We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Hotel E Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel E Real
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Our first room was non-smoking but smelt like that horrible old smoke smell. Our cable was out but got fixed then went out again so we got swapped to a different room which was good because it was a bigger bed.

Spacious room.

Hot waffles, toast, porridge, fruit, juice and danishes for breakfast.

Comfortable bed. Clean. Laundry facilities. Bus stop close by and supermarket.

Not too much noise apart from the builders behind the Inn.

The restaurant in front does good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oeflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alondra_vazquez, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel E Real, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am sorry to hear about the incovenience of the first room, but I am glad to hear that after that your stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you the next time you visit Santa Clara!

- Vicky Patel, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    55
    32
    19
    36
See reviews for
35
34
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MG112
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2009

The room was really nice, new furniture, and very clean. Internet worked great. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room, as well as Comcast cable TV. I had read some bad reviews prior to our trip and was a little worried but the hotel turned out to be great, way beyond our expectations. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel E Real, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It's our pleasure to provide clean and fresh rooms for our guests, with great amenities and great price! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed there our first night after our arrival from Germany. And because we really liked it we also stayed there for two more nights after our round trip through california.

Its really a nice motel with very friendly and helpfull staff. Clean rooms 204/205. Pool, good breakfast. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todymelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel E Real, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments! We’re very happy to hear about your amazing experience at our hotel. As you mentioned, we offer clean, fresh rooms. We’re glad you had an enjoyable stay! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Santa Clara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

The only possitive thing I can say about this motel is that the staff was friendly, and cares about custumers, but unfortunally the rooms are the worst aroud El Camino Real and high rates too! for a room with 2 queen beds $100.00 per night, with the price you can expect to get a very old looking room and dirty carpet, talking about dirty you should see the coffee maker! very disturbing, the tub had mold around it and the shower curtain had hair stuck to it from previous custumers. my children wanted to go swimming but, the pool was filled with ducks!...yes ducks! so never the less they didn't swim, We were very tired to complaint about all the disturbing scenes we had seen, so the very first thing in the morning we packed our bags and asked for a early check-out the lady was very friendly to give us the ramaining 2 days back, they also had a free breakfast in the morning, waffles and I should think twice before eating their breakfast the machines are very filthy and they even look rusted, they had 3 pieces of fruit, so my advice to you is to think twice before checking-in to this motel you will not like a thing about it, other than a friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank littleteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondInnSc, Manager at Hotel E Real, responded to this review, January 21, 2009
We apologize for the fact that you did not enjoy your stay at Vagabond Inn but since then we have gone through a major renovation and would like you to come back and try us again and enjoy our newly modernize rooms and excellent service.

Sal Parikh
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Clara hotels

UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

I had to stay in the Vagabond Inn for a business trip for two weeks (due to a conference, this seemed to be the only one available at short notice).

My room was supposed to come with a refrigerator, but none was provided. Instead refrigeration was achieved by having windows that fitted poorly, thus providing a great through draft. This is California, I don't expect to wake up shivering!

The air-conditioning is cunningly positioned on the top of the wall meaning the ceiling is lovely and warm. Unfortunately I'm unable to sleep on the ceiling, thus meaning that's as much use as a chocolate teapot.

I was disappointed that the hotel didn't offer a laundry service, though there are some washer / dryers outside.

The free breakfast is awesome! Well, actually it's not. The free breakfast consists of a waffle maker in the reception. Great!

The shower is at least warm and working!

The staff are friendly, and I've had no real problems other than the fact that the room is drafty and doesn't have the advertised refrigerator.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank everton_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondInns, Director of Tour and Travel at Hotel E Real, responded to this review, March 10, 2008
Thank you for the review.
Unfortunately this guest had an unfavorable stay. The information about the refrigerator has alerted us to take an inventory, so this will not happen in the future.
We strive for the best in clean, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

Please don't stay here. The hotel did not honor the reservation made over the Vagabond Inn website. Since it was late at night, we had to accept another room at a higher rate. This is a franchise owned hotel in very poor condition. There were limited electrical plugs and some were broken. Overall a poorly maintained hotel. The corporate guest relations was toothless and unable to assist.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank crochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondInnSc, General Manager at Hotel E Real, responded to this review, February 26, 2007
This customer had made multiple reservation over the internet and by calling the Cres system but to cancle the the reservation they canceled using the internet and the customer had cancelled the wrong reservation so the reservation the hotel had on file was for a King size room and not for a queen size which is what they wanted. I explained to them that they had cancelled the wrong reservation and that all i had was a King size for them since that is the reservation that the hotel had in its system. I tried to work with customer and was willing to cut the diffrence in half. After talking with the Central rEsevation Clerk the next day we did honor their reservation for the same rate so I think this complains is invalid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2006

Our familly of 6 stayed here over the 4th of July holiday. The first room they put us in (3 Queen beds) was totally unacceptable. The room smelled and was dirty. I asked for their other 3 bed room (upstairs) and it was cleaner, but still not what I wanted to sleep in. We ended up taking 2 side by side rooms that were just ok, but barely. Thiis hotel is in serious need of updating. The furniture is outdated and every piece is scratched or dented. The phone didn't work and the shower was a joke. The breakfast was a few pieces of fruit, and some muffins. The only really good thing I can say about this place is that the employees were very helpful and accommodating to my changing rooms 2 times. I probably would not stay here again.. This is a get what you pay for room.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel E Real, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your response, any responses we receive is an opportunity for us to improve. Were very sorry for the water being turned off during your stay, unfortunately progress has its consequences, the water was turned off because we are in the middle of completely renovating our hotel. As explained to you during your stay we will be more than happy to offer you a complementary free night after the renovations are completed. Once again thank you for the time you took to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
1.3 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#14 of 32 in Santa Clara
153 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#19 of 32 in Santa Clara
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
3.7 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,254 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel E Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel E Real

Property: Hotel E Real
Address: 3580 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051-2136
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel E Real 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and friendly service! Close to Great America Theme Park, Winchester Mystery House, Downtown, Santa Cruz Boardwalk, Santa Clara University, Stanford University, and the San Jose Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Continental Breakfast, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, Free Newspaper, and Swimming Pool. Great value - visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel E Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Vagabond Hotel Santa Clara
Vagabond Motel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing