bottled waters in your room -- such a nice greeting after a long car ride.

I am so glad we found this place while our kiddos are tiny, it will be a nice landing pad to make memories with them as they grow up and our visits to the area become more frequent. A+

Room Tip: We stayed in room #4 on the ground floor and it was not loud. The bedroom window opened up behind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Heidi, thank you for your review of Bella Notte. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you and your family again next time you are in Santa Cruz! Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We loved this small motel just outside the city limits of Santa Cruz, CA. We've been visiting Santa Cruz for the past 4 years while our youngest daughter attended UCSC and have never been impressed with the hotel stock there. This is the only motel/hotel I can recommend whole-heartedly to travelers. We had to pay a premium because we stayed on graduation weekend, so I can't comment on the value, but all the hotels overcharge then just because they can. Otherwise, the rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. It's walking distance to the beach. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast is great and included bacon, scones, fresh fruit, many choices of teas, etc. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EthelMertz1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Ethel, thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bella Notte. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, but sad to hear you found us right as your youngest daughter graduated from UCSC. We have many guests with children at UCSC who book with us year after year and we look forward to seeing them each year and catching up. We believe Bella Notte's rates to be very competitive for the amenities offered, but your are correct in that UCSC graduation week(end) is probably the most expensive time to stay in Santa Cruz as all hotels will be full regardless of price or ratings. Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was the perfect hotel and after some bad experiences on our Honeymoon this completely saved us! The Staffw ere brilliant, always helpful and would offer advice and suggestions on where to go and what to do. We had the room with the bubble tub (no 4) and this was excellent. I couldnt recommend this place more. Also has the advantage of being in one of the collest places we have been to, a perfect stay

Room Tip: Get the room with the bubble tub, amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DynamoCowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Dynamo, Thank you for staying with us during your honeymoon trip to the US and sharing your experience at BellaNotte on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed having you and your wife stay with us and wish you both all the best with your future travels and a long and happy marriage! Sincerely Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Property: Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Address: 21305 E Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-4839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary hot breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing