We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in the area by far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
“Best hotel in the area by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I take monthly trips to Santa Clara for work, and I'm glad I gave Avatar a chance. Amazing experience, friendly accommodating staff, great IHOP, nice pool and fitness center, and clean stylish rooms. Really great prices for the area too. I plan on returning for sure.

Room Tip: Higher floors are great, and rooms with even #s are facing the pool area
See more room tips
Green Features: High comfort even with environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the 5 stars and support its because of guests like you we love what we do! We are so glad you have found us as your new place to stay when visiting the Santa Clara area. We can't wait for your return, please let us know if there is anything we can do for you upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    143
    81
    31
    11
See reviews for
57
52
34
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

After getting this hotel through priceline, I wasn't too sure about this hotel from some of the other reviews I had read. I stayed for 2 nights and my overall experience was good but there are a few things that could be better. The good: room was clean, bed was comfy enough, free internet, close to freeway, new looking decor but is kinda funky, mini fridge, fast service, nice staff. The bad: small room, no curtains on windows just blinds, led lamps, not enough wall outlets, small bathroom.

This is a decent hotel to stay at but to me it felt more like a motel that was just decorated better. The room was small but it didn't feel like a was cramped in either. When I first got there a light bulb was out and I told the staff and it was fixed fast but I also had a problem connecting to the internet with an ethernet cable and I had talked to the staff but they couldn't figure it out and there is a number to call but I didn't bother, so I just used the free hotel wifi. You also get a discount at the attached ihop. If you are not going to spend that much time in the room then this is a good place to stay. It wasn't a bad hotel at all but it just wouldn't be my first choice if I had to pick.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the decor of the hotel, we try to be a different than your typical big box hotel showing our personality. It is also wonderful that you found the service of our staff fast and friendly. I do however apologize that the LED lights did not give you enough light, apart of our personality here is to be as green as we can and reduce our carbon footprint any way possible, I completely understand that you do need enough light the same time to work. I hope on your next visit to us we will have a solution to this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
615 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This really cool spot in Santa Clara speaks to the inner geek in all of us. Robot collections in the lobby, futuristic design rooms and little extras like the space invaders "do not disturb" sign. It is an outdoor entrance style hotel (no inner hallways) and the walls can be a bit thin but other than that, pretty neat and cheaper than some of the other corporate type hotels in the area. Oh, and an IHOP is part of the complex. what more could any geek ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobnCat, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are so happy to hear the 'your inner Geek' was please with us! Thanks so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have struggled to find a cool and comfortable place to stay in the area for months and I am glad I finally tried the Avatar. Nothing too fancy, but nice and comfortable and hip without being pretentious. Everyone here is friendly and the gym is nice too. The bonus is a quiet little lounge with a great happy hour and Emmily, a wonderful and friendly bartender who makes me feel extremely welcome every time I stay here.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the far side away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobnCat, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Emily is a star :-). Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It's always great to hear that a traveler was able to get the vibe we are trying to send. Happy Travels until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The staff was great and the hotel was perfect. Rooms as well as other hotel areas were spotless and decorated with colour, artsy touches. There is even a community room where you can use a massage chair, watch tv, meet with friends, catch up on emails or plan the next leg of your trip. All in all, the best hotel we found on this trip. We would definitely stay again.

Green Features: We are definitely environmentally friendly people, so we really appreciate the extra measures they take to reduce waste and do what they can to keep our planet healthy.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobnCat, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It makes us smile to know that you noted our color and artsy touches in your comments. We are very grateful for your posted review and recent visit. Nothing makes us more happy than to hear that you enjoyed our Commons Lounge the way we believe it should be enjoyed! Happy Travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Avatar Hotel for a business trip. I was originally suppose to stay at the Marriott with the rest of my coworkers, but my corporate travel department said the Marriott was booked and she was going to place me at the Avatar which was right across the street so I could still be close to my coworkers. I had never heard of the Avatar, but looked at their website and it seemed okay.
As soon as I pulled up I could tell this hotel use to be something else like a Days Inn or a Best Western. I checked in and the staff was friendly and accommodating. My room and bathroom were clean and I could tell everything was recently remodeled.

However the renovation could not help the noisy outdoor hallways. I could hear people outside my room as if they were standing inside my room. Also the hallways and elevator were dirty because everything was outdoors. Truthfully, I was a woman traveling alone and felt a little unsafe. I don't know what is was. Maybe it was the overall structure of the Avatar hotel was nothing like a hotel.
I felt like I was staying at a MOTEL and not a HOTEL.

All I can say is this hotel was decent and I am grateful they had room for me since it was very important I attend this business trip. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful.
I'm just writing this review to say that sometimes a hotel website may not have accurate descriptions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jade t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
I am so glad you found our staff very helpful and friendly, we here at the Avatar strive to make the best experience for our guests. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the structure of the building, having exterior corridors has its pro's but it also like you point out has its downfalls. If there is anything we here can do please feel free to reach out to me directly at my direct line of 408-454-6884.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on business with my girlfriend. She worked in Cupertino all week while I traveled around the bay. It's very convenient and easy access right off the freeway (101 or 880). It's clean, comfortable, and everyone was pretty nice. Though the rooms were small and apparent that it used to be a motel dig- I appreciated the fact I didn't need to deal with vacationers or tourists. Loved the shower head and Lather bath products. Also appreciated free WIFI and easy parking. For the rate and convenience, I'd stay at this hotel again next time we're here for business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Avatar. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our location here is great right off the 101 with easy access to all of the surrounding cities. We hope to see you and your girlfriend again on your next visit to Silicon Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.0 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 4200 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sync up with Avatar Hotel, the perfect portal to the vibrant technology hub of Silicon Valley. Our boutique hotel will keep you connected, rested and comfortable throughout your stay. Embrace your inner tech nerd. Our newly renovated rooms feature a large working desk, 37 inch flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, refrigerator and free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Clara
Holiday Inn Santa Clara
Santa Clara Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing