We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not doing justice to the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mariani's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariani's Inn
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not doing justice to the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Close to the intersection of El Camino and San Tomas, the location is great, you can walk to many restaurants, starbucks, and bank.
What this hotel needs is remodeling, and it needs it NOW! I am sure residents of the area have good memories of this hotel, but everything is sooo old. Rooms are spacious, especially the "suites". The suites have kitches, fridge, microwave, dishes, a small dining table.

Most carpets are old and smelly, beds are old and have bed bugs, bathroom fittings are old and you have the problem of hot/cold water from the shower. Plenty of free parking. Their free breakfast is probably the best in the area - very good variety.

Their Sunday brunch is popular and they have a decent bar with friendly staff. They also have poker nights on Mondays/Tuesdays.

It's definitely value for money. Much cheaper compared to other hotels in the area, but as they say "you get what you pay for".

Room Tip: Suites rooms are at the back. If you get disturbed easily, avoid rooms near the BBQ area (in summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1F0rTheR0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    16
    16
    17
See reviews for
18
4
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The good: breakfast buffet, extra towels/pillows promptly delivered, overall friendly front desk people.

The ok: rooms were decent though the walls are a bit thin.

The BIZARRE: after finding out that this hotel has a very reasonable monthly rate, i inquired with the manager who asked me (with some attitude, in front of FOUR other employees) "so what's going on with you that you want to stay in a hotel for a month?" I requested that perhaps she needs to ask me that question in private. She was accommodating in that regard but did not apologize for the absurdity of asking about my personal situation in front of a team of gawking employees..oh but it gets better: AFTER hearing that I'm needing a bit of space from my current living situation & extracting a level of detail i wasn't entirely comfortable with, the manager THEN informed me that they allow dogs on a day by day but not month by month basis & also accused me of not registering my dog with front desk. (when i see a pet friendly hotel, i assume i can bring my pet, but that's not the problem)

THE PROBLEM: instead of asking whether my dog would be staying for the month & advising me that this is against policy, the manager first got the 411 on my personal life & living situation and only after satisfying her curiosity (?) decided to ask whether my dog would need to stay with me.

No lady, i bring my dog in with me to stay for 2 days but for the rest of the month I'm going to put him in a kennel (please note sarcasm)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evol6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Clara hotels

Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

There were no hotels available at all and my friend found this place. I was greeted by some very nice reservation desk people who made me feel welcome.

Virginia is so nice (and very attractive!)

Would stay here again if my regular hotel wasn't available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice location and good buffet. Coffee in room is great. Wi-fi was reliable.

Probably needs some maintenance as rooms are not sound proof ( hard wood floors of first floor rooms ) and nullifies the advantage of less sound from vehicles plying on the road outside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manojsaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

as soon as i entered the hotel a cockroach came out to welcome me.... another one welcomed me in my room. Alarm clocks from all neighboring rooms started going off so I woke up when everyone got up...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jonida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

this was an okay place to stay, access to wifi/cable worked; great buffet; parking available location near major highways
my only complaint was the rug was old and stained, the room was clean though, coffee and frig in room were nice to have; front desk service was good

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I never write reviews and was looking for a budget place to stay - so it's not like I was expecting much here. But this has to be one of the worst places I have ever stayed. For a cheap hotel it is still very run down, parking is difficult (you should see the spaces near the pool - good luck there), and the outside congregations of people at night was alarming to say the least. The first room they put me in was beneath a room that (I was told later) had hard wood floors. If you've ever lived underneath hard wood floors in cheap construction then you know what that sounds like. I managed to get them to move me (after the desk had to call the manager - really?) -- but why would they even put someone in there in the first place? The next room was loud but at least no-one was above me. However, first time I ever slept on top of a bed in a hotel. At checkout they wouldn't print a receipt for the stay. I had accidently misread the dates and at checkin told them I was not needing the final night - no refunds on that. Bottom line - find someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crp_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.1 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#12 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#19 of 33 in Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
2.3 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 33 in Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariani's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariani's Inn

Property: Mariani's Inn
Address: 2500 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051-3098
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariani's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our history began when Jack Mariani settled in Santa Clara in 1907. After farming his orchards for many years, he was inspired to pull out five acres of prune trees and create the Inn and Restaurant. Ever since, our guests have experienced lodging and dining of the highest caliber in a relaxing, homelike atmosphere. You're sure to enjoy your stay, because we operate the way Jack Mariani designed it - as a family place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mariani's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariani`s Hotel Santa Clara
Marianis Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing