We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“New and Elegant, Beautiful Rooms, Quiet and Convenient Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
2 reviews
“New and Elegant, Beautiful Rooms, Quiet and Convenient Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bella Note in January, with the goal of a quiet romantic weekend getaway. WOW were we pleased with our choice of Bella Notte! This Inn is obviously new and modern, with very tasteful European decorative flair. Our room was quite spacious and was decorated in a way that made us feel luxurious and comfortable, including a faux electric fireplace, sharp looking carpets, expensive looking floor tiles, refrigerator, flat screen TV, fine touches all the way around. The bathroom was very clean and neat, and decorated so nicely, way beyond that of a standard hotel room. The owners of the Belle Notte Inn were so pleasant and friendly, and offered us very good advice on local restaurants and things to do, including a short five minute walk to the beach/state park nearby. Needless to say, my wife was so happy with our stay she can't wait to spend another magical weekend at Bella Notte!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Nina,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at Bella Notte. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    55
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
131
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Bella Note is a great hotel. The location is perfect and a mere two blocks from a great beach. Getting to the harbor, Boardwalk, downtown is quick and easy. Capitola is also a easy drive.

The rooms are beautiful (My wife loved the heated floor in the bathroom....).

The owners of this establishment have created a real oasis. I would recommend Bella Notte to anyone. You will not find a nicer room in Santa Cruz. And the cost of a room is a super bargain.

We will go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Eastman85. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

There are general expectations when you stay at a hotel. Then, there are the little things that make you smile. After that, If your lucky you find a hotel that goes above and beyond to make your stay unbelievable.

The story begins by finding this hotel by chance. I had taken my significant other to Santa Cruz on Vacation. We are pretty young and spontaneous. We decided to stay here. Mainly because this hotel is very close to one of my favorite beaches my folks took me to when I was little.

There was no reservation. In hotel language we were a "Walk-In" yet, I can be assured that I will make a reservation to stay here again.

Check In was extremely pleasant. The man who checked us was extremely welcoming. And, since it was December, we had a very modest rate.

The room was top-notch. It was large, new, beautiful and welcoming. I even had taken pictures of the bathroom so I can use it as a model when I remodel the bathroom in my house.

The property is small. Less than 50 rooms. I can Imagine if this hotel were larger and had a restaurant. It would be a Five Star resort.

My girlfriend was overwhelmed about the interior design.


I would have to say, that this hotel is something that a couple would want to keep secret. It is something special, and its something unique.

I will most definitely plan a visit here again.

Room Tip: The best rooms have fireplaces. Pay for the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegas1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Vegas1824 thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bella Notte. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great location, beautiful rooms, very clean and very close to the beach. There are restaurants and a cafe within walking distance and it's less than 15 minutes from the boardwalk and downtown. Although it's on a major thoroughfare, the rooms were very quiet. We did have an issue with the room, but the management took care of it. They were professional and courteous throughout. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Santa Cruz. I know I plan on going back there.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hojaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Hojaka. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at Bella Notte. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Santa Cruz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

With such wonderfully decorated rooms and the most comfortable beds and only a shirt walk to a gorgeous beach, who could go wrong?

The service was wonderful, we got chatting to the owners who were very helpful in arranging a taxi to take us to our booked restaurant and it turned out they had dined there a few nights before and could give us menu recommendations too.

They have thoughtfully placed a fridge full of free water and fruit juices in reception for you to help yourselfers to and the free continental breakfast was wonderful too. My husband loved the muffins, they were huge.

All in all, if you want friendly, efficient and thoughtful service and a very luxurious room at a great price, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy351132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Louise, thankt you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte. It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we made a good starting point for your trip south along beautiful highway one. We hope you'll come and visit us next time you are this side of the pond and if you ever open that B&B in Cornwall let us know and we'll come visit you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Called for a last minute and late booking. We were pleasantly surprised with this property. Very comfortable room...especially the bed which was WONDERFUL! It was very comfortable!
Nice and clean bathroom as well. I reco this place for a night in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear WBM. Thank you for taking the time share your experience staying at Bella Notte. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a safe trip home to Atlanta. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had booked into the Bella Nottte for our 50th wedding anniversary. Our room was spotless, well appointed, and very roomy. Our kids had taken the touble of ordering champagne and sending a special card and both were waiting for us when we checked in. Our host said he'd had the room ready and the champagne chilling in case we got there early.
We had a lot of questions re: where to get gas, how to get to the beach (a quick 5 minute walk), etc. and he was so patient. We were so welcomed and the hospitality was great. Our only small disappointment was that breakfast was an extremely basic continental breakfast and a bit awkward.

Room Tip: Room 3 was huge and really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dustysand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Dustysand,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the feedback, it enables us to improve, so you can enjoy your next stay with us even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#2 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 53 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
5.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Property: Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Address: 21305 E Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-4839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary hot breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing