We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cool Hip Hotel that is centrally located!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A Cool Hip Hotel that is centrally located!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Avatar is a hip cool hotel on Great America Parkway-is is not colored blue like that of the James Cameron movie, but in splashed of bright red, fuschia, lime green and orange. It is next to the IHOP, so many people know where it is and can easily find it, and there's plenty of parking.
We got checked in fast and easy by the friendly staff, and warned about the big day of the 49ers game that might cause a lot of traffic. My room on the 3rd floor afford a great view of the pool-where there is plenty of action because of a pool party on the day of the game. The room is spacious, has a long workstation with plenty of plugs for your laptop and devices, a flat screen TV, a Keurig coffeemaker, a fridge, closet, plenty of drawer space, an IPhone docking station, and funky cool artwork. Wifi is free. The only indication to the hotel's motel past would be the smaller bathroom, but it still works and now the toiletries are by Lather, a higher spa quality brand.
The blinds keep privacy and the light away, but you could open it up to be part of the hotel action so you can see into the pool and hear the music. It could very much be a party place, but works well for business travelers. The dramatic red curtains in the hallway, the color palette in the room, retro furniture, very comfortable bed and upgraded amenities definitely make the Avatar rise above a motel. It is so convenient to have an IHOP next door-you can eat anytime and get 10% off your bill too! There's also a Bennigan's restaurant, a church, across from the Marriott, the new Levi Stadium (home of the 49ers) and Great America. It is indeed very centrally located.
I loved the openness of the hotel layout and its interactive and youthful vibe that you wouldn't get at a standard chain. I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view!
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has recycling in place and uses sustainable materials.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you RichieSel! I don't think I could have described our property better myself! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel to the number of Santa Clara hot spots! We are were you want to be for family weekends at Great America, game days and work conventions! :)

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon! Go 9ers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    156
    88
    33
    13
See reviews for
62
58
37
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

It's been a long time since we stayed at this hotel but it was a wonderful stay. I particularly love the decor of the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The daily cleaning service was friendly. The reception staff always had a smile on their faces and we're very accommodating when we left some luggage with them when we went on a little road trip. The International House of Pancakes restaurant is located within the Avatar premises which is perfect both for a late breakfast or a midnight munch.

The location is great too, so close to the Convention Center and the 101 freeway. I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms on the first floor near the end of the corridor because we could leave the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pulkit01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review pulkit01! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the services the staff at Avatar will able to provide you and the many amenities we offer as well inclusive of the convenient distance to the convention center!

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Website photos look pretty nice, but when you walk into a room, the smell, the stained carpet and the old towels remind you motels along streets.

The location is very convenient, if you can stand the noise of airplane and car traffics. Highly recommend to pick a room away from the street to reduce car noise. Not much you can do with airplane noise though.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabaluluQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you BabaluluQ for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry to hear that the room was not up to your expectations. We are currently in the middle of revitalized our rooms and I am confident that should you visit us again, you would not be disappointed.

Should you decide to return to the area, please contact me directly, and I am more than happy to assist you and ensure you experience the Avatar as you should have the first time around.

My sincerest apologies again,

Jamie Lassak
Operations Manager
jlassak@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

After checking the website and reading some favorable print reviews I chose to give the Avatar hotel a try. The service is attentive and the hotel is clean. However everyone must remember that this is a nice MOTEL not a HOTEL.

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor they are quieter and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you Pat S for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Avatar Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you found the service to be attentive and the cleaning standards to be up to your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. We chose this hotel because most hotels in San Francisco or the Bay Area had been either full or very expensive due to the July 4th weekend. There were plenty of parking spaces available and the neighborhood is lovely and quiet. It is right next to the Mission College.

Check-in was quick and the staff was friendly and helpful. She provided the WiFi password without us asking for it. She also suggested dining options available in the site.

The room was pretty furnished and clean. With a modern design, the room differentiated itself from that of other hotels. The toilet was kinda small and the sink was separated from the toilet. Bathtub was not tall enough. My favorite part of the room was that there was a laptop stand, so that I could place my MacBook on it while lying on the bed. I have yet to observe this piece of furniture in other hotels.

As for amenities, the hotel has a well-equipped gym. It provides treadmills as well as weigh machines. It is unfortunate that we didn't try it. Swimming pool was available but didn't bother to try it under the cold NorCal weather. IHOP is available next to the lobby as a breakfast or dining option. However, it was quite busy in the morning and service was merely acceptable.

To sum up, price was reasonable and the hotel was pretty decent. Will consider staying here again in the future (as well as the other options).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you Divine F for the great review! I am so glad to hear that you found the amenities in the room, inclusive of the in-bed desk option and full gym to be useful and up to your standards during your visit.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by the Avatar hotel! Friendly and helpfull staff at reception and my room was nice and clean. Comfortable bed and new soft towels. Free WiFi in the room, a TV, refrigerator, hairdryer and iron, coffee and tea maker, so well equiped. For this rate I do not believe you can find a better hotel in this area. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Llangammarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much Llangammarch for your great review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Friendly, helpful reception. Room beautifully clean, very comfortable bed. Quiet. Lots of thick towels, fortunately, so after I twice barked my shins on the bedframe, which stuck out 6 inches beyond the mattress into the narrow walkway, I had towels to cover the bedframe and make it more visible. Maintenance came promptly when I complained I couldn't flush the toilet without opening the tank and couldn't adjust the shower's needle spray at all--it turned on so hard it stung, the drain flooded, and water splashed outside a well-sealed curtain onto clothes outside the shower. Also, the temperature of the water did not stay constant during the shower. The toilet flushing was not fixed--maintenance blamed kids and just left it, but he did loosen the shower controls a bit and got the balky window blinds to open. There were no grab bars in the shower/tub. Room-to-room phone service did not work. I was glad to find stationary provided for me to make note of all this, hope some problems have been fixed since April 26.

Room Tip: Check the plumbing controls and the walking clearance around the bed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Wasn't aware of them. The shower certainly did not save water, but maybe a toilet that doesn't flush does. After barking my shins I used a lot of tissues to blot the bleeding, and extra towels to cover the bedframe--that was not environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHC164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Operations Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Avatar hotel JHC164. I apologize for the short comings of the room that you experienced during your travels. Avatar is in the process of completing some remodeling and revitalizing of our rooms and we are excited to see the finishing product!

I truly appreciate your feedback and thank you dearly for the find words about our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
0.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
1.0 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 4200 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sync up with Avatar Hotel, the perfect portal to the vibrant technology hub of Silicon Valley. Our boutique hotel will keep you connected, rested and comfortable throughout your stay. Embrace your inner tech nerd. Our newly renovated rooms feature a large working desk, 37 inch flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, refrigerator and free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Clara
Holiday Inn Santa Clara
Santa Clara Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing