We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly front desk staff and great pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly front desk staff and great pool area”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at the Avatar a few weeks ago when my husband had to be in the area for work. The rooms a bit dated, but clean - work well for our family of three, king size bed with a pull out bed for my 7 year old son to sleep on. The sofa bed when out took up a lot of floor space so we folded it up each day. The bathroom was clean however very small. The pool area was great, spacious, lots of lounge chairs and clean pool. Pool towels were well stocked.
The hotel is centrally located and is close to everything if you have a vehicle - there is a movie theatre and and small outdoor mall about 15 minute walk away with a few restaurants, walmart market, and TJ Maxx.
California's Great Adventure park is about a 15 minute walk along a busy road.
Near Levi stadium so VERY busy in the area on game day.

The front desk staff was amazing, always very friendly and helpful in giving directions and making suggestions for the area. We would stay there again due to the staff!

Room Tip: Would recommend the 3rd or 4th floor, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much Veronica O! I am so glad to hear that your expectations of service was above and beyond your expectations!

Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    153
    86
    32
    13
See reviews for
59
55
37
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

A quirky hotel in Santa Clara that looks like it used to be a Howard Johnson at some point in its life. The robots in the lobby are inviting and fun as well as the folks behind the counter. They also rule at social media. They knew we'd be there for a night during our honeymoon and even had a gift basket for us. Totally unexpected and completely appreciated. It's that touch that makes me recommend this hotel to anyone going to the area. Also, it's not to far from the new Levi's Stadium.

The room was comfortable and cozy. It looked like it was undergoing some renovations or landscaping, but it wasn't that big of a deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you Amy R for the recommendation to others and your review. There are dozens of hotels within Silicon Valley and we as a company (Commune Hotels and Resorts) pride ourselves on delivering personalized, unique and memorable service and experiences. There are a so many places you can go get to get a bed, but to hear we delivered a memorable experience...there is no higher compliment in this industry and I cannot express how much that means to us.

Thank you for choosing to spend your very special day with us. We were truly honored and we wish you a lifetime of happiness, growth and love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Avatar is a hip cool hotel on Great America Parkway-is is not colored blue like that of the James Cameron movie, but in splashed of bright red, fuschia, lime green and orange. It is next to the IHOP, so many people know where it is and can easily find it, and there's plenty of parking.
We got checked in fast and easy by the friendly staff, and warned about the big day of the 49ers game that might cause a lot of traffic. My room on the 3rd floor afford a great view of the pool-where there is plenty of action because of a pool party on the day of the game. The room is spacious, has a long workstation with plenty of plugs for your laptop and devices, a flat screen TV, a Keurig coffeemaker, a fridge, closet, plenty of drawer space, an IPhone docking station, and funky cool artwork. Wifi is free. The only indication to the hotel's motel past would be the smaller bathroom, but it still works and now the toiletries are by Lather, a higher spa quality brand.
The blinds keep privacy and the light away, but you could open it up to be part of the hotel action so you can see into the pool and hear the music. It could very much be a party place, but works well for business travelers. The dramatic red curtains in the hallway, the color palette in the room, retro furniture, very comfortable bed and upgraded amenities definitely make the Avatar rise above a motel. It is so convenient to have an IHOP next door-you can eat anytime and get 10% off your bill too! There's also a Bennigan's restaurant, a church, across from the Marriott, the new Levi Stadium (home of the 49ers) and Great America. It is indeed very centrally located.
I loved the openness of the hotel layout and its interactive and youthful vibe that you wouldn't get at a standard chain. I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view!
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has recycling in place and uses sustainable materials.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you RichieSel! I don't think I could have described our property better myself! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel to the number of Santa Clara hot spots! We are were you want to be for family weekends at Great America, game days and work conventions! :)

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon! Go 9ers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

It's been a long time since we stayed at this hotel but it was a wonderful stay. I particularly love the decor of the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The daily cleaning service was friendly. The reception staff always had a smile on their faces and we're very accommodating when we left some luggage with them when we went on a little road trip. The International House of Pancakes restaurant is located within the Avatar premises which is perfect both for a late breakfast or a midnight munch.

The location is great too, so close to the Convention Center and the 101 freeway. I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms on the first floor near the end of the corridor because we could leave the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pulkit01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review pulkit01! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the services the staff at Avatar will able to provide you and the many amenities we offer as well inclusive of the convenient distance to the convention center!

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Website photos look pretty nice, but when you walk into a room, the smell, the stained carpet and the old towels remind you motels along streets.

The location is very convenient, if you can stand the noise of airplane and car traffics. Highly recommend to pick a room away from the street to reduce car noise. Not much you can do with airplane noise though.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabaluluQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you BabaluluQ for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry to hear that the room was not up to your expectations. We are currently in the middle of revitalized our rooms and I am confident that should you visit us again, you would not be disappointed.

Should you decide to return to the area, please contact me directly, and I am more than happy to assist you and ensure you experience the Avatar as you should have the first time around.

My sincerest apologies again,

Jamie Lassak
Operations Manager
jlassak@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

After checking the website and reading some favorable print reviews I chose to give the Avatar hotel a try. The service is attentive and the hotel is clean. However everyone must remember that this is a nice MOTEL not a HOTEL.

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor they are quieter and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you Pat S for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Avatar Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you found the service to be attentive and the cleaning standards to be up to your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. We chose this hotel because most hotels in San Francisco or the Bay Area had been either full or very expensive due to the July 4th weekend. There were plenty of parking spaces available and the neighborhood is lovely and quiet. It is right next to the Mission College.

Check-in was quick and the staff was friendly and helpful. She provided the WiFi password without us asking for it. She also suggested dining options available in the site.

The room was pretty furnished and clean. With a modern design, the room differentiated itself from that of other hotels. The toilet was kinda small and the sink was separated from the toilet. Bathtub was not tall enough. My favorite part of the room was that there was a laptop stand, so that I could place my MacBook on it while lying on the bed. I have yet to observe this piece of furniture in other hotels.

As for amenities, the hotel has a well-equipped gym. It provides treadmills as well as weigh machines. It is unfortunate that we didn't try it. Swimming pool was available but didn't bother to try it under the cold NorCal weather. IHOP is available next to the lobby as a breakfast or dining option. However, it was quite busy in the morning and service was merely acceptable.

To sum up, price was reasonable and the hotel was pretty decent. Will consider staying here again in the future (as well as the other options).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you Divine F for the great review! I am so glad to hear that you found the amenities in the room, inclusive of the in-bed desk option and full gym to be useful and up to your standards during your visit.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.0 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 4200 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sync up with Avatar Hotel, the perfect portal to the vibrant technology hub of Silicon Valley. Our boutique hotel will keep you connected, rested and comfortable throughout your stay. Embrace your inner tech nerd. Our newly renovated rooms feature a large working desk, 37 inch flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, refrigerator and free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Clara
Holiday Inn Santa Clara
Santa Clara Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing