We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
Nearby Hotels
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Clara Marriott(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
$285
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
195
114
41
12
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
114
41
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskbest westernssanta clara universitypotatoeswould stay here againel caminobusy streetyogurtgreat place to stayup to dateworkout roomconvenient locationparking lotexcellent stayrooms are cleanbed was comfortablefree breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 378 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A friend and I were sharing a room. She arrived first, and left a key with my name at the front desk. When I arrived a few hours later, the front desk couldn't find the key, nor could they locate my friend or myself in their reservation system. I gave the man my confirmation number, which began with a 3, and he told me that their confirmation numbers don't begin with 3's. Many phone calls and about 30 minutes later, he located my friend in the computer, called her room and woke her up, and finally I got a key. Not a great welcome.

The rest of my stay was uneventful (clean enough room, acceptable breakfast -- the hot water is in the water cooler), but I wouldn't stay again because of the disorganization at the front desk.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank jenh985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Standard 3-star motel. The Good: plenty of hot water & good heating system. Microwave & fridge worked. Big fluffy towels. Lots of pillows & an extra blanket. Enough outlets to recharge every gadget. Friendly front desk. Across the street from city hall park. Easy access to San Tomas expressway. The Not-so-Good: Meagre breakfast (no hot water?!?) Small room. Bureau/desk in dated '70s Star Trek decor. Coffee-stained services guide. No fitness room. But we'd stay there again because it's good enough & close to family.

Room Tip: Away from El Camino Real.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forthwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stay here because it is near the family home. It has been sold to Best Western so look for the rates to double as with most of their properties. We find it is inconsistent experience. House keeping does a great job but front desk does not care about anything except a paycheck. Carpets are filthy and during the renovation a construction crew was cutting stone tiles at 8AM on a Sunday. I guess unions don't exist in the Ramada world. This review is probably irrelevant for this property,but makes us take pause to stay in any other Ramada if they let this crap go on.

Room Tip: Tip envelopes for housekeeping.I thought it meant To Insure Perfect Service...Sheesh!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bouncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Pro:
- It seems that some renovations have been made in recent times. The bed seems to be pretty new and is quite comfortable.
- free wireless with reasonable good speed.
- ok prices for this area
- efficient and quick reception
Cons
- Very loud fried. And I not talking about the noise that you might know from minibars. It is a constant very loud noise. Switching off does not seems to be a option because the freezer is completely iced up, so I guess when you switch it of and open the fridge the next time you will have a mini Tsunami in your room
- Beside the bed and the TV the room is old overall. Especially the bathroom sink and shower needs an update

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed there because I needed a government rate. The place is fine, the reception is efficient, the beds are too firm. Excellent, almost complete choice of channels on TV including many fine FM stations. Super-basic breakfast, with OK coffee. The real downside is, there's no "there" there in Santa Clara. For the same price you could do better across the line in San Jose, and be able to walk to interesting bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Pretty much all of the rooms are off the highway and reasonably quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews