We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$148
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$154
$149
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Clara Marriott(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$285
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$107
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveler rating
222
203
121
46
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
203
121
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted motelmodern vibeihop restaurantfront deskcommon roomsilicon valleymini fridgelevi stadiumbusiness tripsanta clara convention centerup to dateroom was clean and comfortablehappy hourparking lota great place to staybusiness centerfitness room
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 613 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel was great. We loved the modern/Gamer look to it. I was traveling with my 25 year old gamer husband and is 17 year old gamer brother and the room was definatly to their liking, and mine. They were very helpful and courteous people. Only issue is not to take the shuttle to Great America. Had asked for a 11:30 AM pick up to go to Great America and didn't get the shuttle until noon. Another family walking by said don't bother calling to have it pick you up because they told them 15 minutes and it took 45 minutes. It's a couple block walk and really easy to get to, so enjoy the walk. Otherwise, definatly stay.
Get the Great Americas package. What a deal!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmweeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2009

Dear "pmweeden"
Thank you for your awesome comments and for sharing your family’s enthusiasm for our game "theme". Since your stay we have moved on to create even more game opportunities. With the opening of our "Common Lounge" guest can now play the Wii Station games, Play Station games, watch 5 different TV's or just enjoy a heavenly chair massage.
I apologize for the Shuttle "fiasco". Occasionally we get an overwhelming amount of shuttle requests and with our eight passenger van limit, it is difficult to get everyone to and from the park at the exact time. However as you mentioned, we are only two city clocks from the park entrance and a five minute walk away.
Again thank you for your kind comments. Come back again soon and don't leave the "gamers" behind.
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

The hotel rooms are very nice, clean, and newly remodeled. The location is great, felt safe there. Convinient to great america. The rooms and beds are a little small though. Overall i was impressed and would definetly stay there again. Would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2009

Dear "heymickey"
Thank you for your kind comments. We're delighted that you enjoyed our newly remodeled Hotel (June/July 2009 we spend $4.5 Million to completely redo the entire Hotel)
Since your early August 2009 stay, many additional amenities have been added and we'd love for you to come back and visit with us again. And thank you for referring us to your friends. There truly is no bigger compliment than a referral in our industry. We nuture that as the highest compliment we can earn.
Again thank you very much
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We had stayed in your hotel last year when in was a Holiday Inn and were pleasantly surprised to see what a wonderful transformation that has been made. The rooms were clean and modernized. The staff was friendly and accomodating. It was a fantastic price at a time when all families are trying to economize. We definitely would choose Best Western Avitar again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetoteach5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2009

Dear "lovetoteach"
Thank you very much for your awesome comments. How gratifying to hear from a customer, such as yourself, comparing the previous Hotel to our "after the 2009 renovation" looks. We are ecstatic that you found our efforts and the many changes to your liking. Since your stay, we have been busy adding even more amenities and new services. Our "Common Lounge" with all kind of games, our super fast (complimentary) high speed internet and the new pool look and many other things have all been added recently. Please do come back and visit with us in the near future. We continue to keep families in mind, as we diligently price the Avatar Hotel economically and affordable for families.
Again thank you for your kind comments.
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

rooms were comfortable,quiet,clean,liked the convienent shuttle and resturants. price is excellent for weekend trip to great åmerica.
only negative hot tub wasnt very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reedfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I have to say that I was pleasantly suprised to see how nicely the remodel had come along. I mean everything looked like it came straight out of a 4-5 star hotel. I was very impressed and would recommend this hotel in a hearbeat. The staff was extremely nice and very warm and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sethike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staywme, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2009

sethike1 thank you for your wonderful review! Fortunately our new furnishing did not come from a 4-5 star hotel but straight from the manufacturer where everything was individually build to our specifications. And the biggest compliment you could give us is indeed to recommend us to your circle of friends and co-workers. Again thank you very much on behalf of the entire staff. Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews