We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Fresh and Good Food, Usually Crowded so be Prepared to Wait”
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
Ranked #2 of 437 Restaurants in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our second restaurant, opened in 1979 in the heart of the Silicon Valley, has been as popular with local residents as it has with the business crowd. A comfortable and spacious cocktail bar adds to the energetic atmosphere of this casual dining restaurant. Be sure to arrive early for the counter seats at the oyster bar, as they fill up quickly.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Very Fresh and Good Food, Usually Crowded so be Prepared to Wait”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you enjoy a variety of Seafood, then you need to try the Fish Market in Santa Clara, one block from Lawrence Expy, and El Camino. Have eaten here multiple times in the past and have never had a bad choice. most recently had the shrimp and scallops wrapped in bacon. They usually have a large choice of daily fresh choices, as well as a fish market / counter if you want to but to take home. Their drinks are a bit on the expensive side for the size, but the desserts are on the larger size, try the Applt Crisp and Ice Cream, large portion and very tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    163
    51
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Food: very good. Wait time: as predicted.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good! The fish is fresh, and there is a fair choice of it. The selection of wines is also pretty broad, including CA and US NW ones. The place was busy on Saturday night, and we were asked to wait for ~25 min. They gave us a pager and we were invited exactly in 25 min.
The interior is pleasant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A good place to eat on Friday night”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Not sure if they have call ahead but if they do, you should. Although after the long wait the food was good, and the service was with a smile even though the waiter was extremely busy with other tables. The taste mixture between the fish and the veggies made the dinner, but the clam chowder could have been more savory. (didn't make my top 20 list). It is expensive but if you are going out for a special occasion, then this place would add to the memories associated with that time. The decor and wood floors reminded me of some fish houses I have been too on the Oregon coast and brought back those good memories.
On the scuba bubble scale I give this place 7 out of 10 bubbles

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank must_need_H2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dontcha feel better after eating good fish?”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Compared with eating a big plate of pasta or beef.. Is it me or does fish make you feel healthier? Well this place is a fish lovers dream! Also something about good seafood restaurants is they typically can make good bloody Mary's. Not sure why but that home brewed bloody Mary mix with shrimp, horseradish and spice made for a great cocktail. I normally don't do bloody's for dinner but tried it here and it was Delish! I had the Ono (wahoo) fish and it was nice that in addition to the mixed vegetables that they offered a cherry tomatoe / basil side aswell which is also a tasty and healthy alternative to fries. Overall enjoyed this place and I'm not surprised it was packed for a Tuesday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank workhplayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Seafood in Tech Central”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food. I sat at the bar and had a beer while chatting to the bar tender. Ordered while seated at the bar (thought this was great as I was comfortable there and didn't want to move to a table just to eat). The atmosphere was cheery and fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing