We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, Could Be Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Average, Could Be Better”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Not bad but not great. Room was O.K. Pool was fair(not their fault, wind). Breakfast IS continental, but Denny's is next door. Front Desk people David and Des were great. Good for a day or two. Will be better when the construction guys working on the condos down the street are done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cndyln58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    94
    36
    11
    13
See reviews for
95
55
20
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked this hotel because of of the good reviews I'd read. It was conveniently close to San Jose (where my son needed to be for camp every morning). My family and I were pleasantly surprised @ how cute it was. The outside still looked like in the process of retiling but otherwise a very charming place. The free breakfast in the morning was great for my kids! Dhess @ the front desk was helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbaclig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a motel. I expected a hotel when I booked, as every Ramada I've been to has been a hotel, so keep that in mind.

I stayed for 3 nights. Free WiFi and free parking.

My room was clean, spacious, and newly renovated. The room includeed a small fridge and microwave; I ended up unplugging the fridge as it was very noisy.

I was in a room with a door to an adjoining room. The door blocked no noise at all, so I heard everything my neighbor watched on TV or said on the phone.

The motel seems to be a long term place for several construction workers. There was a crew taking up a good 25% of the hotel, with their trucks taking up a considerable amount of the parking lot.

The breakfast is very basic. Cereal, white and brown bread (toast), bagels, english muffins, muffins, milk, a couple different jams, margarine, applies, juice, and coffee. Like every continental breakfast out there, the breakfast here is completely devoid of protein.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crr243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A commuter hotel at best, rooms were clean and basic. The furniture was all modular, attached to the walls as if the owners were concerned someone would steal it. The bathroom is beginning to age and could use some work. The breakfast was basic and there were lots of eating places near by. The pool was quite nice and I was able to eat my take out by the pool as the sun set, very relaxing.
I can sleep through noise but as this hotel is on the highway ask for a room away from the road, it was noisy.
For the price an overnight stay is fine, more than two nights I would not want to stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed here for 1 week and I really liked it. The stay was comfortable. The rooms are maintained neatly. It is very easy to commute from here as the hotel is well connected. Hotel staff is very helpful and prompt in the service. I recommend this hotel for anybody who is visiting Santa clara

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

i stayed at this Ramada, and was very pleased. From the friendly staff to very clean and comfortable room and facility, everything was very impressive. great location too, walking distance to great food places. The front desk staff was so accommodating with any request. She had a smile on her face and was very knowledgeable about the area. The room was extremely clean and spotless. I will definitely stay at this Ramada again.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking about staying there. And the breakfast that is free but served with a smile on the front desk staff is just so refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jyoti c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have stayed a couple of times at this little hotel on El Camino Real. The hotel staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to make the guests feel welcome. Special kudos to Dess and Marisol for their customer orientation.

Room Tip: close to Santana Row
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankeepapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,262 reviews
2.9 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Santa Clara University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Santa Clara University Inn

Property: Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
Address: 1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050-4158 (Formerly University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Santa Clara University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Santa Clara University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Ramada Santa Clara
Santa Clara Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing