We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suites Palo Alto-bad experience over Thanksgiving 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Palo Alto the day before and of Thanksgiving 2013. We have used other Embassy Suites hotels all over the US before and been completely happy with service, cleanliness and rooms before. This was not the case. The room had left over food in the fridge, a couple of dirty forks left on the bookshelves, dirt on the comforter and used bottles of Shampoo and Conditioner in the rooms. Also, it was loud several times the night of Thanksgiving outside our room in the parking lot. We were 6 stories up, and still the large/partying group that was in the parking lot was keeping us awake late. When we spoke to the front desk, they were rude and said they weren't that loud, and did nothing about it. We would not recommend this location to anyone. We will continue to try another Embassy Suites location again and hope our experiences are more like the mutiple great ones we have had at other locations prior.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Phillip I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbSuites, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Phillip,
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and cleanliness. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Erica Alcaine, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 963 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at this location Wed-Sat of the Thanksgiving holiday. Wed night the place was empty -- maybe a dozen cars in the parking lot -- so why put people in rooms right next to each other? The people next door started talking at 6am and woke us up.

Beds were average and the room was a little small for the two doubles. Wifi is complimentary for HHonors gold and platinum members only, yet other Embassy Suites locations offer complimentary wifi for all HHonors members. Why is this not consistent across all properties?

Staff were friendly and accommodating, breakfast was good with a wide selection of items and cooked-to-order eggs and omelets. Location right off the 101 freeway is an advantage, but there are other hotels in the area that are better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbSuites, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that you experienced some minor problems with our hotel such as noise. I certainly understand your thoughts in having to stay next to another guest when the hotel was not completely full. During such times the hotel takes the opportunity to close a certain amount of rooms to conduct deep cleaning. As for the Wi-Fi, you are correct, other properties do offer it free which places the rest of us in a bind seeing that it is a standard to charge guest for the service. I am happy however to hear that found our staff to be friendly and that the you enjoyed the hotel accommodations and breakfast . And it is our hopes that you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a nice hotel with nice accomidations, and great breakfast. I really liked the A/C system, as it was in a separate room and was not noisy, like some other hotels I've stayed in. The rooms could have some lighter blankets in them, or available to them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank James D MR N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbSuites, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's wonderful to hear your feedback about the accommodations, breakfast and that you really enjoyed the application of our A/C units in the guest rooms. We have taken note your thoughts on the lighter blankets. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is a very nice hotel to stay. It is conveniently located close to our offices in Santa Clara. For the rest their is not much to see in the neighborhood. I liked the free drinks and snacks that are provided in the hallway. Rooms are very big and have a nice sitting room. It would be better if the sitting room was on the window side though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbSuites, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and that you found us to be a convenient location to your offices. It's also wonderful to hear your feedback about the amenities, accommodations and services that al met your expectations. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. Every person we came in contact with was terrific. The service was amazing. We will differently return to this hotel next time we are in the area. The food was good, the suites were beautiful, very spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbSuites, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for choosing to stay with us for your family bonding time. It's wonderful to hear your feedback about our staff, cleanliness, accommodations, food and complimentary services and that we met your expectations. The word amazing that you used is always a delight for us to hear knowing that we are doing something right! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stay in this hotel for 3 days around end October to attend annual summit organized by my company. Huge room with comfortable bed! Two TVs inside the room, one in front of the bed and the other one near the study/sofa area.

Unfortunately, there seems to be some issues with the key-card! Everyday, I have to re-validate the card to gain access to my room until they decided to change to a brand new card. The hotel should track for the appropriate number of times the key-card was used and then scrapped it to minimize inconveniences to the hotel guests!

Other than this small hiccup, the hotel is perfect. Nice breakfast (included in the room-rate) to kick-start the day and free parking available. Externally, the hotel might look a little old... A reasonably value for money with my company corporate rate!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KM_SGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbSuites, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your recent review.It's heartwarming to hear our guests speak well of our property and staff. And being that you stayed with us 3 days while attending your annual submit, it’s a reward to know that you had a comfortable stay. I do however apologize for the key-card issue that you experience. You are right, we should have caught that while you were staying with us. However I want you to know that since your stay we have taken action and have eliminated that problem. We are also glad to know that you had an opportunity to enjoy our breakfast as well. We strive to provide the best customer service as possible by making our guests feel like they are at home. We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This embassy suites truly is the party hotel. My dad and I were in town for a Selena Gomez concert and we stayed at this hotel for the weekend. When we first arrived at this hotel there was a party going on upstairs above the lobby with lots of shouting and loud music. There were a lot of thugs and punks hanging out in the lobby which made us feel unsafe. The hotel staff was very kind though because they were very helpful when giving us directions to places we wanted to go. All over the hotel there were punks walking around on every floor and in the elevators with many alcoholic beverages in their hands. Every person we approached in the elevator smelt like alcohol
:( There were a lot of partying college kids staying here as well. The rooms were decent, but the beds looked kind of gross and were not comfortable. The breakfast was decent, but nothing to rave about. There is a Sizzler Restaurant and McDonald's right around the corner just to let you know about other affordable ding options. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling with young children due to the thugs/punks, drunks, alcohol, and parties at this hotel. This hotel is alright for people that are traveling for business. This hotel is perfect for those of you who like to party.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ayayitstiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
2 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara

Address: 2885 Lakeside Dr, Santa Clara, CA 95054-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range: $127 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 257 spacious rooms and two-room suites features a master bedroom with king-size bed, separate living area complete with wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, hairdryer, full size iron and ironing board, queen-size sofa sleeper, two televisions with remote control, two telephones with voice mail capability, High Speed Internet Access and a well lit dining/work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Santa Clara
Santa Clara Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing