We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality as expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quality as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for two nights ahead of a family wedding. After checking the Tripadvisor reviews of budget motels nearby we settled on this HI Ex. No bargain, but after a transatlantic flight we didn't want to compromise on quality. We weren't disappointed. Everything as described, everything in perfect working order, decor and fixtures in good condition, huge room (by European standards). The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor at the front, facing the busy El Camino Real but the sound insulation was good and there was no intrusive street noise. Our room had a small fridge, a coffee maker, and a microwave, nice touches. The breakfast buffet was extensive, even with Asian-style items, but a little heavy on carbs. My wife is gluten-free so her choice was limited. Luckily she was also on a diet so didn't mind too much. We didn't use the swimming pool but it did look inviting, especially after a long flight, and was clearly well maintained. All in all a good quality base for short trips to the area, whether business or pleasure, if a little pricey for the brand.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear John K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. I'm so happy to hear you find our rooms so spacious and comfortable, facilities so well-maintained and our staff so friendly and helpful and that we met your expectation. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Santa Clara!
Michelle Nguyen | Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Santa Clara - Silicon Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    260
    50
    8
    10
See reviews for
173
102
158
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The first Holiday Inn that I stayed was the one in Arizona, it was very nice so that I reserved this one for my SC visit, and as expected, my one week stay here was enjoyable too.
Free breakfast every morning was decent and good enough for me, including soy bean soup of Japanese style could have been relief for may Asian taste.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear JM H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent visit to Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Santa Clara - Silicon Valley. We are delighted to know your stay with us was an enjoyable one and consistently met your expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travel brings you to the area.

Faithfully yours,
Michelle Nguyen | Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (5\21 to 5\24\14) while visiting California. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. It is not the fanciest hotel but it was clean, and that is most important to me. The hotel staff was courteous and accomodating. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear unikka,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. We are so happy that you had a comfortable stay and thought our staff was courteous and accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Clara - Silicon Valley in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Michelle Nguyen | Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

location is very easy from SC airport. Well priced for SC at ~$150. Has a pool and the rooms are large. The AC does not really have a temp monitor so it is either full on or full off (noisy). Basic breakfast is included and staff i svery helpful. Overall a quiet location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear PortlandRoss,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Santa Clara - Silicon Valley. We're glad that you enjoyed our large room, location and think our staff is helpful. We value your feedback about AC temperature and noise and certainly will use it for review and management's action.

Once again, thank you for your business. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Michelle Nguyen | Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The room was large, the staff good, and it's super clean. The only drawback is that it's close to an in town freeway. The driveway comes up quick and the traffic behind you is moving fast, turn quick.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50andhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear 50andhappy,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to understand that our effort in making a great hotel pays off.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Santa Clara - Silicon Valley in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Michelle Nguyen | Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

returning guest to this hotel. been in this hotel before and the overall quality is good, but can be better.

there was a young front desk, i can tell by the way she handle guest registration and questions are quite inexperienced but anyway just ok. asked for directions on restaurant surrounding, perhaps she is not from nearby, or just a rookie, couldnt really give a good guidance (or perhaps i expected too much?).

Security system is good, CCTV everywhere and guaranteeing safe stay. except that the laundry service is a bit funny that, the self service is supposed to be inaccessible after 10pm, but you can still use your key to access after 10pm. something they need to fix the communications. i was rushing for the laundry and at the end found out that i can still access after 10pm. funny.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear TKTan,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. While I'm glad to hear that our overall quality and security system are good and , I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. I assure you the feedback we receive will be reviewed and actions will be taken right away.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you would give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Cordially,
Michelle Nguyen - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I found this to be a great hotel. It was clean, quiet and the service was excellent. The hotel is close to the airport and walking distance to downtown. We arrived long before check-on time and they were able to accommodate us by getting our room ready early. The front-desk staff was very professional and happy to assist us with every request. They went out of their way to make us happy. Breakfast every morning was fantastic.

We stayed there for over a week and this was my third visit . I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Jane I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for making Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Santa Clara - Silicon Valley your hotel of choice. We are overjoyed to know you were happy with our consistent service and facilities and looking forward to making more memorable experiences in your next stays.

Sincerely,
Michelle Nguyen - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#3 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 stars 950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#13 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 2455 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our new and fresh Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Clara-Silicon Valley. Our stylish and sophisticated hotel features 97 studio suites thoughtfully designed with the business and leisure traveler in mind offering complimentary business and fitness center and complimentary hot breakfast! We are in the Silicon Valley centrally located in Santa Clara near the Santa Clara/San Jose Convention Center and only a few miles from San Jose Airport. Local businesses include Santa Clara University, Google, Cisco Systems, Intel, Yahoo, AMD and Applied Materials. Santana Row offers dining and shopping variety. Don't forget to visit California Great America and Winchester Mystery House. Our distinctive lodging is an urban retreat for everyday travelers seeking modern convenience mixed with warm, casual California ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Clara
Hawthorn Suites Santa Clara
Santa Clara Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing