We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Considering the many other hotels in Santa Clara/Sunnyvale, this is the place to stay. Rooms seem to have been redone recently; in typical Embassy Suites fashion, they are two room suites. Bedroom (with a king bed) was a bit small, but living room was larger. Refrigerator was included in room. Only issue with the room was the air conditioning: Living room would get nice and cold, bedroom would not.

Stayed on Friday night, and place was packed. Really. Cocktail reception was crowded, but plenty of chips and beverages were offered. Service was efficient.

Parking is convenient and free. There is a McDonalds and other shops a minute's walk away.

If you find yourself in the heart of Silicon Valley, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms could have highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZincTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 995 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Nice hotel, rooms and location in Santa Clara. I was in town for one night on business and heading home the next morning. Typical Embassy Suites and what I always enjoy about this line of Hilton Hotels. The suite was nice and roomy giving one plenty of room to unwind. I did find it interesting that the hotel didn't have the typical Atrium that Embassy's are known for.

Had a group dinner at El Torito's and as always enjoyed the complimentary cook to order breakfast buffet. I do wish that the internet was free but Embassy hasn't made that part of their amenities which is the only negative that I have about the chain.

Overall, I recommend this Embassy Suites to any traveler going to the Santa Clara area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbanksiii64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This Embassy Suites is fantastic, as it includes all of the niceties associated with Embassy Suites but is usually around the same price as some of the other hotels in the area that include fewer services. Note that this particular review is more of a general review rather than a specific review - I have stayed here about a half-dozen times within the past three years for business trips in the area.

My review is organized into the ratable categories below:

Service (5 stars):

Front desk staff is quick/efficient. Staff responsible for administering the hot breakfast is excellent. The free manager's reception during the evening (well drinks, beer, and snacks) is always fantastic, and is particularly good at this Embassy, as they usually have one or two microbrewed beers available (at other Embassys, you're usually restricted to the watery domestics).

Value (4 stars):

Price is usually in the upper $100's to lower $200's, which I'd typically consider expensive, but is actually rather normal for the area. In fact, some of the other hotels in the area of lesser quality usually charge around the same price.

Sleep Quality (5 stars):

You get the typical Hilton/Hampton/Embassy quality beds here, which are always excellent. What also helps is that most suites have separate rooms for the beds, which provides an additional layer of sound insulation from anyone who is being loud in the hallways or in other rooms.

Cleanliness (5 stars):

This Embassy is very clean, just like most of the other Embassy Suites.

Location (4 stars):

The hotel is just a couple of turns off of US 101, which is convenient but regularly clogged with traffic. I do feel bad giving it anything less than 5 stars here as I suppose it's not possible to move the entire hotel so that it's right next to a beach or a train station, is it? :-)

Rooms (5 stars):

Rooms are typical Embassy Suites - everything a business traveler needs and more.

Breakfast (5 stars):

This particular Embassy Suites does its breakfast very well. There is a chef available that offers a daily special and also can cook an omelet on-demand. The breakfast is usually quite crowded but they have a back room that can be used for overflow in case it is so busy that all tables are occupied.

A few additional tips for the readers' benefit (not influencing the rating):

- I don't eat here for dinner; the good news is there are several options outside of the hotel within walking distance, including an Indian restaurant and a very good Mexican restaurant (El Torito); also, there is a Faultline Brewing Company brewpub that is only a couple of miles away by car

- If you're interested in going to downtown San Jose or San Francisco, the Lawrence Caltrain station is only about two miles away

- If you're having difficulty finding a parking spot, take a peek on the side of the building closest to the Indian restaurant; for whatever reason, these seem to fill up last but are actually very close to the front door!

In summary, if you're looking for a good hotel (business or otherwise) in the area, you can't do much better than this Embassy Suites!

Room Tip: If it's important to you, there are nice views of the surrounding area if you choose a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason_r_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was happy to get in and right up to my room (even before the usual 3 pm check in time). Although I did not mention it, there was a bit of a funny smell in the living room (did they redo the carpeting?) but it was roomy, comfortable, and the bathroom was clean with loads of towels.
The staff (esp. in the dining room) took good care of me and as a frequent traveler, I appreciate the attention to make my life just a bit easier.
The buffet breakfast was bountiful with loads of good choices, including freshly made omelets. Very yummy!
I will be back in a few months and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDebsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Overall the hotel met my needs in that the location and price were spot on for my work. The rooms appear as if some remodeling has been done but really the hotel still has that old and dark feeling. The suites were large but felt dark. Overall the hotel felt really dark. There were plenty of lamps but not too much natural light and felt gloomy. Other than the dark /gloomy feel I had no complaints. The rooms were huge, clean, big T.V's (yes two as you get a suite every time). The bathroom was a bit small but clean and average decor. The bed was comfy. I had a room on the freeway side but did not notice freeway noise as other have complained. Service was great. Free internet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmacbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is an ideal hotel and location for the business traveller, or stopver for a holiday tour/fly-drive. Located about 20 miles south of San Francisco Airport adjacent to Highway 101, with
plenty of free car parking on site. No problem with traffic noise (my 2-room suite was on Floor 6), and easy access to Santa Clara or San Jose, including the Convention Centre (short drive.

Checkin was very efficient and welcoming - told about the Manager's Reception drinks. My room was a clean, spacious two room suite - large office/lounge area with 42" flat screen and adequate desk for working, also small fridge and microwave. Link corridor with bathroom (over bath shower), through to king size bedroom, with additional 37" TV.

My only complaint regarding the room was the lack of in-rooom safe - I would have hoped for one suitable for laptops.

Used the room service for meals - good quality, usual large portions, very promptly delivered (hot) - basically the same options as in the Valley Plaza restaurant. If you want to eat out, there are fast food outlets adjacent to the hotel, otherwise it's a car journey into main town.

Restaurant for breakfast is a well-stocked self-service buffet, plenty of coffee, juices, pastries etc, then with a cook to order counter for eggs, omelets and accompanying meats. Tables cleaned frequently, and quite a relaxing environment to read the paper and wake up with some good food.

Would stay here again if traveling on business in south bay area.

Hotel wifi was strong throughout, no problems. Hotel has a fitness room and indoor pool, although I didn't try these.

Room Tip: Two room suite, on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rilasata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Upon our late arrival, our flight did not get in til 9:30pm. We were warmly greeting by Wally Martinez, he helped get us checked in. We were upgraded to a room with a nicer view on the 10th floor. We thought it was a wonderful present as it was my birthday. The 2 room suite was spacious for a family of 4. Our children got the sleeper sofa, thin mattress, they had a better sleeper sofa at a stay at the Whistler Westin. We had a king size bed and it was comfortable, no complaints here. The room was clean and spacious, no bed bugs or mold smells. 2 large screen TV's in each room. Amenities include a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Evelyn and Crabtree soaps, lotions and shampoo.

Made to order breakfast station was excellent, it was not just an omelet station, they had a Chef special everyday and it ranged from Corned beef hash, Breakfast burritos, and whole wheat pancakes with strawberries, everything was generously served with potatoes, bacon and sausage. So many choices to chose from, fresh melon fruit, yoplait yogurt, fresh apples, oranges and bananas, oatmeal with brown sugar, granola and raisins, steam table of steamed scrambled eggs, potato hash, pancakes, french toast, mini danishes and muffins, 4 types of cereal to chose from including cornflakes and fruit loops. A toasting station where you can toast up bread or bagels with jam, and peanut butter. During the weekdays, steamed rice was offered along with a large pot of miso soup served with all the fixings like nori, japanese pickles, tofu and the pink and white fish cake slices. Coffee, tea, milk and 4 types of juices (cranberry, apple, orange and guava) available.
During the weekend, the breakfast area was a zoo, overrun by families, on the weekdays, it was business people. The complimentary manager's evening happy hour, 5-7:30 pm was excellent, especially for those that need a drink to unwind after a long day. They had snacks of raw vegetables with dip, or marinated pickled vegetables, salsa and chips, and chex mix. The kids enjoyed the access to the soda machine.

Free wifi in the lobby and business center was excellent, 2 computers, a laser printer and a fax machine. We used the business center to do online check in and to print up our boarding passes. We had an excellent stay and would definitely return. The hotel is centrally located, there is a full service restaurant in the hotel. If you don't want to eat there, there is a McD's within walking distance and a Indian Restaurant next to the hotel. 8 minute drive to the San Jose Airport.
The only downside to this hotel is not the hotel but the irresponsible parents or chaperones that let the children and teenagers run wild. My husband accompanied our child to use the pool facility. And to his dismay there was no chaperones or parents around to supervise the teenagers. They were all playing in the pool in their street clothes. WTH, no one had bathing suits? If you a business traveler, this hotel is fine on the weekdays, the weekends expect chaos from these families that let their children run wild.

Room Tip: We had room 1022, it was quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveGoestbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.5 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
746 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,368 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara

Address: 2885 Lakeside Dr, Santa Clara, CA 95054-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range: $158 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 257 spacious rooms and two-room suites features a master bedroom with king-size bed, separate living area complete with wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, hairdryer, full size iron and ironing board, queen-size sofa sleeper, two televisions with remote control, two telephones with voice mail capability, High Speed Internet Access and a well lit dining/work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Santa Clara
Santa Clara Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing