We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property Sold BW Takes Over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Eureka ca
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Property Sold BW Takes Over”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stay here because it is near the family home. It has been sold to Best Western so look for the rates to double as with most of their properties. We find it is inconsistent experience. House keeping does a great job but front desk does not care about anything except a paycheck. Carpets are filthy and during the renovation a construction crew was cutting stone tiles at 8AM on a Sunday. I guess unions don't exist in the Ramada world. This review is probably irrelevant for this property,but makes us take pause to stay in any other Ramada if they let this crap go on.

Room Tip: Tip envelopes for housekeeping.I thought it meant To Insure Perfect Service...Sheesh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    96
    37
    11
    14
See reviews for
99
55
20
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Pro:
- It seems that some renovations have been made in recent times. The bed seems to be pretty new and is quite comfortable.
- free wireless with reasonable good speed.
- ok prices for this area
- efficient and quick reception
Cons
- Very loud fried. And I not talking about the noise that you might know from minibars. It is a constant very loud noise. Switching off does not seems to be a option because the freezer is completely iced up, so I guess when you switch it of and open the fridge the next time you will have a mini Tsunami in your room
- Beside the bed and the TV the room is old overall. Especially the bathroom sink and shower needs an update

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed there because I needed a government rate. The place is fine, the reception is efficient, the beds are too firm. Excellent, almost complete choice of channels on TV including many fine FM stations. Super-basic breakfast, with OK coffee. The real downside is, there's no "there" there in Santa Clara. For the same price you could do better across the line in San Jose, and be able to walk to interesting bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Pretty much all of the rooms are off the highway and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

As I round the bend of my 6+ month stay here in my "village" I can safely say that the rooms are nice for pre-renovation, standards. Bedding nice which is a plus for a less expensive hotel.
The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping and maintenance staff great as well. Traveling M-Th and staying at a hotel has been taxing for a half of year but they did their best to make me feel welcome and at "home". I haven't had a bad experience in the 6+ mo I've been here!
Location is good with plenty of good restaurants within a few miles.
Good bang for your buck!

Room Tip: If you like street noise, as I do, let them know as some rooms windows open to the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel September 2012. It was clean and tidy and very quiet. Complimentary breakfast. Service at front desk was very friendly and easy check in. We usually like to stay at the Days Inn Mission Inn, Santa Clara but it was fully booked. Both properties very similar in standard. Short drive to Santana Row shopping mall and restaurants, close to Mission. Chain restaurants and take-out food closeby.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCandWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naalehu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here because I had an overnight layover in San Jose, and I used my Wyndham Rewards points. It was on par with the Super 8 motels. The good news is that it the room was clean, but it was definitely old. The air conditioner was located up high on the wall above the bed, and after I climbed up on the bed to try to figure out how to turn it on, I finally called the front desk. They instructed me to look for the switch on the wall behind the tv! Still had to climb up on the bed again to turn the dials on the a/c. Left too early for the breakfast, but judging by the size of the room it probably wasn't much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naalehuretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for one night and wanted to be close to the airport. The room set up was a little odd, but it made for a quiet room. The tile in the bathroom area looked a little dirty, but that could be age. The room had a futuristic look, circa 1987. Beds were clean and comfy and that's what mattered. The breakfast was toasted bagels and cold cereal. Nothin' fancy. No waffles. No waffle maker. We like waffles.

Room Tip: No elevator. 2nd floor rooms not facing parking lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,293 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,267 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Santa Clara University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Santa Clara University Inn

Property: Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
Address: 1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050-4158 (Formerly University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Santa Clara University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Santa Clara University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Ramada Santa Clara
Santa Clara Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing