We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy - room windows need fixing - otherwise nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Noisy - room windows need fixing - otherwise nice”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just got back from a stay at this hotel. Have to note that in Room 311, the sliding windows doesn't close properly and that gap let in a lot of outside noise from Hwy 101 (right next door) - including the delivery trucks at 5am (this room is right above the loading dock on the rear of the hotel). That made for a less than stellar night's sleep and unfortunately, I never got a chance to request a different room. The mix of smoking and non-smoking floors (again floor 3) is disconcerting, and my request for a non-smoking room ended up with me in a smoking room, though to be honest, there was minimal smell. Agree with a previous poster that the hallways are a bit dark.

Overall, a high-quality hotel with a dynamite breakfast. Extremely convenient to the previously mentioned Hwy 101 and the San Jose Airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbSuites, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind feedback regarding the quality of our hotel and are glad the smell of your room was not an issue. We do sincerely apologize for the level of noise you experienced while you were attempting to sleep. This window is something that will be addressed and repaired in order to make sure this is not an issue for future guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    259
    146
    64
    43
See reviews for
325
100
33
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel differs from the other Embassy Suites that I have stayed in because there is no corridor overlooking the lobby. The hallways were dark, and I missed the skylights that lit up the interior space. The typical hotel room arrangements probably keep the rooms quieter, but the overall effect was dingy. I stayed here with a large group of friends and was surprised to find that there are only two rooms per floor that have double beds so we had to stay on three different floors. The rooms were very clean and well organized with a wetbar sink and refrigerator in the sitting area. The bathroom was compact and suitable for one person at a time. The evening happy hour and morning breakfast make this a great place for a group to gather for the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel staff discovered there had been a slight mix up in our reservations and they came up with a solution that was perfect for our needs. It was better than what we had originally requested. The rooms were spacious, nicely decorated and had comfortable furniture. We were on the highway side which gave a beautiful view of the area-especially at night. It did add a little outside noise, but it did not bother us. We enjoyed seeing the activity. The hotel itself was very quiet. One night we were at the Hotel during the evening reception. It was a great place to unwind and talk about our day while munching on chips, salsa, vegetables and dip and chex mix. Drinks and soft drinks are also served. The complimentary breakfasts were also great-with all the usual cold items served at hotels but made to order eggs, bacon, sausage, etc, in addition. Unlike some Embassy Suites in the larger cities, we liked the convenient, free parking at this location. We could not have enjoyed our stay here more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a positive and enjoyable experience at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Santa Clara. Our Cross Country team acknowledged many times how they thought this hotel was a great place to stay. Britney and others helped us coordinate many rooms for our team. They accomodated us with a "can do" attiitude. Alway professional. We look forward to staying at this property again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our cross country team from Patrick Henry High (PHHS) in San Diego recently attended the Stanford xctry invitational. I arranged a carbo-load the night before the race and worked closely with Paulo and he was not only cooperative, but more than accommodating. He was so helpful and decorated the room in our school colors. The food was awesome and he even added great touches like sodas instead of standard lemonade, knowing that teenagers probably would prefer those selections of drinks. He met with me the day of, showed us the room, and made sure we were happy. Kudos to such a great catering manager who was willing to work with us. There were some special dietary requests (ie vegetarian) and some parents didn't want carbs so he substituted salmon salad for those for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed here at least 50 nights in 2011, but company travel expense policies forced me to seek alternative Hilton properties in 2012. But, in late August due to limited availability elsewhere, I made it back to the Embassy Suites in Santa Clara. My first impression after my 8 month hiatus, was wow did this property age quickly. The atmosphere was drab, the room had a large stain on the carpet, and the vibe was just low energy. The restaurant menu has not changed in some time. The table layout in the restaurant changed, not sure for what reason and they removed the white table cloths at dinner, which were actually a nice touch. I definitely got the impression that they were cutting corners on atmosphere. I did not see many familiar faces, but those I did see remembered me by name. The desk staff has always been a highlight of this location from my experience.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are furthest from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCaltraveller19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbSuites, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for being such a loyal guest at our property and for providing a review of your recent stay. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest suite appearance is an area we are actively examining. We recently completed a renovation of our restaurant and the minimalist décor is part of the new look as we are doing our part in being more green. As you mentioned, the restaurant menu is ready for and update and we are currently working with our chef to provide our guests with a menu that offers a variety of fresh and inspired options. While I am glad you appreciated the kindness of the staff, I apologize the rest of your stay was disappointing. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here as I do every time I am in this part of the world. The property has been here many years and is getting a little dated. I like the rooms and beds. The rooms are an entry room a bathroom and a bedroom. The entry room has a television as does the bedroom. A big plus is the included breakfast with buffet fruits, cereals, juices and chef that will make eggs, pancakes, etc to your order.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
0.5 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.0 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Address: 2885 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 257 spacious rooms and two-room suites features a master bedroom with king-size bed, separate living area complete with wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, hairdryer, full size iron and ironing board, queen-size sofa sleeper, two televisions with remote control, two telephones with voice mail capability, High Speed Internet Access and a well lit dining/work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Santa Clara
Santa Clara Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing