We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“The Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Every once in awhile the stars align, magic happens, and you find the perfect hotel.....Bella Notte is just such a place. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we thought we would find a good hotel and instead found a truly excellent one where the owners have paid attention to every detail and are on the premises to make sure their guests needs are truly satisfied.
We arrived after a long flight from the East Coast on April 17th to a warm and friendly welcome and with an offer of refreshments from Carol. We then checked out our room, and to our surprise it rose way beyond our expectations. Our initial amazement came from the sheer size of this room.....from the reviews on this board every room is unusually large. It was quickly followed by our personal ‘must haves’, which is a clean quiet room. Bella Notte is a quiet, spotless, well-appointed room with a comfortable bed and deluxe linens. This is a family run hotel that was built from the ground up with only the best materials. From the furniture to the heated bathroom tiles, everything is high end and clearly no expense was spared to make this that elusive ‘perfect place’ to call your home away from home. The longer we stayed the more we noticed the little details inside and outside of the hotel that separate this from the big chain hotels.
These owners genuinely care about this hotel and their guests, and it absolutely shows in every single thing they do. They offer a well thought out breakfast, bottles of refreshments, luxurious robes and more importantly, the one thing that seems to fall short in the best five star hotel these days, and that’s the feeling that you...that your stay in their hotel, matters to them.
This is a remarkable hotel, run by owners and a staff that greet you like old friends, and by the time you check out, make you feel as though you left family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theedge23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Edge23, thank you for your kind words. We are truly humbled by your review and so happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and if your travels bring you back to Santa Cruz we look forward to seeing you again. Staff & Management Bella Notte Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    50
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
122
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stressed out? Try a room here with a bubble tub and then fall into a comfy bed with great linens and dream on! We enjoyed our stay here. The room was large, well furnished, and quiet and the owners were lovely people. Continental breakfast was excellent with pastries from Gayles, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, Numi teas and good coffee. Located in a great location away from the crowds and near Twin Lakes State beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear J L, thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bella Notte. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll stop by and see us again if your travels bring you back to Santa Cruz. Bella Notte Staff & Managmement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We really liked this place. So often we pay a lot of money for coastal places and leave feeling that it wasn't worth it. This place was different. The room was very large, well decorated, and had a few extra little things that I appreciated. The bathroom floor was heated! How cool is that. There was mirrow that was magnified for putting on makeup. The body products were of good quality. But what we really appreciated was the so-called "continental" breakfast that was actually a full breakfast, eggs, bacon, potatoes, the works. The host was gracious and thoughtful. The location was good, but as it is a short walk to the beach and about a 10 minute drive from the Rio Theater where we saw a great concert. Were glad we had room #8 because it was away from the road and very quiet. Just really a nice place to stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtncpl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mtncpl06, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte. We appreciate your feedback and happy you enjoyed the hot breakfast we serve on weekends. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Santa Cruz. Regards, Bella Notte Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Bella Notte for a quick weekend getaway. It's a charming little place. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

I guess it was converted to a nice hotel from a former motel, but once in a room, 'motel' never crosses your mind. The room we stayed in (#3) was very spacious. The bathroom was luxurious, and the bed was very nice. In general, the whole room was as nice as could be without going overboard and becoming unnecessarily opulent.
The breakfast area was small, but the food (eggs, bacon, potatoes, fresh pastries and fruit + the usual continental fare) was excellent.

The location is just a bit off the beaten path, but now I know of a new Santa Cruz neighborhood with nearby beaches, bike paths, restaurants, etc.

The price is not "a bargain" (at least for weekend nights), but if you want a very nice place to have quality time with your significant other, it would be hard to top the Bella Notte.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrw88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear JRW. Thank you for your review of Bella Notte. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked room no. 3. While a lot of people do not know the Live Oaks neighbourhood of Santa Cruz, as you mentioned it's a great place to be! Two blocks from the beach, close to the Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor and half way between downtown Santa Cruz and Capitola village. We hope to see you again soon! Bella Notte staff & management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a very short visit to Santa Cruz, and only spent about 10 hours at this hotel, but it was one of the most comfortable and joyous lodging experiences I have ever experienced.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the bed linens felt absolutely wonderful. We thought we would wake up really early for a zip line adventure, but we decided to sleep in and absorb more of the lavish comfort of the bed!

The room was very clean, simple and very chic. The bathroom was also really nice, from the floors to tiles. Even the little extra toiletries were presented very well. Decorating choices were definitely made to please the guest.

The whole room had a very fresh and "homey" feel to it, with a touch of refined elegance.

We stayed in room #9 on the second floor, and at check in we were told it was a "favorite." I can't compare it to any other rooms myself, but I would want to stay in that room again on another visit to Santa Cruz.

When comparing lodging at the same price point, I doubt you can find anything else that could offer a more comfortable and pleasing experience than Bella Notte.

Beautiful Night indeed!

Room Tip: We absolutely loved room #9 with a King size bed on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sacredphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sacredphi. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bella Notte. We were thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and hope if your travels bring you to Northern California again you'll stop by and be able to spend more than a few hours with us! Best wishes and safe travels from all the staff and management of Bella Notte Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bella Note in January, with the goal of a quiet romantic weekend getaway. WOW were we pleased with our choice of Bella Notte! This Inn is obviously new and modern, with very tasteful European decorative flair. Our room was quite spacious and was decorated in a way that made us feel luxurious and comfortable, including a faux electric fireplace, sharp looking carpets, expensive looking floor tiles, refrigerator, flat screen TV, fine touches all the way around. The bathroom was very clean and neat, and decorated so nicely, way beyond that of a standard hotel room. The owners of the Belle Notte Inn were so pleasant and friendly, and offered us very good advice on local restaurants and things to do, including a short five minute walk to the beach/state park nearby. Needless to say, my wife was so happy with our stay she can't wait to spend another magical weekend at Bella Notte!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Nina,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at Bella Notte. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Bella Note is a great hotel. The location is perfect and a mere two blocks from a great beach. Getting to the harbor, Boardwalk, downtown is quick and easy. Capitola is also a easy drive.

The rooms are beautiful (My wife loved the heated floor in the bathroom....).

The owners of this establishment have created a real oasis. I would recommend Bella Notte to anyone. You will not find a nicer room in Santa Cruz. And the cost of a room is a super bargain.

We will go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Eastman85. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Property: Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Address: 21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary hot breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing