We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I just stayed here for 2 nights on business. When I arrived I was greeted by Carlos at the front desk who was very friendly and very helpful. My room was nice and clean and very uniquely decorated. I guess it's what other's have referred to as a "gamer" look. I'd call it more like high tech and modern. The bed was very comfortable. The location was great as it's only about 10 minutes from the airport and about the same from many of the businesses in the area. It was a relatively quiet location, but I could hear road noise well into the night. The workout room was large with a lot of equipment. The pool and jacuzzi were also nice, although the jacuzzi's jets weren't very strong.

Overall, everything was great, but I do have a few gripes. One was that unlike many other Best Westerns I have stayed at, this one did not have a breakfast in the morning. Yes, you can get a 10% discount at the IHOP, but that's not all that enticing, at least to me (I'm not a huge IHOP fan). I did find a place called Specialty's Cafe and Bakery just down the road which I thought was great. Another gripe was the lack of water or towels in their workout room. It had apparently been recently renovated and there was a water cooler in the room, but it wasn't put together. There also wasn't a drinking fountain in the lobby area. And, lastly, the bathtub in my room looked rather old. It was clean, but obviously old. Just seemed odd since the rest of the room was so nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeJerky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2009
Dear "BeJerky". Thank you very much for your lengthy review. We take comments very seriously but appreciate any suggestions and comments we get, to help us improve our product each and every day.
The water and the towels in the Fitness Center have been added and I apologize they weren't there when we first opened up the new facility.
Your comments about the IHOP Breakfast are appreciated. Unfortunately our hands are tight in that IHOP has the exclusive right to serve breakfast and we feel lucky to be able to provide at least a 10% discount to our Hotel Guests. This operation is separate from the Hotel.
Finally when luck strikes ... your room was one of the last rooms to be worked on..., but it too has received a new bath-tub to coincide with the entire new look of the Hotel. I apologize that you ended up in a room where we were behind schedule.
I hope you'll return soon, so that you may see for yourself the various improvements that have come about since your stay. Our "Commons Lounge" is now open and features massage chairs, five large screen TV's and morning coffee, along with our weekly "beer-bust".
Again thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    156
    88
    33
    13
See reviews for
62
58
37
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2009

The subject says it all. Was pleased by the very friendly and helpful staff. I actually have to back this winter and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Recently renovated, still working out the bugs, in town for the Duran Duran Concert in nearby Livermore. Update on amenities was wonderful, denny's right next door, and of course, the In and Out burger just down the street put a bow on the evening. Would recommend. Staff appeared to have the dear in the headlights look at time, Manager was there to re-assure....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endless_summer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2009
Dear "endless_summer1966"
thank you for your wonderful comments including the staff needing some re-assurance from the manager. Since your stay we have conducted many hours (if not days) of training and every front desk host is now a "Joie de Vivre Academy Certified Host", which hopefully means; no more "dear in the headlights looks".
Come check us out again soon. There are many great concerts in the southbay and we are only a few minutes from Shoreline Amphitheater, where many world class concerts take place.
Again, thank you for your kind comments.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I actually have nothing bad to say about the Avatar Hotel. We were greeted with very friendly people. We actually came down by Amtrak train and while trying to find our way to a main street and getting lost, I called the hotel and they told me to stay right where we were and they sent their shuttle out for us. Within 10 minutes we were on our way to the hotel with the friendliest driver. Everything about our stay was wonderful. Like I said, I wouldn't stay anywhere else, now that I've seen and experienced the Avatar. Keep up the good work. I will reccomend this hote to everyone that is headed to Santa Clara.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEBusch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2009

I liked the somewhat modern "gamer" theme. You get a 10% off discount as a hotel guest at IHOP right next. Free High Speed Internet (wired and wireless). I hope they upgrade the TV signal from analog to digital soon since they have a nice LCD TV.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polydron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2009
Dear "polydron"
Thank you very much for your great comments and for mentioning the "Gamer" theme. Since your stay we have upgraded several channels to HDTV, have added ESPN for Monday Night Football and have opened our "Commons Lounge" were Guest can play all kinds of Wii games, Play-station games and choose from about 15 board games.
Glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tri Cities, WA
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel was great. We loved the modern/Gamer look to it. I was traveling with my 25 year old gamer husband and is 17 year old gamer brother and the room was definatly to their liking, and mine. They were very helpful and courteous people. Only issue is not to take the shuttle to Great America. Had asked for a 11:30 AM pick up to go to Great America and didn't get the shuttle until noon. Another family walking by said don't bother calling to have it pick you up because they told them 15 minutes and it took 45 minutes. It's a couple block walk and really easy to get to, so enjoy the walk. Otherwise, definatly stay.
Get the Great Americas package. What a deal!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmweeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2009
Dear "pmweeden"
Thank you for your awesome comments and for sharing your family’s enthusiasm for our game "theme". Since your stay we have moved on to create even more game opportunities. With the opening of our "Common Lounge" guest can now play the Wii Station games, Play Station games, watch 5 different TV's or just enjoy a heavenly chair massage.
I apologize for the Shuttle "fiasco". Occasionally we get an overwhelming amount of shuttle requests and with our eight passenger van limit, it is difficult to get everyone to and from the park at the exact time. However as you mentioned, we are only two city clocks from the park entrance and a five minute walk away.
Again thank you for your kind comments. Come back again soon and don't leave the "gamers" behind.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford, or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2009

The hotel rooms are very nice, clean, and newly remodeled. The location is great, felt safe there. Convinient to great america. The rooms and beds are a little small though. Overall i was impressed and would definetly stay there again. Would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2009
Dear "heymickey"
Thank you for your kind comments. We're delighted that you enjoyed our newly remodeled Hotel (June/July 2009 we spend $4.5 Million to completely redo the entire Hotel)
Since your early August 2009 stay, many additional amenities have been added and we'd love for you to come back and visit with us again. And thank you for referring us to your friends. There truly is no bigger compliment than a referral in our industry. We nuture that as the highest compliment we can earn.
Again thank you very much
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
0.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
1.0 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 4200 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sync up with Avatar Hotel, the perfect portal to the vibrant technology hub of Silicon Valley. Our boutique hotel will keep you connected, rested and comfortable throughout your stay. Embrace your inner tech nerd. Our newly renovated rooms feature a large working desk, 37 inch flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, refrigerator and free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Clara
Holiday Inn Santa Clara
Santa Clara Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing