We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mouse in the House” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Clarita Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Clarita Motel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Santa Clarita
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Mouse in the House”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We decided to go a more economic route, having read pretty good reviews on this motel.

Pluses - great price, very comfortable, evidence that they have upgraded and microwave and fridge, complimentary (if a little slow) internet

Minuses - There was a MOUSE in our room - ewwww. But the worse part that when I mentioned to the manager, he didn't even say one word about it. Just looked at me. No "sorry" or "oh my goodness" an acknowledgement would have been appreciated. You could hear the train, which is fine (Railroad road)

I said to my husband (pre mouse) we could stay here again, great price, not bad location - even with the train. Post Mouse and attitude, I probably woudn't stay again :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaihy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    101
    29
    11
    11
See reviews for
47
87
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in early May 2013 in that I could visit my Dad and celebrate his 81rst birthday. I avoided Lancaster-Palmdale because it has become horribly overpriced. Since I am familiar with SoCal and know this area close to "Magic Mountain" and since it is 40 minutes from my Dad's place, I decided to give it a try. Plus the recent Trip Advisor reviews were strong. It is in the middleof nowhere, the closest convenience store is the AM/PM located just before the railroad tracks and about a 7 minute drive away from the 138 Freeway exit. The hotel is located about 5 more miles away and it stands virtually by itself.

Now about my experience.......I travel late and a Southwest Airline delayed flight pushed my arrival time to early in the morning. The young man that checked me in did not immediately rush to greet me at the counter in fact, he appeared to be on some kind of delayed response regimine...it took several bell rings to get his attention. He eventually checked me in moving as if I had just woken him up. After a hiccup with the first room key, He reluctantly issued a second key and I was able to check into my room.

It is very much what people describe here, fairly clean, not well appointed, a decent bed for a motel, a little noisy (get a room far away from the street and the railroad tracks). Basic cable with a dated TV and old furnitire with chipped edges and plenty of wear. Odd colored orangish carpet....a little weird actually. The air conditioner worked wonderfully, not a small thing in Santa Clarita 90 degree weather. The refrigerator didn't work so well and had broken parts; a fact that the daytime desk clerk did not seem too enthused about either fixing or addressing in any way. This irked me because I was going to be there for two more nights. Upon checkout, there were two more front desk clerks and both of these young men were attentive and really helpful especially to my complaints over the incidents described above. Overall, two ambivalent front desk clerks and two attentive clerks...I call that a "draw."

I rate this as an "ok" stay and may return when I visit my father without my wife......this is not the kind of place I would subject my sweetie to on a vacation. It is better than most EZ-8, Motel 6 or Rodeway Inns, but that said it is a bit over priced considering the decidedly lo-fi accomodations. Still, compared to much of SoCal it is a pretty good deal on a functional hotel room for a songle, male traveler.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This motel appears to have been built when Railroad Ave. (originally San Fernando Rd.) was the highway from Newhall to San Fernando. When approaching from Lyon Ave. it looks like you are leaving town and there will not be any motel. Go in, you will be rewarded. The owner is very friendly. He makes an effort to upgrade the rooms. We had an upstairs newly renovated room. It had tile floors, 3D wall furnishings. The faucet in the sink in the bathroom glows when one turns on the water. I have never seen such a thing. There is a small refrigerator in the room. The only thing negative I can think is there is some noise from the train. I have stayed where the noise is much worse. The noise is very temporary.

Room Tip: Upstairs north side has some newly renovated rooms. They are SUPER.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stay here whenever I want to be out of the LA basin but not go all the way home. Nicely appointed, comfortable beds, and clean. Bring earplugs if train noise bothers you. It isn't that intrusive and I've slept fine without earplugs. Friendly staff - small check-in area. Recommend for value and location. Parking is tight. If you have an oversized vehicle, you'll be asked to move it to the street if the hotel is full.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56-Been_Around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

They call this a motel but the rooms are adorable!
Very clean rooms and property. The person checking us in was pleasant and quick.
The room was decorated in a contemporary boutique hotel style. Our room was orange and brown and kind of funky.

Bathroom did not have much counter space but had an awesome shower head.

Beds were comfy too.

When the fan was not on, there was some traffic noise that could be heard from road.

For the price, this place is a total gem. I would stay here in a heartbeat again over any of the chain hotels

Try the Egg Plantation for breakfast too. They had awesome omelettes and excellent service too.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the road as possible to reduce noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBettii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is great, the rooms are clean and nice. The only problem is the location: the close railroad and the very noisy traffic coming from the street are not very helpful if you want to get a good night of sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuliaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a small motel which I found on line and just needed on a Saturday night. It was the best deal I have ever had and the least expensive hotel I have stayed in. If you need to stay in this area this is the real deal. The bed was a great it was super clean and colorful. Wonderful breakfast at the Egg Plantation close by. No pool but didn't need one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clarita hotels
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Valencia Inn
BEST WESTERN Valencia Inn
#7 of 15 in Santa Clarita
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Clarita - Valencia
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 3 in Stevenson Ranch
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Santa Clarita
2.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Valencia
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Valencia Six Flags
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clarita Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clarita Motel

Property: Santa Clarita Motel
Address: 24971 Railroad Ave, Santa Clarita, CA 91321-1053
Location: United States > California > Santa Clarita
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Clarita
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clarita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Clarita Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Santa Clarita Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clarita Hotel Santa Clarita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing